BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Visitation

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Eye opening

Awesome book, brings a mondern twist and i believe accurately depicts how a false prophet would be in these times. He does not need to study his Bible again either, for in the Bible it states that the false prophets will decieve with great wonders. In the end, Almighty ...
Awesome book, brings a mondern twist and i believe accurately depicts how a false prophet would be in these times. He does not need to study his Bible again either, for in the Bible it states that the false prophets will decieve with great wonders. In the end, Almighty God still prevailed and the battle against the enemy was won. God is in control of all things and i believe this book portrayed that very well.

posted by kdbrant on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good read but...

I love Perretti's books and always enjoy reading them. However, to me 'The Visitation' has one major terrible flaw: it implies that satan can heal. This is a vile lie and a grave error as well as un-scriptural. I hope that no one is deceived by reading this book. Onl...
I love Perretti's books and always enjoy reading them. However, to me 'The Visitation' has one major terrible flaw: it implies that satan can heal. This is a vile lie and a grave error as well as un-scriptural. I hope that no one is deceived by reading this book. Only God can heal. Jesus said, 'Can satan cast out satan?'. Frank needs to study his bible more.

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Eye opening

    Awesome book, brings a mondern twist and i believe accurately depicts how a false prophet would be in these times. He does not need to study his Bible again either, for in the Bible it states that the false prophets will decieve with great wonders. In the end, Almighty God still prevailed and the battle against the enemy was won. God is in control of all things and i believe this book portrayed that very well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, but I recommend others first!

    This was the second Frank Peretti book that I read. I read The Oath first, which was incredibly good! So maybe this isn't a fair review.

    I was kind of disappointed with the book in comparison to The Oath, but I still read it in less than 4 days. I read both books back to back in a week.

    Frank Peretti has a unique writing style that clarifies how we act and think and how we sin against the Lord. This is a good book in that it shows how blind we can be to spiritual matters and how we are not perfect in discerning good from evil. It's easy to get wrapped up in what we want to see and this book clearly shows that. I thought that it got a little over the top at times, and even thought that it ended rather abruptly. This book was by no means a bad book (it couldn't be with Frank Peretti as the author), but I do have to say that it is my least favorite out of any Peretti book that I have read so far.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2000

    Great but not the best.

    This is an awesome book. I have read everything Peretti has written and although it's not what I consider his best, it is none the less captivating. He has brought to life areas that we need to watch out for in our Christian walk; ie: how easy it would be to be taken in by a false prophet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    Frank Peretti Strikes Again!!

    One of the most anointed books I have ever read. I have come to expect nothing less than the best from Frank Peretti. This is a suspenseful thriller that will captivate your heart and mind and minister to your soul.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Hard to put down!

    I had a difficult time working & sleeping, knowing that this book was waiting for me! Mr. Peretti has done it again--writing a thought provoking tale of church politics, the demons we face, antichrists, and the loving TRUE God that we are all searching for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Once again a book worth reading with hot chocolate and a blanket

    Once again a book worth reading with hot chocolate and a blanket. Mr. Peretti puts wonderful color into this small town going mad on a grand scale at the appearance of what many believe to be Jesus himself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Super long. But totally worth it.

    Very long. And there are a ton of characters to keep up with. Plus all those flashbacks got confusing. But i love this book! Its exciting and mysterious(:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Sorry to burst your bubble...

    but Satan CAN heal. you have to remember, he was an ark angel, closer to God then any other angel. And he has demons working for him. 'Sorry Tom!' I'm about halfway through the book now, and I find it thrilling and Biblically acurat. The plot is thrilling and draws you right into the story. It teaches the importance of staying close to God and not being led astray. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Good read but...

    I love Perretti's books and always enjoy reading them. However, to me 'The Visitation' has one major terrible flaw: it implies that satan can heal. This is a vile lie and a grave error as well as un-scriptural. I hope that no one is deceived by reading this book. Only God can heal. Jesus said, 'Can satan cast out satan?'. Frank needs to study his bible more.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Great books

    Looking forward to reading this book. I have read the darkness series, House, Illusion, and House. All are great reads. If you like Peretti you may also like Ted Dekker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Boring

    All of his other books are exciting and riviting this one is slow and boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Good book

    Hate to see it end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    So good!

    Totally worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Response to reviewer

    Satan has power. He tries to imitate God, but only God saves. And one day He will destroy all evil. Jesus wins in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Riveting

    I loved both books. Of course I have yet to read one of his books I didn't love.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    I really enjoyed

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Havent read it

    I have not read this book but i saw the movie and it was really scary. Usally id mind scary movies but this one just freaked me out to much. But saying that its suppose to be scary ill give it three stars for its scaryness.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Peretti Got Me Again

    I have read three Frank Peretti books so far and while The Visitation is

    not my favorite of his, it certainly intrigued me.


    It starts off slow, much slower and with less suspense than some of his

    other novels like Monster. You need to push forward to get into the

    story. There was also a very cynical tone to it about church and

    religion. In fact, most of the "religious" characters in it are not at

    all likable people, and ones that would make a quite the bad impression

    on a person looking for an example of a church-goer.


    Finally, a little more than a third through or so, the reader starts

    getting into the action that Peretti is famous for. The suspense builds

    as you try to figure out what is going on in this little town called

    Antioch. As the tension and action piles up, the reader is confronted

    with some of the more frightening elements of this story, to the point of

    making the ending almost anti-climatic. It does get a little scary

    indeed. But that's okay, by then you *really want to know how it all

    ends.


    And end it finally does, and tragically so. Not to give away the ending,

    but the book really doesn't have a "and they all lived happily ever

    after" feeling at all. It's quite somber. But it has some valuable

    lessons that all Believers need to pay attention to. Pay particular

    attention to the "stuff" of religion that is mentioned frequently.

    All in all, it's not as good as the other two Peretti novels I've read so

    far, but this was worth the reading and recommended.


    Kelly Libatique
    Author of "Divine Knowledge Transfer" and "A Toast to the Holy Ghost?"
    www.Libatique.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Peretti does it again

    When I read books, they don't usually freak me out. You know those books that they say will keep you up all night, not reading but thinking...well Frank Peretti is the only author who has successfully managed to do that to me. His work with Ted Dekker in "House" was the first book that has ever kept me up at night. "The Visitation" is the next one that has managed to do the same.

    "The Visitation," is an incredible book that spans the horizon of Christianity. When people in town start seeing images of Jesus and His mother Mary all over the place, the stage is being set for the main show. And the final confrontation and climax will leave you shocked and wondering just how Peretti was able to keep it under wraps the entire time.

    I would definitely suggest reading this if thrillers are your thing. Cheers, oh and don't forget to lock the door. **wink**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    review of 'the visitation'

    Honestly, one of the best books I've ever read. If I had to rate it out of ten, it would be a 9.5 because there are just a few too many flashbacks for my liking. But other than that, I would recommend it to anyone, as it was an all around good book, although if you aren't Christian, there might be a some things that don't ring true to you. But once again, I absolutely loved it. Peretti made a bestseller writing this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3