BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Visitation

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Eye opening

Awesome book, brings a mondern twist and i believe accurately depicts how a false prophet would be in these times. He does not need to study his Bible again either, for in the Bible it states that the false prophets will decieve with great wonders. In the end, Almighty ...
Awesome book, brings a mondern twist and i believe accurately depicts how a false prophet would be in these times. He does not need to study his Bible again either, for in the Bible it states that the false prophets will decieve with great wonders. In the end, Almighty God still prevailed and the battle against the enemy was won. God is in control of all things and i believe this book portrayed that very well.

posted by kdbrant on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good read but...

I love Perretti's books and always enjoy reading them. However, to me 'The Visitation' has one major terrible flaw: it implies that satan can heal. This is a vile lie and a grave error as well as un-scriptural. I hope that no one is deceived by reading this book. Onl...
I love Perretti's books and always enjoy reading them. However, to me 'The Visitation' has one major terrible flaw: it implies that satan can heal. This is a vile lie and a grave error as well as un-scriptural. I hope that no one is deceived by reading this book. Only God can heal. Jesus said, 'Can satan cast out satan?'. Frank needs to study his bible more.

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Why?

    I couldn't make it past chapter six! The book was written for Penticostal individuals. People that think speaking in tounges is something everyone can do, and crying during a service is a normal thing and falling out on the floor just means your shot of the Holy spirit was a big one. I am not sure the Father nor the Son would want fiction to be written about them. Let alone mess that Jesus comes back to Earth in the flesh to half mow a lawn and shake a man's hand and tell him his dead wife says 'hi'. Something smacks of heritical there. The book sold well, good for the author. But in my oppinion it's a peice of trash.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book keeps you out of your seat!!!Though Brandon Nichols is decieving every one into believing he is God it is very true that he is the devil and doesnt necessarilly prove that he could heal but the devil could appear to be healing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    Not Frank Peretti's Best, But . . .

    Yeah, The Visitation is alright, I guess. It doesn't exactly have all of the thrilling sequences that I've found in his other books, but I liked the book and enjoyed reading it. It will keep you going from about chapter 6 to the end, but I would recommend you watch the movie after the book. Get ready for a big surprise at the end! I REALLY didn't expect it! Have fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    WOW

    This was a great book and anyone who is a devout Christian will think this book is awesome!!!! Frank E. Peretti is an outstanding author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    WOW!!!

    This was a great book! any christian who likes a little mystery would like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    A fresh approach to an old theme

    Visitation reached my home by mail (I bought it by internet) in Brazil when I was leaving to an one week vacation. I got the book with me because I was curious. I started reading it and could not put it down. Frank Peretti got a very old theme of prophesies about deceivers saying to be sent by God and sets a well constructed craft on the fight against evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    So far it is alright

    I am 200 pages into the novel so far. I've seen the movie, so I know the premise of the story. It has been a slow build up to the point I'm at right now. Peretti is very detailed with character development. I know the story will get juicy soon. I read The Oath prior to this one and it also started out slow, but had it's scenes that were thrilling and suspensful. I am looking forward to seeing what will happen next. Peretti likes to build up suspense and intrigue. Reminds me a lot of Dean Koontz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    First Peretti Book I've read!

    I've had this book sitting around my house for quite some time. Bought it at least two years ago with intentions to read it, but never got around to it until now. It's the first Frank Peretti book I've ever read. I thoroughly enjoyed it! It made some great points about not getting bogged down in programs and simply going through the religious motions. It's about your relationship with Jesus instead! The main character's life background was very detailed. I was drawn into this book. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2005

    Frank Peretti The Greatest Christian Writers!

    I want to read and listen to more of his books and audio's! I heard the Visitation and i was like 'wow!' his spiritual outlook and creativity is wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    A great read

    This book reveals the dangers faced when people start seeing the face of Jesus in tree trunks and in windows. People routinely flock to these rediculous things...people who are supposed to be Christians...and practically worship them. All because they see what looks like a face that's similar to how modern culture paints Jesus--a white guy with a beard. Not only was The Visitation a well written and gripping story, but it reveals some core problems with today's religious (and superstitious folks. This book held me from beginning to end. Awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    An Amazing Story!

    No one else writes like Peretti. If you have read any of Frank's books, then this is a must. Even if you haven't, this would be a great one to start with (and you have to start!!!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    one of the few books that gets my attention

    this is one of the only books that keep me reading with out geting bored i had to make time for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2004

    The Best Book I Ever Read

    This book by esteemed author Frank Peretti is by a long shot the best book I have EVER read. He Gives the gospel message and also shows the evil of the opposing side. The devil can decieve you and take over you so easily, so we must remain strong in the faith!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    Hard to put down

    Peretti proves that Christian fiction can be just as exciting as secular with The Visitation. It is nearly impossible to read without considering the possibility of similar events occurring in your own town. I would have given it five stars, except that some of the flashback scenes seemed only to be there to make the book longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    great

    This book is one of the best boks I have ever read. The story is woven in such a way that it gets your attention and keeps it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    The BEST book I've read yet!

    This is by far the best book I've read yet! Just as it says in the description this book will keep you turning the pages and burning the midnight oil. If you like great supernatural fiction, this is the book for you! You will also find some good spiritual principles in this book. Read it you will not be dissapointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    Peretti is the king of fiction books

    He did it again. Peretti has written another amazing book. This book will leave you wanting more from page one. You'll want to read it hours on end-at least I did. Peretti does a most excellent job with describing all parts of this book. From the first appearance of the antichrist to the last. See if Travis will catch him in the act or miss his chance. You'll be left breathless throughout the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2001

    An amazing book

    This was a great book filled with action and suspense with interesting characters. This is a must read by one of the best authors on the planet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2000

    Matthew 24 comes to life.

    Many Christians are familiar with Christ's prophecy in Matthew 24:4-5,11,24 that false prophets will come in the last days, proclaiming that they are the Christ, performing miracles, and deceiving many. Few Christians have stopped to reflect on how Christ's prophecy about these last days could become a reality in our own world. Peretti does the job for us, by painting a vivid fictional picture of how this could conceivably come about. His false Christ is initially so convincing, that I found myself reading with a strong sense of disbelief, thinking 'This Messiah looks like the real thing, acts like the real thing, but something is not quite right!' It is this sense of disbelief that kept me reading, intensely curious as to how Peretti would unravel the plot! The plot is intriguing and entertaining. Peretti sustains interest by working with a story-line composed of twin strands that are intertwined throughout the novel: one being the protagonist's past, the other being his present. Although the plot is not always convincing (the conclusion falls somewhat flat since several loose ends are left hanging), on the whole it is engaging and suspenseful. Yet at the same time Peretti is very introspective. He takes the reader on a fast ride, but not so fast that you don't get to enjoy the scenery on the way. The main character, Travis Jordan, is very believable, and his struggles and development are superbly portrayed. In the process, Peretti shares thoughtful insights about the state of church-life in contemporary North America. His careful attention to characterization enables him to create an effective satire on the hypocrisy of emotion-driven charismatics, as well as the superficiality of factory-style big city churches. At one point he goes somewhat too far, in my view, by creating a false dilemma between membership in Christ's church and having a personal relationship with Christ. His endorsement of Arminian theology is also one I personally do not share. But you don't have to agree with Peretti in every respect to find this novel stimulating. While being entertained by an original story-line, I found myself gaining a heightened awareness of the dangers of false prophets in the future, and of the dangers of superficial church life in the present. It is this quality that makes this novel much more than a story with a token Christian touch, but a novel with a genuinely Christian and thought-provoking message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    he did it again....

    this book is truly amazing. i was so rapped up in it, that i literally read it about three hours a day and thats good for us teenagers..hehe...peretti is so awesome....i enjoyed the flashbacks that he had about his youthful life and the love story with him and marian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3