Customer Reviews for

The Visitation

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Eye opening

Awesome book, brings a mondern twist and i believe accurately depicts how a false prophet would be in these times. He does not need to study his Bible again either, for in the Bible it states that the false prophets will decieve with great wonders. In the end, Almighty ...
Awesome book, brings a mondern twist and i believe accurately depicts how a false prophet would be in these times. He does not need to study his Bible again either, for in the Bible it states that the false prophets will decieve with great wonders. In the end, Almighty God still prevailed and the battle against the enemy was won. God is in control of all things and i believe this book portrayed that very well.

posted by kdbrant on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good read but...

I love Perretti's books and always enjoy reading them. However, to me 'The Visitation' has one major terrible flaw: it implies that satan can heal. This is a vile lie and a grave error as well as un-scriptural. I hope that no one is deceived by reading this book. Onl...
I love Perretti's books and always enjoy reading them. However, to me 'The Visitation' has one major terrible flaw: it implies that satan can heal. This is a vile lie and a grave error as well as un-scriptural. I hope that no one is deceived by reading this book. Only God can heal. Jesus said, 'Can satan cast out satan?'. Frank needs to study his bible more.

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, but I recommend others first!

    This was the second Frank Peretti book that I read. I read The Oath first, which was incredibly good! So maybe this isn't a fair review.

    I was kind of disappointed with the book in comparison to The Oath, but I still read it in less than 4 days. I read both books back to back in a week.

    Frank Peretti has a unique writing style that clarifies how we act and think and how we sin against the Lord. This is a good book in that it shows how blind we can be to spiritual matters and how we are not perfect in discerning good from evil. It's easy to get wrapped up in what we want to see and this book clearly shows that. I thought that it got a little over the top at times, and even thought that it ended rather abruptly. This book was by no means a bad book (it couldn't be with Frank Peretti as the author), but I do have to say that it is my least favorite out of any Peretti book that I have read so far.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2000

    Great but not the best.

    This is an awesome book. I have read everything Peretti has written and although it's not what I consider his best, it is none the less captivating. He has brought to life areas that we need to watch out for in our Christian walk; ie: how easy it would be to be taken in by a false prophet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Super long. But totally worth it.

    Very long. And there are a ton of characters to keep up with. Plus all those flashbacks got confusing. But i love this book! Its exciting and mysterious(:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Sorry to burst your bubble...

    but Satan CAN heal. you have to remember, he was an ark angel, closer to God then any other angel. And he has demons working for him. 'Sorry Tom!' I'm about halfway through the book now, and I find it thrilling and Biblically acurat. The plot is thrilling and draws you right into the story. It teaches the importance of staying close to God and not being led astray. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    So good!

    Totally worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Response to reviewer

    Satan has power. He tries to imitate God, but only God saves. And one day He will destroy all evil. Jesus wins in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Peretti Got Me Again

    I have read three Frank Peretti books so far and while The Visitation is

    not my favorite of his, it certainly intrigued me.


    It starts off slow, much slower and with less suspense than some of his

    other novels like Monster. You need to push forward to get into the

    story. There was also a very cynical tone to it about church and

    religion. In fact, most of the "religious" characters in it are not at

    all likable people, and ones that would make a quite the bad impression

    on a person looking for an example of a church-goer.


    Finally, a little more than a third through or so, the reader starts

    getting into the action that Peretti is famous for. The suspense builds

    as you try to figure out what is going on in this little town called

    Antioch. As the tension and action piles up, the reader is confronted

    with some of the more frightening elements of this story, to the point of

    making the ending almost anti-climatic. It does get a little scary

    indeed. But that's okay, by then you *really want to know how it all

    ends.


    And end it finally does, and tragically so. Not to give away the ending,

    but the book really doesn't have a "and they all lived happily ever

    after" feeling at all. It's quite somber. But it has some valuable

    lessons that all Believers need to pay attention to. Pay particular

    attention to the "stuff" of religion that is mentioned frequently.

    All in all, it's not as good as the other two Peretti novels I've read so

    far, but this was worth the reading and recommended.


    Kelly Libatique
    Author of "Divine Knowledge Transfer" and "A Toast to the Holy Ghost?"
    www.Libatique.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    Not Frank Peretti's Best, But . . .

    Yeah, The Visitation is alright, I guess. It doesn't exactly have all of the thrilling sequences that I've found in his other books, but I liked the book and enjoyed reading it. It will keep you going from about chapter 6 to the end, but I would recommend you watch the movie after the book. Get ready for a big surprise at the end! I REALLY didn't expect it! Have fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    WOW!!!

    This was a great book! any christian who likes a little mystery would like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    Hard to put down

    Peretti proves that Christian fiction can be just as exciting as secular with The Visitation. It is nearly impossible to read without considering the possibility of similar events occurring in your own town. I would have given it five stars, except that some of the flashback scenes seemed only to be there to make the book longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2000

    Matthew 24 comes to life.

    Many Christians are familiar with Christ's prophecy in Matthew 24:4-5,11,24 that false prophets will come in the last days, proclaiming that they are the Christ, performing miracles, and deceiving many. Few Christians have stopped to reflect on how Christ's prophecy about these last days could become a reality in our own world. Peretti does the job for us, by painting a vivid fictional picture of how this could conceivably come about. His false Christ is initially so convincing, that I found myself reading with a strong sense of disbelief, thinking 'This Messiah looks like the real thing, acts like the real thing, but something is not quite right!' It is this sense of disbelief that kept me reading, intensely curious as to how Peretti would unravel the plot! The plot is intriguing and entertaining. Peretti sustains interest by working with a story-line composed of twin strands that are intertwined throughout the novel: one being the protagonist's past, the other being his present. Although the plot is not always convincing (the conclusion falls somewhat flat since several loose ends are left hanging), on the whole it is engaging and suspenseful. Yet at the same time Peretti is very introspective. He takes the reader on a fast ride, but not so fast that you don't get to enjoy the scenery on the way. The main character, Travis Jordan, is very believable, and his struggles and development are superbly portrayed. In the process, Peretti shares thoughtful insights about the state of church-life in contemporary North America. His careful attention to characterization enables him to create an effective satire on the hypocrisy of emotion-driven charismatics, as well as the superficiality of factory-style big city churches. At one point he goes somewhat too far, in my view, by creating a false dilemma between membership in Christ's church and having a personal relationship with Christ. His endorsement of Arminian theology is also one I personally do not share. But you don't have to agree with Peretti in every respect to find this novel stimulating. While being entertained by an original story-line, I found myself gaining a heightened awareness of the dangers of false prophets in the future, and of the dangers of superficial church life in the present. It is this quality that makes this novel much more than a story with a token Christian touch, but a novel with a genuinely Christian and thought-provoking message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    he did it again....

    this book is truly amazing. i was so rapped up in it, that i literally read it about three hours a day and thats good for us teenagers..hehe...peretti is so awesome....i enjoyed the flashbacks that he had about his youthful life and the love story with him and marian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    Peretti keeps shelling out great books!

    I was impressed with this book in a different way than I was with his others. This book was not one of his thriller novels, but his writing style and technique portrayed a vivid picture of the deception that false prophets utilise. I am an avid fan of Peretti, and I have read every one of his novels, including Tilly and The Prophet. Peretti never ceases to amaze me. I particularly enjoyed the limited first person view that he maintained throughout the majority of the book. I also enjoyed the vivid 'flash backs' of the main character. If your looking for a phsycological thriller, this is your book. However, if you want action, I suggest The Oath, This Present Darkness, and Piercing the Darkness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    Great Book By Peretti

    It was a really good book. I recommened this book to everyone that likes to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1