Customer Reviews for

Visitation Street

Average Rating 3.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Ivy Pochoda has written a great thriller in Visitation Street. T

Ivy Pochoda has written a great thriller in Visitation Street. The characters are interesting. The story unfolds at the perfect pace. This is a real page turner. Hard to put down.

posted by JonathanBell on July 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I really thought this book rambled on and on and there was no re

I really thought this book rambled on and on and there was no real mystery here.
It was clear from the start what happened to the girls. I continued to read to see if the conclusion was different than the obvious, and it was not. I did not like this book and felt it wa...
I really thought this book rambled on and on and there was no real mystery here.
It was clear from the start what happened to the girls. I continued to read to see if the conclusion was different than the obvious, and it was not. I did not like this book and felt it was kind of a waste of time for me.

posted by Knazze on September 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Ivy Pochoda has written a great thriller in Visitation Street. T

    Ivy Pochoda has written a great thriller in Visitation Street. The characters are interesting. The story unfolds at the perfect pace. This is a real page turner. Hard to put down.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    I really thought this book rambled on and on and there was no re

    I really thought this book rambled on and on and there was no real mystery here.
    It was clear from the start what happened to the girls. I continued to read to see if the conclusion was different than the obvious, and it was not. I did not like this book and felt it was kind of a waste of time for me.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this book. It revs up fast and is filled with t

    I really enjoyed this book. It revs up fast and is filled with twists and turns. Characters like the barfly Julliard drop out keep the story interesting. This one is a real page turner.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The author paints a vivid portrait of Brooklyn¿s Red Hook sectio

    The author paints a vivid portrait of Brooklyn’s Red Hook section, an area alongside the East River which juxtaposes predominantly white residents of the waterside two- and three-story brick houses with its nearby minority-filled housing projects and abandoned warehouses . The tale opens in the middle of a heat wave, when two fifteen-year old girls, Valerie and June, Catholic school students, follow the seductive call of adventure to escape the boredom of their lives (a recurring theme throughout the novel), taking a small pink raft into the water a short walk away from their homes. Almost predictably, their little boat is no match for the strong currents. The outcome: Val is discovered by an area resident, unconscious; June is nowhere to be found, and the worst is feared. The remainder of the book describes the effects of the tragedy on the neighborhood, told from various points of view, most profoundly Val’s, almost literally haunted by the scenes replayed on a constant loop in her mind, filled with guilt at not having saved her friend. Those are nearly constant themes of the book as well: guilt, and the living being haunted by the dead, or those feared dead.

    Red Hook, with its history of drugs, racism, and similar ills, comes alive as much as any of the fascinating characters who live and work there in this author’s poetic prose. This reader knows the area well, and it is very realistically portrayed here. The blue-collar residents hope for salvation with the eagerly anticipated arrival of large cruise ships at the new passenger terminal, while meanwhile scraping by as best they can.

    The novel is not at all what I expected, which was a crime novel along the lines of the books by Dennis Lehane, under whose imprint this book was published, the second under his aegis. In that sense I was somewhat disappointed, I must admit. But the book is quite original, and I suspect that my disappointment will not be shared by most readers.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    a good read

    I enjoyed the book but did not find it compelling,meaning, it did not compel me to move forward. It is written very well, the characters are very real, the writing is intelligent. and she captures her old neighborhood with wonderful natural flavors. I think I may have expected more because Dennis Lehane highly endorsed it....I did not feel the need to read to find out what happened, there was none of that. Great story, but I didn't have a hard time putting it down....and that's how I know if I love the story/book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Excellent book...a must read.

    I chose this book initially because it's a mystery, who-done-it. But as I became absorbed in the story, I was far more interested in getting to know the primary and secondary characters and less obsessed with solving the central mystery. Don't get me wrong...the mystery is important, but the characters and their racially diverse neighborhood is very compelling.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Great character development. I felt like I knew each character w

    Great character development. I felt like I knew each character well and never wanted this book to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Depressing

    This book started out good but then turned sad and depressing. It read more like a funeral procession of an entire neighborhood than a thriller.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Absolutely Amazing!

    The author managed to capture the entire Red Hook experience and I was so surprised considering she was this white girl. I grew up in Carroll Gardens and was shocked how she got the grittiness of Red Hook so accurately. Really interesting story that kept me reading until it was done. Good story. Loved it! Can't wait for her next book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    A top notch second novel from an emerging talent.  More than a m

    A top notch second novel from an emerging talent.  More than a mystery -- a compelling and insightful examination of the intricate interpersonal relationships in a complex New York neighborhood.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Humor, sadness, conflict, racism, stupidity, brilliance - if hum

    Humor, sadness, conflict, racism, stupidity, brilliance - if humans can be it or do it, it is in this book. Red Hook is a microcosm of where we all live. That there is a crime to solve adds to the mix and waiting for the ship to arrive is frosting on the cake - well, frosting that is pretty but has a bad taste. Read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Spellbinding

    An amazing tale of intertwined lives that reminds me of Ray Bradbury's Dandelion Wine. Part mystery, part magic, and impossible to put down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Amazing

    Amazing

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Average

    Just an average book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Great

    Great book! This was an interesting story of loss, love, discovery, changes, friendship, giving and grieving. It focuses on a handful of people and how there lives interconnect. Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Worth the read

    Excellent sense of place, Red Hook comes to life- characters not so well drawn, but a good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Good book!

    Keep me wondering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    you must check it out for yourself

    I didn't care for this book. It was not what I expected.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    I expected better based on reviews

    Storyline was OK, but not great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Interesting tale

    I felt as if I moved into the neighborhood of Red Hook and met some of the people who live there. I learned to care for them and hoped they would find some peace and fulfillment in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3