BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Vittorio the Vampire (New Tales of the Vampires Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best of the Vampire Chronicles

I have read each of the Anne Rice Vampire Chronicles but this, in my opinion, was the best. My sister gave me the book as a Christmas gift and when I got home, I made myself a cup of coffee and starting reading it. I couldn't stop and ended up reading all through the ...
I have read each of the Anne Rice Vampire Chronicles but this, in my opinion, was the best. My sister gave me the book as a Christmas gift and when I got home, I made myself a cup of coffee and starting reading it. I couldn't stop and ended up reading all through the night, finishing the next morning. I've never done that with a book before or since, but with Vittorio, I just didn't want to stop.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Okay but not the best..

I read the first book in the New Tales Of The Vampire series,Pandora,and I really enjoyed that storyline(it included of course the references to Lestat throughout the book).I decided to go and pick up Vittorio to see how that was and I have to say I was a little disappo...
I read the first book in the New Tales Of The Vampire series,Pandora,and I really enjoyed that storyline(it included of course the references to Lestat throughout the book).I decided to go and pick up Vittorio to see how that was and I have to say I was a little disappointed. I usually enjoy Anne Rice's novels and can read them in just a few days.They are usually gripping and extremely entertaining but this book wasn't that gripping and was very tiresome to read.I could put the book down and go on with other things and not worry about reading what happens next because it would take to long to get to the point. Usually Mrs.Rice does a great job with her novels but this one just wasn't that great.Now don't get me wrong,it had it's moments and that's why I am giving it a recommendation and it had a lot of history so if you are into reading a history book then you'll love this book.

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Good

    I liked this book it was well written, like all Mrs. Rice's books, and had a lovely ending. I'd recomend it anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    my review :)

    It was a great book,it was one of those books that you can't put down.Its about this guy named vittorio and how he becomes a vampire.Anne Rice explains everything with great detail and I can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    Not your usual Anne Rice Vampire novel

    Good book and an easy read (short and very intereting, you will sometimes find yourself not wanting to put it down). Rice takes a breather from the usual characters of vampires and pleases us with a new vampiric story unlike the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    worth reading

    Rice's books are dark and enchanting, they make you feel the pain, joy, anger, and love her characters feel. Everyone of her books have been a page turner. In her newest book, Vittorio, Anne Rice tells a tale of a vampire who lived in the Renaissance age

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    A book to consider

    In this book, Anne Rice takes on a totally different character from a totally different setting. The story is good. I quite like it. But I'm a bit disappointed as it did not manage to reach the level that 'The Vampire Lestat' did. Still, it is a great book and very recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2001

    Very good book

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, I give it 4.9 stars. Anne Rice went through all of Vittorio's emotions and the ways of his head. From a pompous youth, living in lavish luxery, to what befell him, to the last part of the book, I saw it all. Some people complain about the ending, saying it wasn't enough. Her books are always dark and often deliciously disturbing. This book was especially so. What capped it off and made it perfect was the unresolved ending. Life doesn't always have resolved endings. The ending was rather defeating, but it finished the bood well. As for his adventures with Ursula, that's what series are for!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2000

    A MUST read book

    I was unable to put the book down. It was a romance and horror book in one. Very descriptive and detailed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    Good, but not as good as the others.

    Although, I enjoyed this book, Icouldn't help but notice it lacked in something that was much supplied in her (Rice's) other books. If you've read 'the Vampire Chronicles' you know what Im talking about. I reccomend it, but only if you liked the previous books, including 'Pandora'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    Vittorio, You're So Volumptuous!

    Vittorio the Vampire almost wins my heart away from Lestat...almost...He is beautiful, dark and (dare I say it?) delicious. He has a true lover's heart, experiencing that ancient push-pull of slightly unattainable, possibly unrequited love. The setting of Florence only enhances the dark beauty of Vittorio's angst. Gosh, I love a passionate Italian with intelligence, money and a faithful heart!!! What more could a woman want? Anne Rice strikes me as the Edgar Allen Poe of women writers...in Vittorio,she captures my fantasies: repressive love, mystery, madness, passion, darkly exotic settings and poignant regrets. I loved this book...but I still love Lestat best. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 1999

    'A Tortured Soul is Always a Compelling Story'

    The book 'Vittorio the Vampire' was a little different from the other novels in the New Tales of the Vampires, because there was..... well, to put it simply...... no Lestat. In my opinion Anne Rices' new novel is still extraordinary, it just took a whole new approach to the life of the undead. in this tale of a boy who lost it all for love, the reader learns a little more about the history of the vampires.... and a little more about pain too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 1999

    One of the best vampire novel's since 'Interview With The Vampire!'

    Truely a touching book about love, lust and best of all vampires. It's one that you'll read again and again. A book you would be proud to recommend to everyone of your friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2