Customer Reviews for

Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Truly Outstanding

Even by just looking at the cover of this album you can tell that it is different than Coldplay's previous releases. Where those ones were minimalistic and spare, Viva La Vida is exploding with color in every inch and so the same can be said for the music. Departing fr...
Even by just looking at the cover of this album you can tell that it is different than Coldplay's previous releases. Where those ones were minimalistic and spare, Viva La Vida is exploding with color in every inch and so the same can be said for the music. Departing from their usual mellow, Chris-dominated formula that was gradually becoming stale (Speed of sound = Clocks?)Coldplay uses this opportunity to show off a much richer, more vibrant album than any of their previous ones. Here Chris takes a step back and Will, Guy and Jon step up, resulting in a very well-rounded sound. I've listened to this whole album on repeat for a good couple of hours and I likely won't stop anytime soon.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I’d rather pull my fingernails out slowly with pliers than listen to this CD

I am so mad at myself for buying this CD. I downloaded without listening to it first. It’s horrible. It is the most bland, watered down, uber-mainstream and uninspired excuse for music I’ve heard in a long time. Coldplay has resorted to adding ethnic and Louisiana-style...
I am so mad at myself for buying this CD. I downloaded without listening to it first. It’s horrible. It is the most bland, watered down, uber-mainstream and uninspired excuse for music I’ve heard in a long time. Coldplay has resorted to adding ethnic and Louisiana-styled sounds to their songs – in a feeble attempt to make them interesting. It doesn’t work. I’d rather pull my fingernails out slowly with pliers than listen to this CD. Yes, it’s that bad.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Truly Outstanding

    Even by just looking at the cover of this album you can tell that it is different than Coldplay's previous releases. Where those ones were minimalistic and spare, Viva La Vida is exploding with color in every inch and so the same can be said for the music. Departing from their usual mellow, Chris-dominated formula that was gradually becoming stale (Speed of sound = Clocks?)Coldplay uses this opportunity to show off a much richer, more vibrant album than any of their previous ones. Here Chris takes a step back and Will, Guy and Jon step up, resulting in a very well-rounded sound. I've listened to this whole album on repeat for a good couple of hours and I likely won't stop anytime soon.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Fallen Kingdom ;D that is what brought me to buy this!

    Fallen Kingdom ;D that is what brought me to buy this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Beautiful!

    I've always loved Coldplay but this album is by far their best, in my opinion. Every song is a hit. The lyrics are wonderful and the music is beyond amazing. The overall ambiance of the album is darker, deeper and gives off a different feeling from their previous releases. From the moment Life in Technicolor begins, it starts to draw you into a different realm altogether. I fell instantly in love with Cemetery in London's lyrics and how it is so different from any of their other songs and beautiful. Lovers in Japan is an epic song with the music is a faster beat but is lighter in tone from Cemetery in London, creating an almost roller-coaster experience when listening to the album. Every song melds perfectly with the following song and leaves you holding your breath until it is over, wanting more. But that is what the repeat button is for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Buy!

    Superb fun, good listen, memorable sound

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Viva La Vida by Coldplay

    This CD was excellent! The music was a mixture of classical and modern. It's the kind of music that soothes you, but also makes you feel like you could do anything. I would definitely recommend this CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Out of the Park

    This disc is fantastic, I can hardly wait to hear their hits from the disc performed live this summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Groups' done it Again

    One of their best albums.. That's all I have to say.<BR/>Viloet Hill<BR/>Viva la Vida<BR/><BR/>I cannot take these songs out of my head, great songs!!! great Album

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great album!

    When I bought this album earlier in the summer, I was expecting a lot because of all the hype. I brought it home, turned it on, and I heard forgetable. I listened to it every once in a while throughout the summer, eventually discovering that I liked 'Reign of Love', 'Cemetaries of London', and 'Lost.' But I brought it out to my car about three weeks ago, and it's been in my CD player ever since. With every repetition I find myself finding more and more to admire about each song. Each one was made with special care, each one is its own masterpiece. <BR/>Everything about the album feels authentic, from the lyrics to the music to the packaging. I love all the art in the liner, and, of course, the lyrics, but I with their were more credits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing, Insightful, Thanks Coldplay

    Chris Martin has an amazing talent to write with meaning and depth, and then pair that with undeniable musical creativity...they just keep getting better and better in my opinion. I rarely see artists put out entire albums with amazing song after amazing song. And no wonder they have so many HITS!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful Sound

    Coldplay keeps getting better and better. There's less piano and more guitar on this record. Compared to their previous records this one sounds different but the soul of Coldplay is all over it. An amazing explosion of sounds. Love it! A must buy for Colplay fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Poetic! Soulful! One of their best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Viva La Awesome!!!

    Best Rock Album of the 2000's. The closest thing to the Beatles our generation has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must Have!

    Love it! If you love Coldplay, you must get this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    From the quiet sonic warblings and catchy beginning riff of "Life In Technicolour" to the eerie echos and 3/4 beats of "Cemeteries Of London" to the powerful rocky landscapes of "Violet Hill", one thing can be said of Coldplay's highly anticipated 4th album VIVA LA VIDA or DEATH AND ALL HIS FRIENDS: It ROCKS!! The boys have departed from their earlier and more alternative sound "i.e. Parachutes, A Rush of Blood to the Head, and many Bsides" but they can still dish out catchy tunes with meaning. What's interesting is that Chris recently commented about how this album had allowed Jonny, Guy, and Will to step up to the musical plate. He insisted that this differed from the previous albums where he played a larger role in the songs. One cannot forget to mention Brian Eno's influence which is quite strong. Many notable sound trademarks of him can be heard in the synthesizer and string arrangements throughout nearly all the songs. Along with a new musical partner/mentor, the boys also picked up some unique instruments from abroad, which can be heard on tracks like the upbeat instrumental "Life In Technicolour", the lusty "Yes", and the African drum-beat melody "Strawberry Swing". "42" is a definite highlight with its beautiful piano opening/ending reminiscent of John Lennon's "Imagine" at one point. It is filled with a rocky center that gives Jonny a guitar workout. "Lost!" is another great song with its clap-beats and classic Coldplay lyrics. Even though this album is quite different soundwise from their previous ones, it still provides an enjoyable earful which will no doubt become addicting to listen to. Even if some songs don't instantly snag your ears, give them some more listens to fully capture the true elegance. I cannot wait to see them live! Viva La Coldplay indeed! " (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Viva La Loveliness....

    I've been a true fan of Coldplay since the very beginning in '99 and Viva La Vida has the same kind of charm as Parachutes (but of course, more mature). While Rush and X&Y were wonderful, I rarely played them from beginning to end and then over again. I'm doing that with Viva La Vida. Viva is sweeping, smart, eclectic, and Chris's voice is (as always) haunting & lovely. If you love Coldplay, you'll love this gem. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Coldplay new album!

    This album so far sounds great i have heard the two released songs (violet hill and Viva la Vida) and they both sound great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    another amazing album by an amazing band!

    as a musician who plays guitar, percussion, sings, flute, and a bunch of other instruments, plus i am a music teacher, take it from me that this album is wonderful! i have been reading other's reviews here and i truly wonder if those who rated this low actually listened to the album in full at least 2-3 times. it is set up like you are listening to a movie. overture (life in technicolour), the a-side being the exposition, "yes" being the extender and more development, and then you have the stand alone moments with a wonderful ender in "death and...". i was just astonished by the depth of the lyrics, the sheer boldness of some of the pieces, and the surprise of how low chris martin's voice goes in "yes." of course, the title tracks are amazing, and i am so happy they used a timpani on the album. they basically expanded their horizons, proving that they truly deserve the success they have earned. when you get this album, listen to it, let it sink in, then if you have the previous albums, just play them in order. you will be in for a treat with where they started and how far they have come in ten years. just sit back and enjoy the ride that is Viva La Vida! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Count down to viva la vida

    When i heard violet hill i knew this album would be amazing i am counting to the release date i cannot wait.it's going to be amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    #1

    I love the unique sound of Chris Martin and his group. They deserve to go to the top with this cd. Please get the other junk off the radio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I've only heard 2 songs from the new album: Violet Hill and Viva la Vida. They're both sensational and I've fallenin love with Coldplay with a new burning passion. We're in the countdown stage now! The challenge now is just to wait...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4