Customer Reviews for

Vivir para contarla (Living to Tell the Tale)

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    Amazing

    I love all this author and this book is all I expected from him and more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    It stands unique by itself!

    Although I can consider myself a GGM fiction fan, I encountered ¿Vivir Para Contarla¿ utterly more attention-grabbing than any of his other works. Perhaps It was just the fact that he related his real life, from the time before his birth until he was something like twenty eight years old, in such a magical way that I could just not put the book down for more than a few moments. I could come across in this volume with so much of the background that made the genius in Gabo, that I could not accept it as factual. Actually I was so beguiled by the story, by the idiosyncrasy of his large and astonishing family, by the actual brilliance and intelligence of the child, the adolescent and the young man in Gabo, that I unreservedly supposed I was immersed in one more of this author¿s accomplishments. He relates his non precedent childhood and early adolescent years as a conspicuous reader and writer of poems and stories- which he memorized and recited by hearth-, as a distinguished picture drawer, as a notable singer, as an extremely timid person, in sum: as another character out of its novellas and short stories. He, at the same time, enriches our reading with his detailed and exhaustive career as an anonymous young journalist in Colombia, who spends an awesome amount of his free time discussing literature with his fellow workers and friends, at a time period when literature was the coolest matter to be involved in. However, the social and political backgrounds of his whereabouts are so precise and stuck to Colombian and the World¿s historic and social events, that henceforth what he conveys us in this first volume of his autobiography must have a great deal of reality in it. In spite of the fact that a myriad of the characters, locations and events that we find as basis for his novellas and short stories come out of his real life, I do not believe it imperative to be acquainted to any of his other masterpieces in order to devour and absolutely enjoy this volume. It stands unique by itself! I am anxiously waiting for the subsequent volumes of this trilogy, however due to the actual author¿s sickness I don¿t believe we will be receiving the complete trilogy at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Es un Libro Excellente, especialmente es espanol

    Estoy Leendo este libro, y como todo sus libros es super facinante su historia. Probablemente, en la traducion a otra lengua al Ingles, la magia de nuestra lengua espanol se pierde en la traduccion lo recomiendo leerlo

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    Great piece of writing, but not a collector's item.

    Read the book in about 10 days expecting to find the same images and imagination of his previous works, left me hoping for more, although he vividly portrays how his life has evolved, at times it became boring that I felt that out of respect I finished reading it. But after reading the entire book with so much interest to find out the details of his life, I was left with great admiration for his life, his intelligence, perseverance, and great accomplishments. To find out how he developed great characters for his books, and details of his life left me fascinated. Although I do not applaud his dealings with prostitutes, bouts with gonorrhea, and stealing a suit for his father and a briefcase for himself, I admire his sincerity to share with us those embarrasing details of his life. Can't wait to read what Mercedes Barcha says on her reply...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Wonderful

    One of the best writers of our times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    un gran escritor!

    este libro nos muestra como para llegar a ser un premio novel se tiene que luchar duro en la vida

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    I've read it 7 times...

    ... and every time it's a different book. A masterpiece of one of the most spanish language writers. If possible, read it in spanish ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2003

    An Outstanding Book by An Outstanding Master of the Letters

    The life of this master of Spanish literature, narrated in Garciaz's most peculiar style, is a rich description that illuminates the readers of the motives that urged Garcia Marquez to compose literary fantacies that have conquered the heart of the entire Spanish-speaking world. His life reflects the struggle of a person to arrive to a mature point in his life to determine the right course of his existence. It's a reflection of Latin-American societies' growth in its subtlest form, told through the experience of a literary genius. This title does not culminate a life of brilliant works of literature, but rather extends his legacy to future generations. It's the signature to his life's artworks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    The Realism and magic incarnate a man family history

    This book is the most important writen by Marquez, after 'one hundred years of solicitude'. Reading this autobiography you can understand all Marquez novels. In this book Garcia Marquez presents with an extraordinary style the realism and the magic of his novels, blended with his own family and country history. I recomend this great book. I readed it in a a weekend with a lot of Colombian coffee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2002

    Enjoyable!!!

    This book is a must have if you are a fan of García Márquez. You can tell he enjoyed writing his story, and therefore, you enjoy reading it. It is full of fascinating details about his life,his studies, his job experiences early in his life, as well as important facts of the country at that particular time. In conclusion: RICH!! Buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Real life stranger than fiction !!!

    I just finished reading it and I already want more. Gabo takes you for a stroll through his life with Colombia's history as a background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    Amazing Adventure

    I have just finished reading it and let me tell you that is a wonderful adventure. It reveals a lot of aspects about the author's life that you could have never thougth of. I cannot wait until the second part comes out. I hope you will enjoy as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    Breathtaking

    To read EL Maestro's own guide to the direct links between the people and places, real and imagined (only vaguely distinguished) of his childhood and youth and the world of the novels and their characters, is exhilarating and enlightening. The Colonel's pension, the "real" Macondo, the "Buendía" family, the rolling of the generations and the wars that succeed one another in poor benighted Colombia...from the perspective of the man who has singlehandedly transformed a Continent´s self-perceptions...if you can´t wait for the English translation, tackle the Spanish. It´s all in the cadences...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    MAGNIFICO!!!

    Me ha resultado supremamente revelador el que el autor nos lleve de la mano por su memoria fantástica, y nos muestre sus recuerdos y sus historias, del modo que sólo el puede hacerlo. La identidad de muchos de sus personajes, que le era adjudicada, erróneamente, a amigos suyos e incluso a familiares, en este libro, deja translucir todos los secretos de los personajes auténticos en los que se basó para crear a los míticos Macondianos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2