Customer Reviews for

The Vixen Diaries

Average Rating 2
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Give her a chance

I have read the Confessions book and almost done with the Vixen Diaries. Yes, I will admit there is a bit of redundance throughout the book about her cars, home, and wealth but we have to try to step into her shoes for a moment. For those who read the book for more th...
I have read the Confessions book and almost done with the Vixen Diaries. Yes, I will admit there is a bit of redundance throughout the book about her cars, home, and wealth but we have to try to step into her shoes for a moment. For those who read the book for more than just juicy gossip about the entertainment industry like myself would have read about the horrible life this woman had growing up. If I want juicy gossip I will read the tabloid, or better yet, talk to someone I call my friend, but to make all of these negative comments about the woman for really no reason is really un-called for. She is an eloquent writer and she does have a gift and I don't know about anyone else, but when you truly begin to realize what your talent/gift is in life you get excited. You can't help but to brag sometime about what GOD gave you and especially if you're not used to having anything in the first place. My main thing is, through all of the negativity I've seen posted on this site about this book, why did you naysayers go into reading this book with eyes closed looking for 'surface literature'. If she is ever going to evolve as a woman and a responsible mother and role model for her child she has to, at some point, write about more than meaningless and juicy experiences and that's what she did in her second book. We all have to grow up sometime and her time was with the second book. She has something to prove and I think she's going in the right direction. Proving that she can write about things other than her past permiscuous behavior. I think anyone should at the very least respect her for that.

posted by Anonymous on December 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

VIXEN WHO???

This book was a waste of money. She built so much hype around the book and it deflated as I turned each page. The most exciting part about the book was the first chapter and that was about it. The book resembled her life as what it is now, no direction what-so-ever. ...
This book was a waste of money. She built so much hype around the book and it deflated as I turned each page. The most exciting part about the book was the first chapter and that was about it. The book resembled her life as what it is now, no direction what-so-ever. She needs to stop running away from the fact that what made her "famous" (i use the term very loosely) is bed hopping and knob slobbing, that's what got her "in" if you will. If she wants to play the role of someone who has learned from their mistakes of their past, then miss honey act like it! Let it show in the context of the pages we read because that is your platform. No one is checking for her in any other way. You are not the only chick who can do things with her mouth! You have got to come harder than that Miss Karrine. The book was a snore and so is she. One thing I will say that is a kudo to her, she did make $ and established her own financial security, at what cost she paid to get it...left to be desired :(

posted by MsStarStatus on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    VIXEN WHO???

    This book was a waste of money. She built so much hype around the book and it deflated as I turned each page. The most exciting part about the book was the first chapter and that was about it. The book resembled her life as what it is now, no direction what-so-ever. She needs to stop running away from the fact that what made her "famous" (i use the term very loosely) is bed hopping and knob slobbing, that's what got her "in" if you will. If she wants to play the role of someone who has learned from their mistakes of their past, then miss honey act like it! Let it show in the context of the pages we read because that is your platform. No one is checking for her in any other way. You are not the only chick who can do things with her mouth! You have got to come harder than that Miss Karrine. The book was a snore and so is she. One thing I will say that is a kudo to her, she did make $ and established her own financial security, at what cost she paid to get it...left to be desired :(

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Too Repetetive

    Ms. Steffans' second book would have been good if she didn't have such an over inflated sense of her own fame. This woman is so stuck on herself it's pathetic. Every other page was about how she was a bigger celebrity then this person and how that person was jocking her. I became increasingly irritated with her constant mention of how successful she was and how much money she has and how famous she is. I really hope she gets a reality check and soon. Honey, you may have money now but you are still nothing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Boring

    I will rather die than read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    If you need to read it, check it out at your local library.

    Don't waste your money. Relegated to her interaction with B list celebrities and young, unsuspecting boys this is a total waste of time. If she doesn't up the ante she's going to be working for a living again. What a hot mess!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    Sister need Help

    I would like to say that this book wasn't what I expected. I wanted to hear some real gossip. If I wanted to hear about Bobby Brown all I had to do was turn on the news. Karrine talked about being a changed person and she is still doing the same thing that she talked about in her first book. Man after man over and over again. Get one man and leave the others alone she will never have a man to love her for who she is because of what she is doing. I pray that her son don't grow up to be like her. When you change you change for better but she is still this messed up woman she was in the first book and she wrote this book because her men stop giving her money. Well there is only one thing to do about that and that is get a real JOB because if she writes another book this sister won't buy it because if you have something to say tell it all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    This book sucked

    At first I thought some of the reviewers were being really harsh, but this really was a dull, self-serving, waste of paper. How can you bill this book as the sequel to confessions. Maybe it was presumptuous of me to expect something a little more interesting. I don't see who thought this was print worthy. I honestly feel like I've been duped out of my money. I wish I could give it negative stars. Don't buy this book. You're really going to be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Not worth the read

    I enjoyed her first book very much but this one wad not up to par at all. Save your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Delusional

    This woman is clearly not in touch with reality. Dont waste a penny on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    This is not a buy

    Let me just begin by saying that i WAS a huge Karrine Steffans fan, you couldnt pay me to say anything wrong or against her, leaving only pure understanding as an option. But after reading this last book, i discredit Karrine a little bit due to her uppity behavior constant gluttony of her so called fame. Idk, i guess the whole time i was reading it i imagined her w her nose stuck up. I cant believe i spent this much money to read such bullcrap. I coulve went to walmart and gt a better book than that with $3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Poorly Written - waste of time

    Rather than giving us a book chock-full of compliments to yourself, why not give us a fun read like "Confessions"? The entire book consists of her talking about how wonderful she is, and how she's all that... Putting aside my personal opinion on how she became famous in the first place was easy when I read the first book, because it was a fun book. This one was virtually unreadable for me... I was skipping over paragraphs and sentences here and there, then skipping entire pages...
    How may times can you listen to a person talk about how great they are, how famous they are, etc...
    Here's a novel idea: instead of repeatedly telling us how great you are, why don't you focus on writing a better book and let your audience find that out for themselves?
    I actually felt sorry for people she mentioned in the book, because it was so obvious she was exploiting them... She may be a lot of things, but a writer is not one of them.
    Not a book I would recommend...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    dont waste your money

    this book is extremely boring. I find myself struggling just to finish it. Quite frankly i dont think ill waste anymore of my time with this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    Thankful for the public library

    The book had no direction and is poorly written... need I say more. Thank goodness for public libraries since I didn't have to waste my money, only my time. On second thought .. I wish I could get those hours back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    the worst book ever

    I don¿t usually write reviews and when I do I follow the saying ¿if you have nothing nice to say don¿t say anything at all¿ but this book is just that bad. I wouldn¿t want anybody wasting his or her hard earned money on this sorry reason for a book. First of all the writing is terrible, or did she really believe that people bought her first book because it was an exceptional piece of literature. She writes on a third grade level. Her story has no beginning, no middle and no end. She calls herself a best selling author, somewhere out there Dan Brown and J. K. Rowling 'true authors, you know ones that can write' are cringing because they are authors as well and probably would not want to be associated with her. The story is not interesting all she does in the book is try to make herself look good by putting everybody else down. She talks about all her success, she is SO repetitive, and the whole book could have been written in four pages. SHE CAN¿T WRITE. This book does not talk about her life as in the first book it talks about how happy she is and how successful she is 'BORING'. I did not buy this book I borrowed it from the library just to see if it was as bad as the reviews say, and it was. So piece of advise save yourself the trouble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    What a big waste of ink

    A friend passed on this book to me, I am so glad I didn't waste my money on such gabbage. It seems to me in the book she is basically calling everyone who purchased her first book fools because it seems that we made her rich and popular and now all she is doing in this book is rubbing it in our face I was a sucker once but not a second time. I am sorry the same way she got the money quick it is the same way she will loose it quick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    what a boring book

    right now im reading the book, she is a looney, that needs help, she needs to go back to just being superhead thats all she will ever be i want to see how she falls flat on her face with her so called fam, i would love to write a book about her, i broke my neck to get this book and i hate it, i love the 1st book and was on her side now she could get thrown in my trash can like the trash she is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Big Dissappointment

    This Book Was Horrible, Poorly written and on top of that it was extremely boring and it put me to sleep..I couldn't even finish the book.. I just gave it to one of my friends and when she started reading she didn't want to finish it either...So I just sold it on the street...Ladies and Gentlemens don't waste your money on such garbage, no matter how much it is...TRUST ME....I KNOW!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    A waste of my time and money...

    I read this book in one day and was very mad at myself for wasting my time reading and spending my money on it. I'd rather accept her first book as her only book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    THE VIXEN DIARIES will disappoint

    WOW girlfriend is still messed up. That therapist shes seeing should be fired. Karrine your not a celebrity, your not a New York times best selling author, your not famous. Your well known now for writing about your sex life with famous artist, athletes and actors. That book sold due to the public wanting to hear the dirt on people we see and hear and thats why it made the New York Times best seller list. What book telling gossip like this wouldnt. True authors write real books, like fictional stories they have created that hold the reader.You seem really full of yourself for no good reason other than you wrote a book that hit the BEST SELLERS LIST, huge difference from being a real author. I thought she would have learned alot and grown as a person, but I see the same patterns just that shes playing with her own money now. Socialite HAHA, you seem caught up in the money and the material items. Very boring and repetitive. I felt I was reading the same passages over and over again. wrong title, its deceiving to get you to purchase it. Karrine are you game enough to write a real book or will your next one tell more secrets to make the list again because this one shouldnt. I will be returning mine for a refund.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    A bored reader!

    This book really lets you know how out of touch with reality this poor girl is. I should have just stopped at her first book. Unfortunately I have now read this published tragedy which I am extremely let down by, it has also confirmed my theory that she would be a one hit wonder. I really wish I hadn't purchased this book. I urged all my reading friends to not waste their money. I have passed my copy around and will continue to every soul that expresses any intention on getting this mess. I hope she saved her money from the first book, because this one won't take her far. All thumbs down...mine, and everybody I have leant this book to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    I HATE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book sucks!!!! it is NOTHING like the first. Save your money people. She talks nothing about what we are dying to hear, its all about her life, interviews and what she's doing now. No one cares about you Karrine- we want to hear about everyone else!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2