Customer Reviews for

The Vixen Diaries

Average Rating 2
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Give her a chance

I have read the Confessions book and almost done with the Vixen Diaries. Yes, I will admit there is a bit of redundance throughout the book about her cars, home, and wealth but we have to try to step into her shoes for a moment. For those who read the book for more th...
I have read the Confessions book and almost done with the Vixen Diaries. Yes, I will admit there is a bit of redundance throughout the book about her cars, home, and wealth but we have to try to step into her shoes for a moment. For those who read the book for more than just juicy gossip about the entertainment industry like myself would have read about the horrible life this woman had growing up. If I want juicy gossip I will read the tabloid, or better yet, talk to someone I call my friend, but to make all of these negative comments about the woman for really no reason is really un-called for. She is an eloquent writer and she does have a gift and I don't know about anyone else, but when you truly begin to realize what your talent/gift is in life you get excited. You can't help but to brag sometime about what GOD gave you and especially if you're not used to having anything in the first place. My main thing is, through all of the negativity I've seen posted on this site about this book, why did you naysayers go into reading this book with eyes closed looking for 'surface literature'. If she is ever going to evolve as a woman and a responsible mother and role model for her child she has to, at some point, write about more than meaningless and juicy experiences and that's what she did in her second book. We all have to grow up sometime and her time was with the second book. She has something to prove and I think she's going in the right direction. Proving that she can write about things other than her past permiscuous behavior. I think anyone should at the very least respect her for that.

posted by Anonymous on December 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

VIXEN WHO???

This book was a waste of money. She built so much hype around the book and it deflated as I turned each page. The most exciting part about the book was the first chapter and that was about it. The book resembled her life as what it is now, no direction what-so-ever. ...
This book was a waste of money. She built so much hype around the book and it deflated as I turned each page. The most exciting part about the book was the first chapter and that was about it. The book resembled her life as what it is now, no direction what-so-ever. She needs to stop running away from the fact that what made her "famous" (i use the term very loosely) is bed hopping and knob slobbing, that's what got her "in" if you will. If she wants to play the role of someone who has learned from their mistakes of their past, then miss honey act like it! Let it show in the context of the pages we read because that is your platform. No one is checking for her in any other way. You are not the only chick who can do things with her mouth! You have got to come harder than that Miss Karrine. The book was a snore and so is she. One thing I will say that is a kudo to her, she did make $ and established her own financial security, at what cost she paid to get it...left to be desired :(

posted by MsStarStatus on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    NOT GROWING UP

    Very disappointed in the book, she contradicts herself without the whole book she is supppose to be grown up from the last book but is not the only thing is that she has her own money and does not have to depend on anyone. Speaks a lot about her wealth, cars, and home which i am very happy for her, and that she is also spending more time with son.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Very dissapointed

    Wow...having read the first book and feeling deeply disgusted with women in general...I thought wow maby in this next edition she has turned her life around. Sadly this is not the case. She is still an unnattentive aweful mother who allows herself to be absent all the time, or parading random drug addicted men in and out of her sons home....all in the name of a dollar. She talks about empowering women? OMG..wow please don't speak for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Go-sip trash

    I give her credit for making it out of the whole that she was in, but writting books like this is a waste. She should be writting to better young women from going down the road that she took.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    MS NEWYUKA

    This book was awful i recommend no one waste their time on this book. I really didnt know where karrine was going with the story , the same as the last book, nothing new karrine is bored and so am i.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    HATED IT!

    I am so sorry that I wasted by money on this book. I am so disappointed. I really thought it would be great. I loved the first book it kept me interested. This book is so dumb. She thinks she has arrived for selling a book about her having sex with everyones man. Girl please. Go back to school and be a mother to your son. If they publish your next book make it more interesting and I might check it out from the library. I can't spend another dime on this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Major Disappointment

    What a total bummer!It's a waste of money.It was so boring,I started falling asleep while reading it. She's a confused woman.Thinking everyone is hating on her.She's a best seller because she slept with everyone whose anyone,& wrote a book about it.Not because she has talent for writing.The proof is in this boring book.All she does is repeats herself.Don't waste your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Save your cash!!!

    The first book from Ms. Stephans was a page turner. I finished Confessions in two days. This book has been a huge disappointment. It started with a bang and that's about it. I bought it over a month ago and I'm still only half way through it. I've been trying to force myself to read it. That's how bad it is. The first book had tons of juicy facts about your fave celebs and interesting things that happened in her life. In this book, she rattles on and on and on about how she's a huge celebrity now that she's had a best selling book. And she thinks that everyone is jealous of her 'celebrity.' I heard that she has a three book deal. That means that we can expect one more from her. I don't think I'll be buying that one. I also hope that she has saved some money because I predict that there will be rainy days ahead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    Don't buy it!

    This book was boring. I kept waiting for something juicy to happen and it never did. She is writing the book like it's a 'self help' book and it's not!! If you haven't purchased the book yet, don't!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Save Your Money and Don't Buy This Book

    This book was very, very boring and disappointing. Although I thoroughly enjoyed reading 'Confessions', 'Vixen Diaries' does not even measure up to Confessions. She dishes no juicy information, and constantly talks about herself and life after Confessions. She acts as if she is a star because of being a NY Times Best Seller, when in fact, its because of the news she dished out as a 'groupie'. And I got so tired of her professing her love for Bill Maher - she acts like she is running some campaign as much as she references him. I even skipped some chapters of the book, and scanned pages because it was just so boring. I hope Ms. Steffans continue to live a positive life style, but I cannot honestly promote this book. Save your money!! Its not worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    VERY VERY VERY DISAPPOINTING...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    Not a good comeback

    This book was somewhat disappointing but I should have known because there wasn't much talk about it. Karrine is very repetitive in this book and it doesn't deliver the juicy details that everyone was looking for. She maintains throughout the book that she's a better person after Confessions however, I think she's still a lost soul. She's searching for something and is not happy with who she is and has become. I agree with other reviewers that this book was not what we were expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Not anything like the last one.

    This was not the book that I expected it to be. It wasnt a tell-all like the last one. Its about her life as a celebrity. I personally couldn't relate to her or her experiences in this book. I am glad that she made a change in her life and all that, but that is not what I bought this book for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    it isnt what its hyped up to be

    very boring book nothing compared to the first book which was a page turner. all she talked about in this book was bill bill bill.she should have named the book life after confessions.oh well im returning my book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    DO NOT BUY

    If your looking for some juicy dirt, dont buy this book. Its filled up of her life w/bobby brown and ray j. Uh that was last book. And the people she did talk about were annonymous. DO NOT be fooled. If you liked the last one this one will be disappointing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    Video What

    I just got finish reading the book and compared to confession it sucked, she does not,leaving you wanting more like the first time around she makes u want your money back. This books talks more abouut her as a person her daily activites ,not the Vixen I came to Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    Save your money. Do not buy

    If your looking for details about her relations with celbrities, the first book was better. This book was such a disappointment. All she talks about is her life after writing Confessions and how she is a celebrity now. I couldn't put the first book down and read it in a night. Vixen Diaries bored me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1