Customer Reviews for

Vlad: The Last Confession

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Vlad: Anti-hero of His Time

    How to make Dracula, or Vlad the Impaler, into an interesting and even sometimes~~dare I say~~sympathetic character? C.C. Humphreys has managed to do that, at least for me.

    That the known facts of Vlad's life have provided the skeleton (pun unintended) of the story makes the effort all the more interesting. And riveting.

    The culmination of the three witnesses who are presenting their testimony in the present to the past life of Vlad ends up being the biggest and most successful of the many surprises in the novel. No spoilers here, but the end is truly terrific.

    All in all, I highly recommend this take on Vlad the Impaler, true anti-hero.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Excellent book

    The characters are believable and the plot engaging. It connects a frequently used, but ill known historical figure and weaves an enchanging story about him utilizing sharp wit and good storytelling against a historically accurate background. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    A new take on an old literary friend.

    Stepping back five centuries Saltspring Island resident C.C. Humphreys uses a different approach by taking a historical figure shrouded in myth and legend and imagines what the life of the real person might have been in Vlad - The Last Confession. Within these pages is an epic novel that gathers historical data and casts Vlad Dracul--the real Dracula--as the reviled impaler to his enemies, the Dragon's Son to his people and ultimately the hero of his homeland. This richly textured narrative, as told by those who knew him best (remember, this is fiction), casts the cartoonish figure of Stoker's novel in an entirely different light. It brilliantly brings into sharp focus the twists of fate, political and theological machinations and external forces that may have driven Vlad to the intense and excruciating means so vividly depicted by Humphreys. The rich characterizations and exquisite eye for detail make this an epic read, though not for the faint of heart. As Vlad Dracul learned the hard way in the 15th century, 'we torture so that we will not be tortured'.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    very good read

    The author did a great job telling a story with many layers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Excellent

    Highly recommend. Not a dull moment.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Vlad

    * slides tounge in*

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Snow

    *sighs*

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Why 2.99 on Amazon and 9.99 here?

    My headline says it all.... Dont want to hurt the rating, just want to understand.

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Amazing read

    Would highly recommend!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Vlad

    An interesting look at the life of Vlad before the whole Dracula legend we all know so well. It was good but not great and I read it quickly but it lagged a little in the middle and lacked an unknown element that would have made it a new and great addition to the Dracula legend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Highly recommended for historial fans!

    I have always been fascinated with the story of Vlad Dracula; this historical fiction about him is amazing! I found it very hard to put down and read it in a few days, although it was a nice, long book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Wow!!!!

    This was simply superb! To turn a reviled symbol of naked evil into a sympathetic, devoted ruler, committed Christian, tireless Crusader and faithful friend is a work of pure Genius. One of the best things I've read this decade!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Readable Novel of Vlad the Man

    A highly readable book about Vlad the man; not Dracula.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Suprisingly good read. An interesting take with a few surprises.

    Suprisingly good read. An interesting take with a few surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2