Customer Reviews for

A Voice in the Box: My Life in Radio

Average Rating 3.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Hi

    Gian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    NPR

    First few chapters good, but typical of NPR radio people, he showed his liberal bias.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    A thoughtful perspective on radio broadcasting

    Although Bob Edwards was born the year I graduated high school his story brought back memories of some good, and not so good, days. The intrigue of National Public Radio reminds me of the turf-protection and heavy-handed management found in some government offices. Although at times his story seems self serving, Mr. Edwards gives credit where credit is due. This autobiography is a must read for anyone who aspires to radio journalism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You must read

    To see the title and the picture your thinking oh well hmm maybe...but it is a well written book in my view I enjoyed it. The inside look of something that is such a big part of our lives is something that I always liked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    If you are an NPR fan you will love this book

    Bob writes in a conversational style. An easy read, but he does touch on some controversial areas. if you are an NPR fan you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Disillusioned

    I am a listener of NPR radio for many years and remember when Bob Edwards left. I guess I didn't pay much attention as I thought he had retired. He has a scratchy quality to his voice which made me envision an older gentleman who was non-judgemental and delivered the news daily. Boy was I surprised when I read this book! Not only was he younger than I thought, but very opinionated and bitter. His stories were not well written and left us asking for more, especially the story about the taxi driver who died while driving Mr. Edwards. So whatever did happen? Why tell us and then not finish the story?

    I think I was better off with my kindly gentleman image. I should have known when Sirius Radio gave it out for free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Would love to read it...

    This book was given to me in electronic format, because I am an XM Radio subscriber. Alas, Barnes and Noble does not support ePub format, so I am not able to read it on my PocketBookPro902.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    An enjoyable read

    Upfront, I'm biased. I have so much respect and admiration for what Bob Edwards has accomplished that I couldn't find fault with him or his book even if it weren't well written. But, it is well written, enjoyable to read and fills in a lot of the gaps and questions about what went on when he left NPR (temporarilly).
    Mr. Edwards to me is what i can only imagine my parents and grandparents thought of Ed Morrow, Douglas Edwards and all of the war correspondents that made radio the premier medium for news.
    In our 24/7 internet news hype, I am very concerned that people like Bob Edwards are someone to enjoy for now, because they unlikely won't be replaced.
    The book reads quickly and often makes you smile, because Bob Edwards and I are about the same age and many of his comments and observations brought back memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    I checked it out and was glad I did. You should too.

    The man had a very interesting life. Easy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    A great read!

    It was very enjoyable to read what life was like during the radio days. The author has a great sense of humor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Very Good Read!

    I enjoyed this peek inside the life of a radio personality. The book is well written, well proofed, and an entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    I really enjoyed reading A Voice in the Box. I have been a fan of Bob Edwards for many, many years. His perspective on the beginnings of public radio and his career in radio were thought provoking. I was glad to read about his side of the story regarding his departure from NPR and Morning Edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    entertaining

    Too bad we get so little impartial reporting on TV now--for that you can only depend on public broadcasting, and not always. Edwards points out even in PBS only radio was really "independent" in its thinking and reporting. The events of his personal life make interesting reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    A hollow self serving diatribe...

    Mostly empty ramblings, each ending in "How great I art..." This book was worth every penny I paid for it...nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    A folksy and simple narrative of the times, well done.

    Not knowing the writer allowed me to learn more of this time of radio. Most enjoyed the personalities and the time of the nation as to the many events during this period. It is a well put together piece with some minor flaws but a reading experience. Excellent for anyone wanting to learn about the radio business though a large part of it is now dated as the world has moved on to other electronic miracles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended to public radio followers.

    Interesting autobiography, dwelling more on work-related than personal matters. One might expect that of a dedicated journalist, and Bob Edwards has clearly devoted all of his adult life to his profession, or calling actually, far more than anything or anyone else. Callings earn that attribution because often they require pretty much 24-7 devotion. This leads to a book that gives you a lot of information regarding news radio operations quite directly and not a lot about Bob Edwards the man other than indirectly. If this was his intent, he has succeeded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    A wonderful memoir

    Like Bob Edwards, I wanted a career in radio. I don't have what it takes, and I'm so glad this man does. I really enjoyed reading the stories about the good times and the bad. And I'm glad he's still on my XM radio. They'll have to pry this wonderful broadcast artist out of my cold dead ears. Thanks for the memories, Bob!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Disappointing

    I agree with the other reader that this was a very self-serving book. While tooting his own horn he manages to get in his left-wing zingers at the "other side" whenever possible. The real corker was when he referred to 9/11 as "some planes hit some buildings" and that it was merely an event that delayed his XM debut and not the national tragedy it really was. I'm glad this was a free book - I would have certainly regretted spending money on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    I believe that those who have listened to Mr. Edwards will get the most of the book and those who enjoy radio history.

    As a fan of both All Things Considered and Morning Edition when I was driving into work or home during those hours a few years ago I was most interested in reading this book. I heard the man speaking on NPR during that time and it was a great way to both pass the during my hours drive into and from work. I believe that those who have listened to Mr. Edwards will get the most of the book and those who enjoy radio history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    DULL

    Not what I expected, dull reading and a bit self-indulgent. I hoped for better from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3