Customer Reviews for

A Voice in the Wind

Average Rating 5
( 242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

One of my All Time Favorites

So, I won't really go into the story line, I'll just say that this book is worth reading. The ending is touching... you should probably have the 2nd book available so you're not left stranded. That is... if you enjoy this book. "A Voice in the Wind" is my favorite of th...
So, I won't really go into the story line, I'll just say that this book is worth reading. The ending is touching... you should probably have the 2nd book available so you're not left stranded. That is... if you enjoy this book. "A Voice in the Wind" is my favorite of the trilogy. I wish I was a woman like Hadassah!

It's worth reading and I recommend it to lots of people who I know love books :)

posted by Acie on November 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good

Well i thought the first part was immensly boring. Youd have to know a lot about christianity and what happened to people with faith nack then to understand and like this book. As much as i thought i wouldnt....i did purchase the second book because truly the end is ama...
Well i thought the first part was immensly boring. Youd have to know a lot about christianity and what happened to people with faith nack then to understand and like this book. As much as i thought i wouldnt....i did purchase the second book because truly the end is amazing

posted by 7948328 on August 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my All Time Favorites

    So, I won't really go into the story line, I'll just say that this book is worth reading. The ending is touching... you should probably have the 2nd book available so you're not left stranded. That is... if you enjoy this book. "A Voice in the Wind" is my favorite of the trilogy. I wish I was a woman like Hadassah!

    It's worth reading and I recommend it to lots of people who I know love books :)

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Voice in the Wind

    While this is a romance, it is written in such a way that you can understand better what it must have been like to follow Jesus just years after He left the earth if you never actually met Him. It is the first in a series of 3. I have given the series as gifts to many people with positive feedback always. It starts out a little "manly" (bloody) but that is very important to the whole story. It is excellent.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    I wish all Christian Fiction was this good...

    I could not put this book down. I can't remember when a character in a book grabbed me the way Haddasah's character did. As a Christian I came away with a new desire to have a servant's heart. Most Christian fiction I have read in the past lacked literary merit and was mostly fluff. However, Rivers weaves an intense story line with life like characters. I just finished An Echo in the Darkness as well and it was fabulous, too.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite

    I'm so happy this is finally available for my nook! This is hands-down one of my favorite novels of all time. Francine Rivers brings ancient Rome and all of its culture and customs to life through the story of Hadassah, a young Jewish girl sold into slavery after the destruction of her beloved Jerusalem and the deaths of her entire family. Through her harrowing journey from Jerusalem to Rome, and even into her new life as a slave to a prosperous Roman family, Hadassah never loses her faith in God, and her actions have tremendous consequences - both good and bad. This novel has everything from suspense and action to drama and romance - all while reflecting the grace and the redeeming love of God. When you are finished, you will wish you had the faith of Hadassah and you'll be ready to start the second book in the series - An Echo in the Darkness.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    A Voice in the Wind

    All I can say is this is the most AMAZING trilogy I have ever read. Hadassah stays in my heart daily and it's been a year since I read this!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    EPIC

    No kidding. If you read this book and the other two, you will not be able to remain uneffected. This series was a life changer for me. It makes you view God, Christianity, and sin in a different light. I finished thus book with an intense gratitude towards not only Ms. Rivers for writing this complicated, sweeping epic, but also thankfulness for my own religious freedom. I have a greater understanding of and repect for Christian martyrs. I do not believe you will be able to read this story witghout really looking yourself in the mirror and asking yourself some tough questions - but that is the kind of literature of legends, isnt it? Well, Ms Rivers is a legend to me and her talent is unsurpassed. You will find action, history, romance, and so much more in this story of a young, innocent slave girl and her journey to love her enemies and hold tighter to God and know him. This series made me agonize, cry, and squeal with triumph. Christian fiction doesnt get better than this. Please read this book. Dont be daunted by the length ¿ you will be so glad you took the time. I promise.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    I am closer to God because of this trilogy!

    I know that sounds overstated and i would never have thought it possible before reading mark of the lion books but it is true. I FEEL LIKE I KNOW GOD NOW IN A WAY I NEVER DID BEFOREI.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Awesome series that inspires a desire for Godliness!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Nice fictional account of the early Christian church

    Francine Rivers was just beginning her career as a Christian fiction writer. She got a few things wrong in this account, and made some assumptions that she changed later in her writing. Overall a solid read. The character of Hadassah may seem a little too good (we never see her sinful failings as we see those of the folks around her). The evil of Rome, though pretty wicked in this portrayal, didn't even evoke the half of it. This was a tricky time for the church, and our Lord held it in the palm of his hands.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    highly recommended

    Francine Rivers is my favorite! The Mark of the Lion series books I have read a few times. That is how great they are!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Good

    Well i thought the first part was immensly boring. Youd have to know a lot about christianity and what happened to people with faith nack then to understand and like this book. As much as i thought i wouldnt....i did purchase the second book because truly the end is amazing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Humbling

    I have read the series twice in the past 10 years and both times were amazing. I am sure I will read them again in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Anonymous

    Love this series. Once I started them I could not stop. Would recommend to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Fantastic!

    This is my all time favorite book. The begining was a bit slow, but it lays the foundation for a story of a girl who becomes the lowest of the low and still trusts the one true God. It makes me want to be a better person and gives you perspective. Learning what life was like for early Christians where honesty about your beliefs could mean abandonment, censure, or even death.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!

    I absolutely loved this book! Without a doubt it is the best chtistian fiction book I have ever read. It was amazing and it kept me interested the whole time!! But what i loved most was the impact this book made and I loved the unexpected ending and the epilogue that foreshadows the following events!!!!!! It was a very good book!!! I recommend this book to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Amazing series!

    These books are amazing! I love how Francine portrays the characters in a realistic way and makes you feel like you're actually there. You will fall in love with Hadassah like I did and learn more about God

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Hooked!

    Inspiring! Makes you really want to become a true "Proverbs 31" woman of God! The characters are so relatable in many different ways. You seriously must read these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    I loved this book.

    Intersting from the starts, u will b inthralled by a young Christian s story in roman times. I never ever realized i was reading til i had to stop because the writing was so vivid and alive. I used to reelly hate the roman times, simply cuz i thought it was boring, but this story is from a different point of view. I learned lots of old vocab and am mad at myself cuz i had to wait a week for the library to open again to get the next book and not looking for it as a nook book!

    K.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Best series ever!

    I absolutely loved this series ! It starts off a bit slow, but once you get into it it iz completely worth. I laughed, cried and learned so much!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Best book series

    This book is absolutely amazing. I could not stop reading it! Francine Rivers is an amazing author. The story is great; it kept me guessing the whole way through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13