Customer Reviews for

The Voice of the Night

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!!!

This was my first Dean Koontz book that I read, and that was three years ago. Now I've read Fear Nothing, Seize the Night, The Bad Place, False Memory, etc. and I loved them all. But I didn't love them all as much as this book - this book was just plain awesome. It was ...
This was my first Dean Koontz book that I read, and that was three years ago. Now I've read Fear Nothing, Seize the Night, The Bad Place, False Memory, etc. and I loved them all. But I didn't love them all as much as this book - this book was just plain awesome. It was never wordy like some of his are and I just LOVED it. It was scary, violent, readable - just great!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 27, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Written for 6th graders!!

AWFUL!!! Words cannot express how terrible this book is. First of all, I had to keep checking to make sure I wasn't reading a young adult book because this sounds like it was written to be read by 5th or 6th graders!! Aside from the few sexual references (which add abso...
AWFUL!!! Words cannot express how terrible this book is. First of all, I had to keep checking to make sure I wasn't reading a young adult book because this sounds like it was written to be read by 5th or 6th graders!! Aside from the few sexual references (which add absolutely NOTHING to the plot), I would give this to a 6th grade student to read. The characters are completely one-dimensional and lack depth of any sort. The plot is something you would read in the children's "Goosebumps" series. The sub-plots in the story disappear and are never addressed at the end of the novel! It is like when a little kid writes a story and has everyone blow up at the end because they don't know how to end it! It's not scary, it's actually comical how bad the writing is. The only scary part was thinking that someone actually thought this would be thought-provoking to an adult. This was my first Dean Koontz book and I have heard some good things about his books but I don't think I would pick up another one. If you like smart reads, forget this book, I felt dumber after reading it.

posted by PiccoultFan on July 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Good book

    One of the first Koontz books I read. It made me a fan forever!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Written for 6th graders!!

    AWFUL!!! Words cannot express how terrible this book is. First of all, I had to keep checking to make sure I wasn't reading a young adult book because this sounds like it was written to be read by 5th or 6th graders!! Aside from the few sexual references (which add absolutely NOTHING to the plot), I would give this to a 6th grade student to read. The characters are completely one-dimensional and lack depth of any sort. The plot is something you would read in the children's "Goosebumps" series. The sub-plots in the story disappear and are never addressed at the end of the novel! It is like when a little kid writes a story and has everyone blow up at the end because they don't know how to end it! It's not scary, it's actually comical how bad the writing is. The only scary part was thinking that someone actually thought this would be thought-provoking to an adult. This was my first Dean Koontz book and I have heard some good things about his books but I don't think I would pick up another one. If you like smart reads, forget this book, I felt dumber after reading it.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    GREAT!!!!!!!!

    The Voices of the Night by Dean Koontz This book is filled with so much suspense and intensity that you¿ll never want to put it down. Dean Koontz is an outstanding author that is well known for his spine chillers such as: Demon Seed, Midnight, Night chills, etc. This book deserves five stars for its roller coaster of emotion and adrenaline rush of fear. This book was a hard one to put down. In the beginning, the book starts off friendly with two boys, Roy and Colin, who are wondering how to spend the rest of their summer. But the book takes a big turn as Colin finds out that Roy is fascinated by death. Colin doubts Roy¿s stories of him killing animals and even people. He soon find out every thing is no longer a joke. Colin tries to come up with a plan to stop Roy, but does it work? I would recommend this for those who love thrillers. Would not recommend this book for those who are preteens or children because of the vulgar use of language. Jazmyne Bailey Waukegan High School `09

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Excellent!!!

    This was my first Dean Koontz book that I read, and that was three years ago. Now I've read Fear Nothing, Seize the Night, The Bad Place, False Memory, etc. and I loved them all. But I didn't love them all as much as this book - this book was just plain awesome. It was never wordy like some of his are and I just LOVED it. It was scary, violent, readable - just great!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Wonderful

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story of a childhood gone wrong.

    I really enjoyed reading "The Voice of the Night." It kept my interest from page one. The characters were fun to imagine and the story was memorable. Some good moments, some bad...but a great story. I recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    First Book!

    The first book I have read on my own without school, this tells an amazing story of friends who turn on each other guarentee it will have you reading chapter after chapter of greatness!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    I loved it!!!

    There are some parts in here that actually make me feel like I am the character. I can feel the emotions running through his head and everything. I have never experienced that with a book before. I loved it. Good job again Dean Koontz. I recommend this to anyone. You will feel this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    first dean koontz novel i read, but has not been the last

    i picked this book up and let me say that i read it in a day! it just takes you to places you hope that you will never go or see in your lifetime... i have read all of his books since

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    Powerful

    Before the columbine shootings there was the 'voice of the night'. This was the first novel I ever read in my life and afterwards I've read many books, but I'll never forget this one. It truly gets into the minds of American teenagers in a way that no other novel has before it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2000

    I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!!!

    It was the first book i'd ever really cared to read and i just couldn't put it down. i loved the relationship between the two friends. It's a good book for anyone, for a young child or an elderly adult you'll just love it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2000

    What a book!

    This was an excellent book. It started with page one and it never stopped. I loved the theme between two friends, one being good and the other being evil. I would highly recommend this to anyone of all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2000

    It's the bomb!

    The voice of the night was a chilling tale that kept me on the edge of my seat all the way through. I could not put this book down. I reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys an enthralling book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    A GREAT BOOK!

    This book was one of the many books i have by Koontz...and it was probably the best one too! I couldnt put the book down! I didn't want it to end...at some points in the story i actually felt i was there! This is a GRRRRRRREAT book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Left hanging

    Another story that the character development were weak. The final chapter was predictable. This is another story in which the conclusion left the reader hanging.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Quick read...

    Interesting but was not captivating. Too much time wasted on the girlfriend talking about how she was not pretty and her body was not perfect blah blah blah...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3