Customer Reviews for

The Voice on the Radio

Average Rating 4.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

love it

i love this book and this series i would recomend this series to who ever likes mystery and surprises! :)

posted by 7832230 on February 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

good

good

posted by 17510599 on April 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    love it

    i love this book and this series i would recomend this series to who ever likes mystery and surprises! :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Great Series!!!

    This book is the 3 in the janie johnson series. These books r definatly a must read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Loovveee this book !

    But janie should love her real new jersey parents insyead og the johnsons ! I loveee this book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Book

    Awsome book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    good book

    good book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    A Great Recommend

    This was a great follower.I loved it.I recommend this book 2 people who like mysterys,a kid that like their so called"KIDDNAPPED PARENTS",and a kid that is in love.This kid is Janie Johnson.A kid that is becoming trouble;that needs help from her parents,the one that she love's(Reeve) help.The real questionS are:Weich parents does she need help from?Why did Reeve do what he did and not stop himself?Read 2 find out those qusetions and the mstery behind this storyline.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    GREAT FOLLOW UP....

    GREAT FOLLOW UP... to "Face on the Milk Carton & What ever happened to Janie". I want to KILL REEVE....But, I understand why he did it. I wish, Janie would have listened to all the tapes. I also feel for Janie, not knowing who to care for. Great story, as a parent my heart breaks for everyone. Can't imagine the pain.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    The Voice on the Radio (Janie Johnson Series #3)

    The Voice on the Radio is part of the Janie Johnson Series. This book along with the others are outstanding. Caroline B. Cooney is one of the best writers working today in literature for teen readers. Although I'm not a teenager, I'd have to say that her work would be enjoyed by many adults too.

    The book, from my perspective, focuses on two important themes: What is a family? and Who am I? We live in a era when the concept of what constitutes a family has changed. This book, along with the others in this series, beginning with FACE ON THE MILK CARTON, explores the idea of family and where that is in a person's life. The series also follows Janie (she's not even sure what her real name should be) in her journey to find who she is and where she belongs in her world.

    She was kidnapped a a young child and raised by another family and then as a teenager Janie discovers her biological family and must try to figure out where she belongs: with the people who raised her for a number of years or the family from whom she was taken as a child?

    The book Voice on the Radio (it could be read all by itself) is a chapter in Janie's life where her closest friend betrays her and reveals Janie's deep secret and she must deal with her friendship as well as how this seeming stab in the back hurts her. Yet ironically this thoughtless act by her best friend allows her to discover another clue in her search for her true identity.

    Janie is an interesting character and one who any teen could identify with (even adults). Nothing is predictable in this novel or even the series. Although Voice on the Radio may be read as a discrete story, I'd recommend starting with the first book and then moving through the four books in the series. Voice on the Radio is the third in the series. Five stars as one of the best stories I've read so far this year. Caroline B. Cooney is a treasure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Series!

    <3 I do really LOVE this series...and totally love Reeve still! Reeve was a total good guy, janie's rock in the 1st and 2nd books, but now he has messed up BIG...and Janie doesn't know if she can ever forgive him. It was a ok book, you have to read it to keep the series going to make it to the 4th. But I really wish Caroline B. Cooney would have put reeve's mess-up in like the second book so Janie and Reeve could be more together in the end. :-/ Or better yet, make another one!!! :-D

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Lol

    Ikr! And talking about minecraft like really? It just wow i know i love mc but just stop no 1 who wants to read this book, btw is amzing cant stop reading it, wants to know about minecratf. Otay? :3
    Love,
    Kaylee

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Stop

    I hate it when peole leave one star and say never read it. Just stop. Dont commentbif ur not going to read the book thats stupid. Its annoying for others who want to read the good or bad comments but its hard to with a bunch of peps saying never read it. I know it would be so annoying to me anywayz i loved this book



    Maddie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Great

    5 starz it was a great book i love how it left me hanging so i read the other books and the were great too u should read it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    good

    good

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    BREAKING NEWS

    Im beandip202 and know how to find diamonds on minecraft first mark the place where you spawned. Then get some stone weapons and get iron ore, at least three blocks. Then go back to your spawning place and then dig to bedrock and you will find diamonds. And the is a 12% chance you'll get emerald.NOTE: These tips only work for PE and PC.Im beandip202. Back to you Awesomekid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    BREAKING NEWS!

    We have been boggled by the creepy glitch in Minecraft. Yes, I am talking about THE HEROBRINE. But now nowhere is safe._____________________ A couple of days ago, I was peacefuly playing Minecraft on my Xbox. I was going to my mineshaft far away from my house. It was getting dark, but I had a bed. But I wanted to put my iron back in my chests at home. So I toggled the difficulty to peaceful, and I started walking. On my way there, I accedentaly placed an Iron ore block. When I mined it back, about fifty blocks away, I saw him. He glared at me with his white eyes. I started walking backwards, and he started running. It had started to rain. I sprinted home, not looking back, and barracaded the door with my Iron ore blocks. And I havent been out of my house seince. If you know anything about this madness, please report it immeadeatly. Thank you. ~Aftershock68

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    never read it

    Never read it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Great book

    It was a good but sad book. Does Reeve andJanie get back together?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    The main idea of this book is the kidnapping is long past, and t

    The main idea of this book is the kidnapping is long past, and the Johnsons and the Spring family are on the way to restoring their lives. As Janie Johnson tries to balance herself between the two families, she feels torn.
    The author’s purpose of this book is that they find themselves reading this mysterious book.
    My thesis is that the book is a very good book.
    The purpose of the review is to understand how to work a computer and to get a grade.
    Description and summary of main points
    The brief background info is that Reeve is spilling Janie’s story to get airtime. But what happens when she finds out.
    The criteria are that the book is confusing if you don’t read the first three books.
    The main points are that they call the trolley the “T”. They are in Boston. Reeve gets to work at the radio station
    Evaluation
    The critical elements are the plot: Mostly in Boston: Characters: Reeve, Derek, Visionary Assassins, Cordell, Janie, Sarah-Charlotte, Jodie, Brian, Mr. Spring, Mrs. Spring, Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Johnson, Stephen, Brendan, Vinnie, Cal, Pammy, The professor’s wife ,The professor ,Cathy, Todd, Heather, Megan, Lizzie, Mr. Shield, Mrs. Shield, Etc. Theme: Mystery.
    That this book can’t be called well until you read it for yourself.
    The evidence that the book achieves its goals is that this book is confusing if you do not read the whole series of this book it is like a movie if you miss a chapter you are confused
    My comparison of the voice on the radio is that this book is like the first three books they are all mystery books.
    Conclusion
    My restatement of my thesis is that the voice on the radio is a good book.
    They are in Boston and Reeve gets to work at the radio station.
    My final statement of this book is if you don’t read mystery books often you probably will not like this book. If you hate mystery books this book is not for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    This is good

    This book is really good!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Great reading --- kept me coming back!

    Reading was not one of the important pass-times in my life -- it was all I wanted to do just to read school assignments. It has just been since I purchased my Nook Reader and now my Nook Tablet (in the last three years) that I've started to read. The 'Jane' books -- all four of them -- were interesting, enticing and easy reading. I looked forward to every opportunity that I had to pick up my Tablet and read more on the story. It had a 'hook, line and sinker' effect on me and kept me interested to the last page -- I would read more of this series if there were more. The author presents an enjoyable read for anyone and everyone to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6