Customer Reviews for

Voices of Dragons

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Original but inappropriate

A highly original base idea. The writing style had a nice flow to it and didn't stop up too much which is often a problem for me with most teen reads. I didn't really feel attached to any of the characters but that could be because I don't have anything in common with t...
A highly original base idea. The writing style had a nice flow to it and didn't stop up too much which is often a problem for me with most teen reads. I didn't really feel attached to any of the characters but that could be because I don't have anything in common with them. The only real problem I had with this book was the sexual references in every other chapter. I usually like to recommend good books over to my little sister and would very much have liked to give her this one, but couldn't because of the recurring sexual references. Would not recommend to anyone under 14.

posted by VoiceOfDance on July 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't Finish

As much as I wanted to love this book I just didn't. I know how hard authors work so I hate to give less than three stars but this book didn't pull me in. The main character didn't have enough depth for me and the pacing of the novel was too slow. Mine is only one opini...
As much as I wanted to love this book I just didn't. I know how hard authors work so I hate to give less than three stars but this book didn't pull me in. The main character didn't have enough depth for me and the pacing of the novel was too slow. Mine is only one opinion, there are many others out there who loved this novel. Give it a try, you might be one of them!

posted by HeatherMcC on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Original but inappropriate

    A highly original base idea. The writing style had a nice flow to it and didn't stop up too much which is often a problem for me with most teen reads. I didn't really feel attached to any of the characters but that could be because I don't have anything in common with them. The only real problem I had with this book was the sexual references in every other chapter. I usually like to recommend good books over to my little sister and would very much have liked to give her this one, but couldn't because of the recurring sexual references. Would not recommend to anyone under 14.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dragons and Humans

    This book was great!!!!! It was very emotional and unforgettable!!!! What really stood out to me was that it was different from any of the books that i have ever read, since most authors are on werewolves and vampires. This unique twist to the story of dragons and humans reallyu made me anxious to keep reading! I could not put the book down! The characters are so real and thats probably why i felt a connection to them. I cried when they cried and i laughed at their silliness. I felt confused when they felt confused. It was a great read and i would recommend it to everyone!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good, unique, realistic dragon fantasy

    The story is completely enthralling and realistic from the beginning to the end. Our protagonist is a female who is far too interested in the "other side of the story" and befriends a dragon, just as most descriptions of this book explain. However, the story is something different than most dragon novels I've read in the past. So many things are going on, but are never too hard to keep track of. The dragon, Artegal is a fun character and becomes even more so when the book progresses. My only gripe is that the book ends sort of abruptly and leaves you wanting more to read. I have already recommended this book to multiple friends, two of whom have already finished reading it and enjoyed it thoroughly. This is definitely a book worth buying that can be read multiple times, as it's an easy, realistic read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo.com

    Seventeen-year-old Kay enjoys hiking, climbing, talking on her cell phone, and spending time with a dragon.

    Yes, a dragon.

    In Vaughn's brilliant combination of modern day convenience and old world fantasy, VOICES OF DRAGONS pulls the reader into a believable tale of one girl and a dragon against the evil machinations of an intolerant government.

    Though I guessed where the story was going, I still enjoyed the journey. I had no trouble believing dragons and cell phones could exist together and completely fell in love with the imagination Vaughn displayed in this novel.

    However, I did have one huge problem - the ending.

    It ended without resolution. Nothing was certain, things were on shaky ground, and the characters were about to begin a whole new adventure I wasn't even sure would work. I wanted more. This could have been the intention all along to set up for a sequel, but it made me angry, frustrated, and I felt cheated to be left with no certainties at the end. Would they be accepted? Would there be war? Had they fixed anything? I have no idea!

    Will I read the next book? You bet! I have to know what happened, but I feel Vaughn should have given us a better ending by at least resolving (for certain) one of the major issues left hanging at the end of this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    Couldn't Finish

    As much as I wanted to love this book I just didn't. I know how hard authors work so I hate to give less than three stars but this book didn't pull me in. The main character didn't have enough depth for me and the pacing of the novel was too slow. Mine is only one opinion, there are many others out there who loved this novel. Give it a try, you might be one of them!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Voices of Dragons Speak Loudly

    What an amazing story. An absolutely terrific read from beginning to end. The characters are crafted with such precision and are so believable that the reader gets caught up in the story very quickly. And before you know it, you are right there beside the main character, living her experiences, feeling her fears, doubts and confusion but also sharing her joy and triumph.

    This is definitely one of those stories you get so caught up in, you just can't stand to see it come to an end. I hope author Carrie Vaughn has lots of sequels planned, because I can't wait.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT READ! :)

    I thought this book was amazing. A lot of books take a while to kick off and get to the good stuff. This books action starts in the first chapter. I couldn't put it down. I finished it in 2 school nights. I recommended it to my cousin and she loved it too. Kay is a very relatable character that really draws in the reader. My only gripe about this book was the ending. It ended so suddenly. I HOPE there is a sequel to it, because the last sentence leaves us in dangling mid-air. Kay and her dragon friend, Artegal are trying to stop a war. In the end of the book, however, they haven't ended the war, so I hope this book has a part 2. I checked the author's website to see if there is a part 2 in progress but I haven't found anything. If anyone knows differently, please let me know :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    very good book!

    oh how i love fantasies about dragons1 i picked this book up at the library, expecting something silly and strange. boy was i wrong! i really liked this book! people should read it if interested in the fantasy genre for books! also for people who like talking animals, this is a great book too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Voices of Dragons

    Voices of Dragons is perfect if you're just looking for something fun to read. Pros: It has a good story line. The characters are unique and true to themselves throughout the entire story. The book is very fast paced. There's never really a point where it's dull or slow. Cons: The plot is light and never gets very complex. The reader never really gets to know many of the characters too well. The reader loses track of time a little bit because there are points where the narration skips a few months.
    I loved this novel because I could really relate to Kay's personality and problems. She's athletic and confident in her rock climbing, but at the same time, shy and self-conscious in her social skills. I really liked how Vaughn tied in the realistic high school problems with the fictional dragon problems.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Nice

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Ok.

    Good (not great) for its intended teen readers, and pretty thin for adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Ok

    The people in this book are really the scum of the earth. I only regret the dragons disn't destroy them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    This book was AWESOME!!!!

    I thought the book was really awesome! But I think it should have a second book. It kinda just was left hangin'. In a good way I really frustrated when that was the ending. Still love it though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    I love this book its a perfect read for teens ... hope there is

    I love this book its a perfect read for teens ... hope there is a book two to this the ending was great !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Dude how can you rant on this book!!!!!!

    This is a great book. It's about a girl disobays eveything that she was told just to be with someone. I love the ending, can't wait of the second one!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Another interesting premise in need of some depth

    Perhaps Ms Vaughn could rewrite these for adults. The idea of a parallel universe where dragons emerge from hiding to rejoin humans is delectable. The presentation here though makes the story almost banal and ordinary. There are air battles and chases with our Air Force and our Teenage heroine/teenage dragon that just felt flat. Stories for young people can be written with more depth and grip than this shows.

    THe Kitty series is much more intense and immediate, even with the short sentences and sentence fragments that appear to go with the stream of consciousness/first person presentation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    I loved it

    I loved it but thought that she should continue it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Very enjoyable adventure.

    Carrie Vaughn writes as good a story as Mercedes Lackey. Teenage girl and dragon boy save the world. For the young and young of heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love this author, so glad she's branching out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Three stars-not the best, but not horrible either

    I really thought this book would have more to it. More of a fantasy twist to it. Instead it was a very modern book with a slight fantasy shadow. The writing quality was okay, as well as the plot. Like the title says, could have been better, could have been worse.

    I recommend this book to those who like mild fantasy. Anyone who wants a more in depth fantasy adventure, move on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6