Customer Reviews for

Void Moon

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Marvelous Writing and Mesmerizing Characters

Void Moon creates a dark, malignant atmosphere and compelling, imperfect main characters that ache for demons to swirl inside the reader, but not to be released. Cassie is borderline cliche because of her love for former partner who died in an apparent, but not actual s...
Void Moon creates a dark, malignant atmosphere and compelling, imperfect main characters that ache for demons to swirl inside the reader, but not to be released. Cassie is borderline cliche because of her love for former partner who died in an apparent, but not actual suicide. SPOILER: When she takes a turn at his former criminal job of robbing high-rollers in Vegas, a discerning reader hopes that she'll rid herself of his maudlin memory. This happens because Connelly immerses her in the details necessary to rob a high-roller while he sleeps in the room. The story moves along smoothly, but without any real tension until after she completes the job. Then the introduction of the psycho hotel p.i. creates the tension that makes this Connelly's best novel. The thief is pursued by a psycopath who sadistically enjoys killing people. Unfortunately, the crime novel genre seemingly demands a "happy" ending. It's too bad that Cassie's daughter isn't murdered by the p.i. But this is still by far the best of Connelly's novels--and much better than anthing that I've read by Sandford, Parker, Crais or Burke. Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

This is the first Michael Connelly book that I could not finish. I gave it a good shot, reading well over 100 pages, but totally disliked this story. I could not find a way to like or care about the main character, Cassie. I typically love Michael's books, but this one ...
This is the first Michael Connelly book that I could not finish. I gave it a good shot, reading well over 100 pages, but totally disliked this story. I could not find a way to like or care about the main character, Cassie. I typically love Michael's books, but this one was bad in my opinion!

posted by Anonymous on October 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Marvelous Writing and Mesmerizing Characters

    Void Moon creates a dark, malignant atmosphere and compelling, imperfect main characters that ache for demons to swirl inside the reader, but not to be released. Cassie is borderline cliche because of her love for former partner who died in an apparent, but not actual suicide. SPOILER: When she takes a turn at his former criminal job of robbing high-rollers in Vegas, a discerning reader hopes that she'll rid herself of his maudlin memory. This happens because Connelly immerses her in the details necessary to rob a high-roller while he sleeps in the room. The story moves along smoothly, but without any real tension until after she completes the job. Then the introduction of the psycho hotel p.i. creates the tension that makes this Connelly's best novel. The thief is pursued by a psycopath who sadistically enjoys killing people. Unfortunately, the crime novel genre seemingly demands a "happy" ending. It's too bad that Cassie's daughter isn't murdered by the p.i. But this is still by far the best of Connelly's novels--and much better than anthing that I've read by Sandford, Parker, Crais or Burke. Highly recommended.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    Very disappointing

    This is the first Michael Connelly book that I could not finish. I gave it a good shot, reading well over 100 pages, but totally disliked this story. I could not find a way to like or care about the main character, Cassie. I typically love Michael's books, but this one was bad in my opinion!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Different perspective

    Having read a lot of the Harry Bosch series lately, this book was a nice deviation, in that it is written from the perspective of the criminal. The story is suspenseful and moves along quickly to an unpredictable heartwarming ending.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Amnother hit

    What can I say? Another score for Connelly. Easy to get lost in the story and actually root for a villian. Well worth ythe time to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great story with an unlikely hero. Like I've seen mentioned a

    A great story with an unlikely hero. Like I've seen mentioned a dozen times here, there are no good guys in this story. This is a story of criminals moving in a the criminal life. The best character to hang your allegiances with is your story's central character Cassie Black. Cassie is an ex-con, ex-burglar who goes straight for a while and finds she just can't live that life. She decides to pull one last heist and disappear. But when things go sideways she finds herself stuck between where the desert is ocean and the void moon. You'll understand if you read the book.

    A lot of folks get caught in the ripple of her decision and many lives are lost or changed forever. And despite her obvious character flaws, Cassie has heart. And a purpose and as the pieces fall into place you'll find yourself rooting for the bad girl too. The last chapter or two are as moving as anything I've read Connelly right before. Maybe that is due to the fact that we've got a female lead instead of a Harry Bosch or Jack McEvoy (haven't made it to Mickey yet).

    So I guess I'm going to add to the wildly varying opinions in this review section and toss my hat in with the folks who think this is one of Connelly's best. I really enjoyed this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great Story!

    A little different from Connelly but filled with suspence. I enjoyed the book very much. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    Great guily reading pleassue

    Although the plot is a bit flimsey and characters only two and a half dimentional, (not quite 3D), Connelly has the better descriptive talent among crime writers. The part where Cassie prepares and then pulls oof the theft is the best. You stay with her every step of the way, you hold breath when she does and you exhale with her. The fact that she has a daughter from her dead lover and gaining her back is Cassie's motive is revealed too early in the story on the other hand story does end with a poetic justice between Cassie and her daughter's adoptee parents...a good bittersweet moment there. Reading this book at least makes me curious abot his other works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    UNDERDEVELOPED, BUT INTENSE AS ALL GET-OUT!

    Cassie Black is running scared. And she has ample reason to be. She just pissed off the wrong people...the same people who killed her partner-in-crime boyfriend years before and are now responsible for the trail of bloody bodies they're blaming her for. Just recently released on parole from prison, Cassie can't turn to the law, especially since she just robbed a man of over 2 million dollars, much more than she thought she was going after. The man is found the following morning, dead in his Las Vegas hotel room bed, shot through the eye. She decides to keep the money though, to start a new life for her...and her daughter. Yep, her daughter, which the reader learns about part of the way into the novel. Unfortunately, this knowledge doesn't seem to add up, since Cassie doesn't act in a manner which makes one believe that she really cares all that much about the little girl...yet that is the motivation given for her actions. It's on this shaky premise that Michael Connelly builds his latest work, 'Void Moon'. Well-written, and with enough suspense to hook the reader all the way through, the story itself is lacking. The characters come across as mere facades of more promising, better developed characters lurking just below the surface. While Connelly delivers a technically accurate and exciting storyline, he seems to leave out the meat--the emotional motives. Had the characters been more detailed, the motivation which carries the plot might have come across as a much stronger foundation. Since that doesn't happen, the story falls a bit flat and appears underdeveloped. The action is intense...if that's all you're looking for.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Exciting Stand-Alone Thriller!

    Having read several of Michael Connelly’s books from the Harry Bosch series, I had high expectations for this stand-alone book and it did not disappoint. Connelly departs from his usual male main character and centers this action-packed thriller around Cassie Black, an ex-convict trying to put her life back together when a big opportunity for financial gain comes her way. I admit that a book written from the criminal's point of view is not what we might expect from a typical thriller, but that uniqueness is what I enjoyed about the book. I just hope Michael Connelly brings Cassie Black back!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Eagleblaze to bloodmoon

    Waits for bloodmoon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    great Book

    Love the

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    Once again, I tried staying with this book but it got to be so b

    Once again, I tried staying with this book but it got to be so boring I didn't finish it and this is the first book of Michael Connelly that I could not finish. I think Connelly should continue the Harry Bosch series that in finishing all 18 books, I am hungry for more with Mickey Haller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Dear Nothing, Prologue: Death

    I gasped, falling to my knees, hearing bodies tumble down the path and into the cold, dark water, some screaming and others frozen with fear. I saw the shadowy figure standing over David, saw the scythe fall in a downward arc, felt David's pain as The Grim Reaper's scythe cut through his heart with perfect precision, severing his life forever. Next came Michael, and Jimmy, and Thomas, the last tumbling down the steep, rocky incline, finally coming to a rest by the bank of the river.<br>Then the Angel of Death slowly walked to me, bone feet making no noise as they broke through the bottom of his cloak, only to be swept back in as he continued forward. The long scythe dragged through the pebbles, making a shallow trench.<br>I stared into the dark void where Grim's face should've been, sobbing at the death of my friends, panting for breath. I noticed Thomas's dagger next to me, so I snatched it up, filled with anger and energy, and hurled it hard at the Taker of Souls.<br>It should've gone true, fast enough that Grim wouldn't have been able to bring his scythe up to block it before it reached his head. But he disappeared, the knife clattering to the ground and falling over the edge of the switchback, pulling a cluster of pebbles with it to the rapids below. The Reaper appeared behind me, holding his scythe with his hand near the curved blade, and reached in front of me, plunging it into my chest. He whispered one word in a cold tone that spoke of sorrow and misery, a voice I would never forget.<br>"Death."

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Michael Connelly never disappoints. Couldn't put the book down u

    Michael Connelly never disappoints. Couldn't put the book down until I was finished. Great Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    I have read almost every Connelly book and loved them but not th

    I have read almost every Connelly book and loved them but not this one. It was awful, the characters and plot were disjointedvand i couldnt get remotely interested.
    I never leave a book unread but i couldnt get even halfway on this.  Sorry but this ones a dud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Moondrift and black cristal part 2 by Savanna/moondrift

    Moondrift walked up to Black cristal. Look Bla- No sweety call me cristal. What ever you intend to do, not here not now and not ever! Moon, hon let me talk said cristal. I just want to become a full grown Cat...just like you she wisperd and walked away.Ballstar walked in. " What happend to you asked he the gaping Moondrift. But before she could answer Crisal came in. Ball star

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Fair

    Books seem to be coming so so

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Great, moody read

    Really good book. Moody. Unfolds slowly but a comfortable pace. You will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Voidgod

    Astralgod needs me. That's new. Oh well. I'd better go.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Fresh-kill pile

    This is where warriors, and appentices put thier prey and where everyone gets thier food.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5