Customer Reviews for

Void Moon

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Marvelous Writing and Mesmerizing Characters

Void Moon creates a dark, malignant atmosphere and compelling, imperfect main characters that ache for demons to swirl inside the reader, but not to be released. Cassie is borderline cliche because of her love for former partner who died in an apparent, but not actual s...
Void Moon creates a dark, malignant atmosphere and compelling, imperfect main characters that ache for demons to swirl inside the reader, but not to be released. Cassie is borderline cliche because of her love for former partner who died in an apparent, but not actual suicide. SPOILER: When she takes a turn at his former criminal job of robbing high-rollers in Vegas, a discerning reader hopes that she'll rid herself of his maudlin memory. This happens because Connelly immerses her in the details necessary to rob a high-roller while he sleeps in the room. The story moves along smoothly, but without any real tension until after she completes the job. Then the introduction of the psycho hotel p.i. creates the tension that makes this Connelly's best novel. The thief is pursued by a psycopath who sadistically enjoys killing people. Unfortunately, the crime novel genre seemingly demands a "happy" ending. It's too bad that Cassie's daughter isn't murdered by the p.i. But this is still by far the best of Connelly's novels--and much better than anthing that I've read by Sandford, Parker, Crais or Burke. Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

This is the first Michael Connelly book that I could not finish. I gave it a good shot, reading well over 100 pages, but totally disliked this story. I could not find a way to like or care about the main character, Cassie. I typically love Michael's books, but this one ...
This is the first Michael Connelly book that I could not finish. I gave it a good shot, reading well over 100 pages, but totally disliked this story. I could not find a way to like or care about the main character, Cassie. I typically love Michael's books, but this one was bad in my opinion!

posted by Anonymous on October 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Different perspective

    Having read a lot of the Harry Bosch series lately, this book was a nice deviation, in that it is written from the perspective of the criminal. The story is suspenseful and moves along quickly to an unpredictable heartwarming ending.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great story with an unlikely hero. Like I've seen mentioned a

    A great story with an unlikely hero. Like I've seen mentioned a dozen times here, there are no good guys in this story. This is a story of criminals moving in a the criminal life. The best character to hang your allegiances with is your story's central character Cassie Black. Cassie is an ex-con, ex-burglar who goes straight for a while and finds she just can't live that life. She decides to pull one last heist and disappear. But when things go sideways she finds herself stuck between where the desert is ocean and the void moon. You'll understand if you read the book.

    A lot of folks get caught in the ripple of her decision and many lives are lost or changed forever. And despite her obvious character flaws, Cassie has heart. And a purpose and as the pieces fall into place you'll find yourself rooting for the bad girl too. The last chapter or two are as moving as anything I've read Connelly right before. Maybe that is due to the fact that we've got a female lead instead of a Harry Bosch or Jack McEvoy (haven't made it to Mickey yet).

    So I guess I'm going to add to the wildly varying opinions in this review section and toss my hat in with the folks who think this is one of Connelly's best. I really enjoyed this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    UNDERDEVELOPED, BUT INTENSE AS ALL GET-OUT!

    Cassie Black is running scared. And she has ample reason to be. She just pissed off the wrong people...the same people who killed her partner-in-crime boyfriend years before and are now responsible for the trail of bloody bodies they're blaming her for. Just recently released on parole from prison, Cassie can't turn to the law, especially since she just robbed a man of over 2 million dollars, much more than she thought she was going after. The man is found the following morning, dead in his Las Vegas hotel room bed, shot through the eye. She decides to keep the money though, to start a new life for her...and her daughter. Yep, her daughter, which the reader learns about part of the way into the novel. Unfortunately, this knowledge doesn't seem to add up, since Cassie doesn't act in a manner which makes one believe that she really cares all that much about the little girl...yet that is the motivation given for her actions. It's on this shaky premise that Michael Connelly builds his latest work, 'Void Moon'. Well-written, and with enough suspense to hook the reader all the way through, the story itself is lacking. The characters come across as mere facades of more promising, better developed characters lurking just below the surface. While Connelly delivers a technically accurate and exciting storyline, he seems to leave out the meat--the emotional motives. Had the characters been more detailed, the motivation which carries the plot might have come across as a much stronger foundation. Since that doesn't happen, the story falls a bit flat and appears underdeveloped. The action is intense...if that's all you're looking for.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Great, moody read

    Really good book. Moody. Unfolds slowly but a comfortable pace. You will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great Book

    Loved the characters and plot. Very good read =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Vert Good Connelly

    Connelly hits a solid Triple with this one; it moves you along at a good pace. Great characters and interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    New Character for Connley

    Good story with well developed characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Finished in one thrilling setting

    Fast paced and fun just like the car she drives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2001

    Worth the read

    Entertaining if nothing else. Some parts of the story were a little hokey but overall worth reading if you're looking for something light to read. If they would allow it I would rate it more of a 3 and a half star book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Void Moon Shines

    Michael Connelly is a great writer, and Void Moon moves swiftly and surely. I haven't read any of his serialized books, but probably will after reading this. Highly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2000

    Very Good!

    I really liked this book and I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    Too much clever plotting this time.

    Michael Connelly is is one of my favorite authors. I did like this book although there was a bit much technical stuff about the aparatus for the crimes. However, he should have stopped short of the 'father-son' relationship he threw into the end of the book. It was unnecessary and distracting and contrived. One of the things I like best about his books is that he is so clever in his plotting, and this was just too much. Where was his editor? His proofreader?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2