Customer Reviews for

Void Moon

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Marvelous Writing and Mesmerizing Characters

Void Moon creates a dark, malignant atmosphere and compelling, imperfect main characters that ache for demons to swirl inside the reader, but not to be released. Cassie is borderline cliche because of her love for former partner who died in an apparent, but not actual s...
Void Moon creates a dark, malignant atmosphere and compelling, imperfect main characters that ache for demons to swirl inside the reader, but not to be released. Cassie is borderline cliche because of her love for former partner who died in an apparent, but not actual suicide. SPOILER: When she takes a turn at his former criminal job of robbing high-rollers in Vegas, a discerning reader hopes that she'll rid herself of his maudlin memory. This happens because Connelly immerses her in the details necessary to rob a high-roller while he sleeps in the room. The story moves along smoothly, but without any real tension until after she completes the job. Then the introduction of the psycho hotel p.i. creates the tension that makes this Connelly's best novel. The thief is pursued by a psycopath who sadistically enjoys killing people. Unfortunately, the crime novel genre seemingly demands a "happy" ending. It's too bad that Cassie's daughter isn't murdered by the p.i. But this is still by far the best of Connelly's novels--and much better than anthing that I've read by Sandford, Parker, Crais or Burke. Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

This is the first Michael Connelly book that I could not finish. I gave it a good shot, reading well over 100 pages, but totally disliked this story. I could not find a way to like or care about the main character, Cassie. I typically love Michael's books, but this one ...
This is the first Michael Connelly book that I could not finish. I gave it a good shot, reading well over 100 pages, but totally disliked this story. I could not find a way to like or care about the main character, Cassie. I typically love Michael's books, but this one was bad in my opinion!

posted by Anonymous on October 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Fresh-kill pile

    This is where warriors, and appentices put thier prey and where everyone gets thier food.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great Book

    Loved the characters and plot. Very good read =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Vert Good Connelly

    Connelly hits a solid Triple with this one; it moves you along at a good pace. Great characters and interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    New Character for Connley

    Good story with well developed characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Finished in one thrilling setting

    Fast paced and fun just like the car she drives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    What a change

    I thought this book with Cassie Black was going to be something else all together you know another good guy book. But this one is the exact opposite and I still loved it great story line lots of twist and turns in the plot loved this book from front to back as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    What an incredible writing achievement

    Normally, books are filled with heros and villains. Here, Michael Connelly has instead filled his book with villains, and makes the principle character, a villain, attractive to us.
    Cassie Black is a cat burgler. After her last caper went terribly sour, she's gone straight and appears to be reforming herself. But her life changes, and she decides that she needs to re-enter her former life for the Big Score.
    The description of her preparations for re-entering the life of a second (or more) story person will remind you of the movie Rocky.
    Of course, her persuit of the Big Score brings her face to face with villains far more evil than she, whom she must defeat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    VOID MOON

    The book was decent. I'm more of a fan of the Harfry Bosch series. The main character is looking to atone for an earlier mistake, and seems like she's turned her life around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    Void book ?

    Not at all his best work. I was not intrigued by this book at all. I am not sure if it was the characters or the storyline. I never got into the book. I have read 8 now of Connelly and this one is just not one I can recommend to anyone sadly. I read 'The Poet' before this one and I thought that book was a bit of a snoozer but it was great compared to this. It was too dragged out maybe with little details that could have been omitted, on and on of details while the story never sunk its teeth in like I am so used to with M. Connelly's work. Its too bad, the premise was promising but the end result just didnt live up to what could have been a great one..........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    Not his best

    Not a bad book, but certianly not his best. There really wasn't a lot of intrigue in this book. The plot twists weren't shocking and the characters were all flawed enough that you couldn't really feel for them in anyway. Made it harder to really get into the book. I still recommend this author to anyone who likes mysteries, but this was not one of his better books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2001

    Well written, but characters uninteresting

    I'm a fan of Connelly and have read everything hes published to this point. He's clearly a gifted writer who stands heads and shoulders above most of the hacks in the mystery field. However, in this story, despite being well written, I just couldnt care about any of the characters. Most of Connellys characters have flaws of one type or another, but Cassie Black just has to many. Usually after a Connelly novel you can sit and savor it, this time I was relieved to finish the story just so i could move on to another book...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2001

    Worth the read

    Entertaining if nothing else. Some parts of the story were a little hokey but overall worth reading if you're looking for something light to read. If they would allow it I would rate it more of a 3 and a half star book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Void Moon Shines

    Michael Connelly is a great writer, and Void Moon moves swiftly and surely. I haven't read any of his serialized books, but probably will after reading this. Highly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2001

    Okay, but nothing more

    Never the greatest of stylists, the author usually plots with some inventiveness. Here, the general plot outline seems predictable. However, still worth the read, for when the author lapses into a more journalistic style he conveys information in a way that keeps you turning the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2000

    Very Good!

    I really liked this book and I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2000

    Great 'Caper' Story

    This is one good book! If you haven't considered reading this, do so. Once you have read Void Moon you will recommend it to everyone you know. This story and its characters will stay with you long after the last page is turned. Void Moon will make you laugh & will make you cry. Has just the right amount of suspense to keep you turning the pages.. and has a touch of romance to keep you believing. Hope Cassie Black makes a return visit in another Connelly book.. Can't help but love her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    Too much clever plotting this time.

    Michael Connelly is is one of my favorite authors. I did like this book although there was a bit much technical stuff about the aparatus for the crimes. However, he should have stopped short of the 'father-son' relationship he threw into the end of the book. It was unnecessary and distracting and contrived. One of the things I like best about his books is that he is so clever in his plotting, and this was just too much. Where was his editor? His proofreader?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2000

    Great book

    This is an awesome book. I do have a feeling it's a screenplay turned into a novel though (something like a John Grisham novel). I read this book in two sittings and I have not found a book that has made me do that in years. I wish Angels Flight and Blood Work were as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2000

    Gripping! Suspenseful! The Best Ever!

    This is the first time I've written a review but because I feel so strongly about this book, I really needed to do this! I've read all of Michael Connelly's books except Trunk Music, and this is by far the best one yet! I couldn't put it down! What normally takes me a couple of months to get through a book, took me only two weeks to read this one from cover to cover! It was absolutely fantastic! I could certainly see a movie coming out of this, although I'm not sure I could sit through this movie like I did while reading the book! But, how about Julia Roberts as Cassic Black? You have to read this!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    Avoid this book at all costs!

    I am a Michael Connelly fan--I have enjoyed his other 'non Harry' books, but not this one. I tried over the course of a weekend to start this and finally decided it wasn't worth the time to try again! Bring back Harry, please. Boring plot, unlikeable characters,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5