Customer Reviews for

Volume Two

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful and inspiring

    Really enjoyable and has helped motivate me to get through some mundane days. The music is so simple it is beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Even better than Volume One

    I'm so happy CDs don't wear out!!! I have listened to this so many times and I never tire of it. I hope there will be many more Volumes to come.If you liked the first one, you will love this and if you never heard either, make yourself smile and get this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Dig it.

    She and Him are back. I couldn't get enough of Vol 1 and now I can't get enough of Vol 2. Zooey's voice is SO infectious, and her song-writing catchy. M. Ward and Zooey are a unique pairing - a pair who stand out from the crowd, and stay true to themselves. They equally contribute for a classic and playful sound. A couple of my favourites are Lingering Still and Theives. If you like something off the beaten, this is one you should add to your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible easy listening

    I stumbled upon the first She & Him CD by mistake. The gentleman working in the music dept. was helping me look for something else. He suggested the She & Him CD and I loved it. I was eagerly awaiting album #2.
    I enjoy this as much as the first. It is by far one of the best CDs that I have purchased in years. Zooey Deschanel has a beautiful voice. I first heard her sing in the movie ELF. I wondered at that time if she would ever record. I am so glad that she did. Her music is the perfect compliment to end a lovely day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    She & Him have that perfectly modern-retro sound, and it gets so much better on Volume 2. The overall melodies are more sophisticated, as well as the production.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    She and Him new Album a MUST!!!

    She and Him's Volume II is a complete hit. I love it. I just went to see them in concert last month, and got to hear the songs before I bought the album, and by the end of the night I was singing them on the way home. Absolutely a great album for any real music lover. From their toe tapping "sixty" beats, to the soulful voice of Zooey Deschanel, Volume II is a wonderful collection of musical talent. If you're thinking who are She and Him, you need to be introduced to this wonderful group!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enchantment of Deschanel and Ward

    There's an old axiom in the entertainment business. That musicians don't make good actors and actors don't make good musicians. Zooey Deschanel proves to be the exception to the rule. Her voice could melt the hardest of hearts and her piano playing reminds me of Rod Argent (Zombies) at times. In particular on "Don't Look Back". She could sing the phone book and make it sound like it came from the gods. On this new album by She & Him, Deschanel writes all the songs except two (tracks 4 & 7). And the result is a much stronger consistent effort when compared with their first exceptional outing. M.Ward's production work is reminiscent of Brian Wilson in a number of instances on this album. Trying to categorize this album is hard. It mixes so many genres. The best I can do is say it's a mix of the best 50s/60s/70s pop, rock, country with a dash of indie smarts. If you liked their first album, you're gonna love this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1