Customer Reviews for

Voodoo Kiss (Ancient Legends Book 3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 631 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(450)

4 Star

(151)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book

Did you ever have a novel that took you on a wild ride that you won't forget and delivered so much that you just wished to get back to reading whenever you could? I never had. That is, until I started this one! I would have given it a higher rating, but unfortunately th...
Did you ever have a novel that took you on a wild ride that you won't forget and delivered so much that you just wished to get back to reading whenever you could? I never had. That is, until I started this one! I would have given it a higher rating, but unfortunately they only have 5 stars. Give it a try. You won't be disappointed!

posted by Darleena on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

You got to have it!

Voodoo Kiss is a book, that is so hot, I swear I almost got blisters on my hands while it wormed its way into my heart, making me feel all possible emotions. The characters are fascinating- especially Thrain- and as the story enfolded, answers were revealed in a way tha...
Voodoo Kiss is a book, that is so hot, I swear I almost got blisters on my hands while it wormed its way into my heart, making me feel all possible emotions. The characters are fascinating- especially Thrain- and as the story enfolded, answers were revealed in a way that gave me goosebumps. Voodoo kiss is without doubt the best book in the ancient legends series. Even if this isn't your normal genre, I highly recommend it!

posted by RockGirlJC on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 632 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Awesome book

    Did you ever have a novel that took you on a wild ride that you won't forget and delivered so much that you just wished to get back to reading whenever you could? I never had. That is, until I started this one! I would have given it a higher rating, but unfortunately they only have 5 stars. Give it a try. You won't be disappointed!

    53 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    read!!

    I have so many wonderful things to say about Voodoo kiss that I don't even know where to start, not to mention it would take a while. But I will say this...it's a heart pounding story with a LOT of things happening. I love Sofia and Thrain. I could feel their chemistry. I was easy for me to be in Sofia's heart and mind. My heart raced, pounded and cried several times. It was a bit slow going at first but once she was in Brazil, I couldn't stop reading. Don't skip this great book

    39 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Woohoo!!!

    I finished the book just this morning and got to tell you people, you are missing out if you skip this book! I promise that you won't be able to put this book down after reading the first 10 pages. You will want to know what happens next. It is worth every penny and more what I paid for!!!!

    38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Don't miss out on this one!

    I am a big big big fan of the Ancient legends series and would recommend it to everyone who looks for a mixture of paranormal, romance, mystery and humor.


    ***In book #1 ( A job from Hell) Amber Bourns starts her summer job in Scotland, where she enters a paranormal race and wins the first prize, which gives her the rare ability of talking to the dead, both human and paranormal creatures. Amber is very funny, and in book 1 she enjoys a heated romance with the serious Aidan McAllister, a vampire who totally craves her heart and something much more sinister. The title fits totally- it's a job from hell..

    In Book #2 (Doomed) Amber's overconfident and very sexy brother Dallas Bourns falls in love with a fallen angel, Cassandra, who happens to be Lucifer's and a seraph's daughter. Cass is a good and clever girl, who has the ability to travel to the different afterlife dimensions. It's very hard not to like her. Unfortunately for Cass, she has a curse and Dallas is the only one who can help her and although he doesn't know who or what she is, it was very nice to see a fallen angel fighting for a love relationship with a mortal human and trying to escape her terrible fate. Her love for Dallas comes with a prize and as with a job from Hell, the title Doomed fits very well..

    ***In Book #3 ( Voodoo Kiss) Sofia Romanov is an aspiring rockstar. Her rich boyfriend Gael invites her to a summer trip in Brazil. On her trip, something unlocks her true power from the past, turning Sofia into the reincarnation of a voodoo priestess who has the rare ability to bring a lost spirit back to a body. Cass and Amber are both in need of her help and offer an exchange of favors. Unfortunately for Sofia, they are not the only ones who need her or want her, and she realizes that letting her powers in, also means she has to let something evil into her soul. As her life goes through a whirlwind and she is brought to hell and back, it should come to no surprise that the growing attraction to sexy Thrain, a demon of a high rank, make her see him as ideal boyfriend material, but will her old feelings for Gael let her go?

    This book will leave you voodoo kissed!!!

    35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    You got to have it!

    Voodoo Kiss is a book, that is so hot, I swear I almost got blisters on my hands while it wormed its way into my heart, making me feel all possible emotions. The characters are fascinating- especially Thrain- and as the story enfolded, answers were revealed in a way that gave me goosebumps. Voodoo kiss is without doubt the best book in the ancient legends series. Even if this isn't your normal genre, I highly recommend it!

    31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Addictive

    it should come with a warning: makes you obsessed! I loved a job from hell, but voodoo kiss is just way better. ( sorry Amber but Thrain is just way hotter than Aidan). I am still stunned by the ending, by the way the story progressed, by some twists. by everything, actually.

    So let me check:
    Enticing, part sexy, part chilling Story line? Yes.
    Likeable Characters? Oh yes!
    Good writing? Double yes
    Suspense that kept me biting my nails? you bet!
    Would I recommend: Most definitely!

    My summary: This book is fantastic. Did I also say I am hooked!
    One must be crazy to miss out reading this one!!!!!

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Coudn't turn pages fast enough

    What would you do if the truth has eluded you for years and you have to face your legacy, which is both blessing and curse. When Sofia travels to Brazil with her boyfriend, she doesn't know what she is in when through a series of events, her powers from her past life as voodoo priestess are unleashed. Jayde Scott has a talent for developing suspenseful stories with fantastic characters. This is a book I would love to read again and I can recommend it to everyone.





    This was an amazing, thrilling F.A.N.T.A.S.T.I.C. READ.
    You can't turn the pages fast enough! You must read this!!!!!!

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Fantastic for young & adult readers

    Have you ever read a book that makes you feel like you are the main character and you didn't want the story to end. This is one such a book. It kept me reading and reading. While others say they couldn't put it down, I could indeed not put it down- literally. Beautifully written, with well-drawn characters and plot lines that allow non-stop reading with no frustration or boredom. It is definitely not necessary to read the first two novels in the trilogy ( a job from hell, doomed), but it will make the experience even more enthralling if you do and gives a good back ground as to what happened before and who each character is. Voodoo kiss is without a doubt the best from the 3 books of the ancient legends series.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Thanks

    The series is amazing. I read all the books and loved them all.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fabulous autumn must-read!

    Sofia Romanov is an aspiring musician living in NYC. She has recently faced the untimely and painful death of her younger half-sister, Theo. She is drawn to her wealthy Irish boyfriend Gael through mutual sibling loss: his brother also died within the same time frame. There's trouble in paradise, however - Sofia doesn't necessarily feel romantic love toward Gael.more of an enduring friendship. He whisks her off to Brazil before she can make this clear to him, however, and that's when things get very strange. I don't want to give away too much of the plot, but it involves voodoo (hence the title) and here Scott has clearly done her homework. I was enraptured by the clear descriptions: the smells, sights and feel of Rio, the crazy scary hotel, the so-vivid-it-feels-like-it's-happening-to you language of Sofia's first ritual. I was quite drawn in by Gael, who walked the double-character line quite well - I was never sure whether to trust him, hate him, feel sorry for him, or be afraid of him. I love characters like that. but the appearance of Thrain, the demon love interest, changed the story quite deftly. Other characters, like a mysterious black crow, and Lucifer, skate in and out of the plot with an agility only a well-experienced and well-read author could produce.
    Setting: These books I have been reading lately are causing me to want to travel! After reading for my last review, I wanted to go to Fiji; now I want to go to Brazil and Scotland. I loved the descriptions and sounds of Rio, and I loved the quiet mystery of the Scottish countryside. I also found it interesting how the characters can travel between them using magic, but within this there is still modern technology. For example, one character tracks another by use of an IP address. The physical world most of us live in is thus nicely blended with the paranormal, making it seem like demons, vampires, Shadows and voodoo priestesses could quite possibly walk among us, and we would never know. Characters: Of course I adored main character Sofia, who despite agony and guilt over her sister's death is forging forward both toward a music career and toward college. Despite her strengths in the career realm, within relationships she's uncertain when we first meet her, remaining in one that doesn't feel right to her. As her powers take root and grow, she becomes more self-aware in what is essentially a psychological journey; she moves through a Maslow-like pyramid of met and unmet needs until she reaches the first step on a rung of self-actualization both within herself and within her relationships (here I do not wish to give too much away, so you will simply have to read the book.which is a favor to yourself).

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Magic, love & deceit

    Voodoo Kiss was a wicked read full of twists and turns, love and betrayal. I loved the reincarnation aspect of the voodoo queen and the blend of mythology. Sofia was a down to earth character with a strong past, deep emotions and great aspirations for the future. I really liked how the writer brought her past and background into the story and how it guided Sofia's motivations and decisions. Her love interest, demon Thrain, was hot and mysterious. The ending was sweet and fulfilling. Well written book with twists and turns I didn't see coming. Can't wait for the sequel.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    Poignant

    Moving. Beautiful. Heartbreaking. Poignant. So many different feelings come to mind when thinking of voodoo kiss. This was a wonderful book. Weaved within the intricate plot is imagery that makes even mundane things seem interesting. However heartrending the new story developments were they were written so well I couldn't stop reading. I am off now buying the next book from this talented author.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Voodoo Kiss

    I've read the whole series. Each book is different with a different couple, though most of the characters return. From all the books so far, I liked this one best and read it in a day cause Soph and Thrain are awesome together and the romance part is sizzling hot.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book, prefer Fallen Angel way more over this. But this is a

    Good book, prefer Fallen Angel way more over this. But this is a good read too.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    hungry for more

    Utterly truly fantastic. If you are looking for a love story with paranormal twists, this book is everything and more you could ever hope for. It is worth every penny and more what I paid for.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    touched me deeply

    I loved it so much that I'm already considering how long to wait before re-reading it.The romance in this one is amazing because it's a slow building, feel-it-in-your-stomach kind of love.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Voodoo Kiss

    This is one of the few books that really stick on your mind for a long time. I had a hard time to put this down. Started it at work and soon found myself sneaking peeks in my nook throughout the day

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Page turner

    Being a busy mum of 3, I do not have tons of free time to read so it is such a treat when I do. What I loved about Voodoo Kiss is that it sucked me in from the beginning and didn't let me go the more I read. I loved the drama, the action and the adult content and how things were wrapped up. If only good demons like Thrain actually existed, I would swap my husband with him ;-) This is a great read that will invite you to dream and will linger on your mind for a long time.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Great for all ages

    I wont be able to fully describe my feelings towards Voodoo kiss. Usually I use gestures if I am in awe or if I like something. To those who give this series a try, you wont regret it. Each of the three books of the series has plenty of suspense mixed with romance. The best way to describe them are:
    A job from Hell = funny. Doomed= dramatic, Voodoo Kiss= hot!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Great series

    I've read as of today all three books.. Loved them especially Doomed.. I think it was well written and suspenseful...different somehow but loved it

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 632 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32