Customer Reviews for

The Sisters of Bethlehem Springs Collection: A Vote of Confidence, Fit to be Tied, A Matter of Character

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Opposites Attract in Bethlehem Springs!

    When the town drunk is the only canidate for the office of mayor, Gwen Arlington decides to run against him. Little does she know that she won't be the only one running against him! Morgan McKinley, a wealthy newcomer to Bethlehem Springs, the owner of the new health spa, also decides to take up the challenge. As the sparks fly, will these adversaries become allies? Or more?


    This is one of those books that I classify as an opposites-who-aren't-as opposite-as-they-think-attract book ;)

    I've read some other books by Ms. Hatcher and I would have to say that this one lacks the emotional depth that I have come to associate with her writing. It's different. I had a hard time relating to the main characters as much as I had hoped. I found myself intrigued more by Gwen's tomboy sister, Cleo, and am now very excited to find out what happens to her in the next book!

    Not to say that I didn't enjoy this book, but it wasn't quite what I had expected from Ms. Hatcher. Though, with that said, I found it an entertaining book, skillfully written, and amusing. I also hope to read the next book in the series, especially since it's starring Cleo :)


    Overall, I enjoyed this book, although it was much lighter than the other books I have read by Ms. Hatcher, and would recommend it :) Thanks!

    I received this book for free from the publishers in return for an honest review, Thanks :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Great Story!!!

    I loved this story and I wanted it to continue! I loved the characters and how very smart the woman proved that she was! Very good book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Loved it!

    The author got straight to the plot but still told a wonderful story. It was pretty predictable but still a goid read...on to the next book in the series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Loved It!

    This is the first book I've read by Robin Hatcher so I wasn't sure what to expect. I loved it! It kept my attention from the beginning. The main character is Gwen but you'll also meet her twin Cleo and the handsome Morgan McKinley. Gwen is convinced to run for mayor of her town in Idaho and from there the fun begins. You experience small town life circa 1915. There is mystery, politics and romance. I think anyone wouild enjoy this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Great find

    I thought this book had a great story line. I will not go into great detail sense the other readers have. I will just say I have found a new favorite author. I'm going to read the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Recommend

    Great book - Twin girls the mother takes one to boston for the City life; and the other stays in Colorado with their father living the country life. Gwen returns to colorado at 19 and she ends up running for mayor and marrying her opponent. Chloe knew along her sister could do it and have it all.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    More like 4.5 stars. Loved the delightful romance in this story!

    While the storyline is typical for a western historical romance, I still found the characters fun and the plot enjoyable. Sure, it's formulaic--because it's supposed to be that way. But even though I knew it was supposed to have a happily ever after ending, I was never bored with the story. I get tired of the same old same old stuff and this was a really fun read for me. Not too fluffy and not too sweet. I literally enjoyed every page. In fact, I kept waiting to get bored and it never happened.

    The romance was the best part of the story because it seemed natural and believable to me, and not contrived. The dialog was also very well done. I felt like I was living in the town along with the characters. The author really knows how to crank up the romantic tension and bring a couple together in such a way that it will make you sigh when they finish kissing. I really enjoyed the historical aspect of the story with the whole women voting plot and the mayoral race. The hero was, of course, divinely heroic and a perfect match for the heroine. :) Overall this was a great read. I'd recommend it to anyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Women's Lib in the West

    Books about women in politics are always intriguing to me. The ones that especially do are those that are set when women are the underdog during times when they are NOT supposed to be involved in politics. Gwen is setting up the new era of women in politics in the West and I'm glad that her campaigning was met with non violence and no roughness. I'm surprised at how well received she was in the town. Not because she was not a good candidate but because the town seems welcome to the possibility of having a female preside over them. She handled the situation very well and kept up her standards throughout the story. She actually knows why and how she will help the town out as opposed to other stories that I have read where the women run for office but have no platform. I enjoyed reading about her relationship with Morgan. There was very good chemistry between the two of them. Even though they felt attraction to each other, I was glad that both decided to stay in the race and not "drop out" in order to make the other happy. I thought his business of a spa was also very innovational for the time period. I was very impressed with the ending of the book. I was afraid that it would fall into the stereotype of the female falling back to the "traditional female" role of the time period. My only qualm is that Gwen's mother has not seen her OTHER daughter, Cleo in 20 years yet does not show any desire to see her at all. I can understand not wanting to see her estranged husband but it's very strange that she doesn't want to see her own daughter. The fact that it was never even brought up bother me a little. I'm hoping that this is talked about in the next book which focuses on Cleo.

    That being said, I thought this was a great story about frontier life, romance and the beginning of women's lib in the West. Robin Lee Hatcher has written another winner.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Guinevere steps up to the plate.

    Gwen was satisfied with her life in Bethlehem Springs, where she wrote articles for the local newspaper and taught piano. However, she wanted more for her town and although it was unheard of for a woman, Gwen decided she could make a difference by running for Mayor.Throughout the book, God played a big part in the lives of the characters in Bethlehem Springs. It was refreshing to read, an easy book for a lazy day. I am looking forward to the next in the series. Once you read A Vote of Confidence, I believe you will agree.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    more like 41/2 stars....i really enjoyed this book, it was my first from this author and it was wonderful!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    Robin Lee Hatcher is such a diverse writer. She encompasses so many different genres and her books are just a pleasure to read. One of my all time favorites books is Robin's book "Ribbon of Years" for the originality she uses in her writing style. A good example of women's fiction is her recent book "A Perfect Life", but "A Vote of Confidence" looked different than anything I had previously read by Robin so I was excited to see what it would bring to the table. Here again Robin shows her diversity in styles as she presents a book that takes us back in time and introduces us to a single woman in a time when women have the right to vote, but that is about it. Gwen gets challenged to run for mayor and even though it has never happened... anywhere... she decides to go ahead and run. The initial reason is that the only person running for mayor was the town drunk. At the same time that Gwen decides to run, another person throws their hat in the ring. He is a new person to the area and is trying to start a new business in the area. Lo and behold Gwen finds herself falling for her opponent. That can never work... can it?

    A fun read in the same vein as Deeanne Gist or Cathy Marie Hake... I really enjoyed this book - a new winner from Robin Lee Hatcher!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    First in Sisters of Bethlehem Springs a sweet treat

    A Vote of Confidence by Robin Lee Hatcher is the first book in the Sisters of Bethlehem Springs series. In 1915, Gwen Arlington is a modern woman. She lives on her own, making a living giving piano lessons, and she's running for mayor of Bethlehem Springs, Idaho. At first she looks like a shoo-in, but when a new man in town Morgan McKinley throws his hat in the ring as well, the election heats up. Morgan is building a spa on the outskirts of town, but some of the people in town don't support his plans, so at first he's running to help his business, but after he meets the beautiful Gwen, his mind is on far more that being mayor. Hatcher has a wonderful ear for dialogue, and the subplot of suspense moves the story along quickly. She does a great job of establishing several other characters who will be in future volumes in the series. It's a sweet romance perfect for a beach read or just escaping from the real world for awhile.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lady Mayor

    The protagonist, Guinevere Arlington, better known as Gwen, is so beautiful that she stops men in their tracks, but if they want to make points with her, they'd better not mention her looks. She's much more than that, and she resents the common thinking that women should not be involved with things other than housekeeping and child-rearing.

    Then, the unthinkable happens. Gwen decides to run for mayor--in 1915--in the small town of Bethlehem Springs, Idaho, and she sets the town to talking!

    This first book of the Sisters of Bethlehem Springs series asks the question, "Who says a woman can't be mayor?" The second in the series, Fit to Be Tied, the story of Gwen's sister, Cleo, is due out the end of this year. The question in that novel is "Who says a woman can't be a wrangler?" If you like historical romance novels, this is a good one to grab.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    You're Going to Like This Book...

    A Vote of Confidence, written by the award winning author Robin Lee Hatcher, wonderfully answers Gwen Arlington's questions. This book explores what it is like to live and work in a man's world in 1915. Robin Lee Hatcher writes a smoothly flowing yet intriguing page-turner.

    It is 1915 and it is totally a man's world. Should a woman assume authority over a man? Gwen Arlington knows what constitutes a woman's place. She also understands the needs of Bethlehem Springs and wants to run for mayor. Over the years, countless people complimented her beauty, but never understood that Gwen is quite intelligent also. What is wrong with a woman being smart? Why do men have to assume all leadership roles and make all the decisions? Even the Bible tells about women in leadership positions

    Gwen teaches piano and writes a column for the local newspaper. Should that not be enough for one beautiful woman? Complicating the situation is her growing love for one of her piano students who throws his hat into the ring for mayor of Bethlehem Springs. Miss Arlington wants to do what is right according to the Bible, but is fearful concerning the town's current leadership.

    What about Harrison Carter? Is he upstanding and honorable? Why would Mr. Carter oppose a health resort being built near Bethlehem Springs? It seems that a resort would bring new jobs and new money into the area. Gwen's life in a man's world is anything but peaceful. Gwen Arlington lives a life filled with questions in need of answers. How much must Gwen change to win? Exactly what is it that Gwen really wants?

    Read and enjoy A Vote of Confidence by Robin Lee Hatcher. It is available at your local bookstore and at various places online. You will find this book to be money well-spent and time reading it enjoyably spent.

    ~Reviewed by Patricia ONeal

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Characters are engaging and quirky

    Robin Lee Hatcher creates colorful characters that draw you in immediately, no matter where or when the story is set-historical or contemporary. A Vote of Confidence casts the reader back to 1915 when women were just gaining a voice. Gwen and her twin sister are both engaging and quirky but complete opposites. The men are rugged and some, enlightened. A Vote of Confidence is a delightful tale with a surprising twist. And the next book in the Sisters of Bethlehem Springs series promises to be as good. I give it my highest recommendation-a five star read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Charming Feel Good Book

    Hatcher does it again; Complete with captivating readers from page one! You'll find yourself falling in love with the characters, and rooting for their successes. You can relate to each one, and see yourself smack in the middle of a much heated up election! Things take a turn for the unexpected with the unsavory Harrison Carter, and again at the public debate for mayor. Romance and suspense in every page; you'll be rooting for love over politics, and an end to deceit and trickery! Tune into see just which character you think deserves the Vote of Confidence!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    To all

    Most beautiful: everyone. We all are beautiful.
    Most Popular Rper: everyone who doesn't act like a jerk.
    Best rper: same thing
    Most popular location: where you think is vest. Everyone has different opinions.
    Most sophisticated: no one.. xD
    Bet Clan: one with a leader willing to adapt
    Best author: your opinion
    Best story: your opinion

    THIS IS A JUDGMENTAL THING. EVERYONE IS EQUAL

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Nominees

    BEST ROLEPLAYER: <br>
    Jordan, leader of the zombie apocalypse rp at 'acher' res 1. He is loyal to his friends and brave. He is also the Ares cabin leader at the Camp Halfblood rp at 'pon' res 2-6. <br>
    MOST POPULAR ROLEPLAYER: <br>
    Jordan again, I have seen him in many rp's, excluding the clans. He is popular at 'pon,' 'outlook,' 'naplo,' 'acher,' and 'powered.'<br>
    BEST STORY: <br>
    Escape from Asylum at 'asylum' res 1-13. I story sure to make your skin crawl. Read at your own risk. <br>
    BEST AUTHOR: <br>
    "The Writer" as he calls him/herself. This person is the author of Escape from Asylum and is very descriptive. He/She can create mental images like no other.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    TO ALL

    Why are you guys doing this? I firmly dont believein voting and elections because all it is is a popularity contest. And im not, nor ever will be popular. I mean, askig soething lik th most popuar rper? Yeah, you ca have majority vote, but best rper? Maybe im the best rper, im just only rping in one rp, and nobody sees me! So whoevers doing this, just stop. You arent doing any favors for anyone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Most popular

    Toxin, even though he is hated...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5