Customer Reviews for

Voyage of Slaves (Castaways of the Flying Dutchman Series #3)

Average Rating 5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Must read

    If you have read the previous two books in the Castaways of the Flying Dutchman Series, this book is a must read. It is unlikely that there will be another book in this series unless it was finished before February 2011. Brian Jacques passed away February 5, 2011.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Voyage of Slaves

    Introduction
    Voyage of Slaves is a great story about the bonding of a boy and his dog through many exciting adventures. This is a book for all ages who want to read an interesting, exciting, well thought-up book.

    Description and summary of main points
    It is one of Brian Jaques' best works. It is the third book in the Castaways of the Flying Dutchman series. He is also the author of the Redwall series. They start out adrift at sea until they are picked up by slavers and taken into captivity. They meet some very good friends there and eventually find a way to escape. They then come back for their friends with other people they met along the way. As usual good prevails, but not always in the way you expect it to.

    Evaluation
    The book is very well written. Brian Jaques is one of the most creative authors out there. The exposition is well communicated in the very beginning of the book, but changes throughout. When you are reading the book it almost feels as if you are living the story. You become a character in the book. The plot is something only Jaques could come up with.

    Conclusion
    Voyage of Slaves is a good read for all ages. It has an interesting plot and very unique characters in more ways than one. I enjoyed reading this book, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    Phenomenal book by Brian Jacques: Voyage of Slaves is a must read!

    Why anyone would not read this book is a mystery to me; it is a touching story of an immortal boy and his dog who can communicate by reading each other¿s thoughts. This book is fun to read fast paced but not too fast that you find yourself trying to catch up. The front cover of this book is interesting because it shows you that even though Ben swore to himself that he would never go out on a bout again he is back out on one. This leads you to wonder why this happened¿well read the book. Ben and his dog confront a slaver/ tyrant and brave the wide adventurous expanses of the ocean along with all of its perils in this amazing one-of-a-kind book by Brian Jacques. Find out how Ben and his dog escape from the clutches of evil again in this sequel of Angels Command; written by Brian Jacques.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    soo good!

    i love this book! does anyone know if there will be another book in this series?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    REDWALL

    redwall is my fav series by brian jacques. this book rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    a worthwhile story

    yah...i've always liked brian jacques stories...this one was really great...the characters were well developed and the plot went smoothly with tons of action and romance. i have to admit, it's kinda nice reading about a human for once. i mean, i love the redwall series but this is nice for a change. i recommend the Castaways of the Flying Dutchman series through and through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    Yay!

    This is my favorite of brian jacques's series! i've been hoping he would continue this series but kind of lost hope when he wrote yet another redwall book, high rhulain (which was very good by the way) and now hes finally continued this series! Yay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2