Customer Reviews for

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (Chronicles of Narnia Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

An adventure my kids loved

This is a book I've been reading to my kids for the last several weeks. They were eager to start reading it after we rented the movie one night. They all liked the book very much, and even though it is different from the movie in many instances, they still found it very...
This is a book I've been reading to my kids for the last several weeks. They were eager to start reading it after we rented the movie one night. They all liked the book very much, and even though it is different from the movie in many instances, they still found it very enjoyable in its own right.
This book continues the story of Edmund and Lucy Pevensie, who are staying with an aunt and uncle while the rest of their family takes a trip to America. Their cousin Eustace despises them and their stories of Narnia. One afternoon Eustace finds himself drawn with his cousins into a painting in Lucy's bedroom, and they are all whisked off to Narnia for an adventurous sea voyage.
I don't think I have ever met a more offensive and whining character than Eustace. I find it so funny that Lewis named the character Eustace, because Useless Eustace describes him perfectly at the beginning of the book. Happily, Eustace goes through some miraculous transformations, physically and socially, during the children's adventures, and ends up to be a very useful boy at the end.
Reepicheep, the courageous mouse, also makes this book quite memorable. He is always daring the crew of the Dawn Treader to keep sailing forward, and never seems to know the meaning of the words doubt and fear. Just like Lucy, I want to pick him up and just hug the stuffing out of him, but that would be quite disrespectful behavior towards such a gallant knight!

posted by Bean76 on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another great adventure.

This book was really good. I especially liked the part where Eustace was seasick.

posted by 8952317 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 347 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    An adventure my kids loved

    This is a book I've been reading to my kids for the last several weeks. They were eager to start reading it after we rented the movie one night. They all liked the book very much, and even though it is different from the movie in many instances, they still found it very enjoyable in its own right.
    This book continues the story of Edmund and Lucy Pevensie, who are staying with an aunt and uncle while the rest of their family takes a trip to America. Their cousin Eustace despises them and their stories of Narnia. One afternoon Eustace finds himself drawn with his cousins into a painting in Lucy's bedroom, and they are all whisked off to Narnia for an adventurous sea voyage.
    I don't think I have ever met a more offensive and whining character than Eustace. I find it so funny that Lewis named the character Eustace, because Useless Eustace describes him perfectly at the beginning of the book. Happily, Eustace goes through some miraculous transformations, physically and socially, during the children's adventures, and ends up to be a very useful boy at the end.
    Reepicheep, the courageous mouse, also makes this book quite memorable. He is always daring the crew of the Dawn Treader to keep sailing forward, and never seems to know the meaning of the words doubt and fear. Just like Lucy, I want to pick him up and just hug the stuffing out of him, but that would be quite disrespectful behavior towards such a gallant knight!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Great book!

    Love narnia!!!!!!!!! Read all of the books!!!!!!!! They are brilliantly wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Childhood Revisited

    I got this to read for a second time right before the movie came out. It was this series of books that I first really found a passion for reading. This installment sees the two younger Pevensie children tossed back into Narnia with a barty cousin, and linking up again with now King Caspian aboard his ship The Dawn Treader. This was not my favorite of the series, but it certainly held my attention well enough this time as it did when I was a boy.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Super

    Good grate

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    C. S Lewis is a great aurthor.

    This book inspires me to right just like him. The ideas are great. I could not have ever like him. This book is for any ages, adults to toddlers. The seven seas remind me of an tropical island. The whole series is for any ages. Ias Prince Caspian still alive. Are there dwarfs in this book. Why is the older b

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    The greatest chronicles of narnia book

    This book is amazing

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    bbe

    Best Book Ever( bbe)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    ?

    In my opinion, the book is just as good as the movie.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I recommend all the books of the Chronicles of Narnia. They are very inspirational, and are best read by people of all ages.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    A Must Read!

    These are my favorite childhood books, and this one will not dissapoint!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Awsome book full of fun and advture

    Great book for kids and adults!!!!,!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended For Family Entertainment

    In this, the fifth book of The Chronicles Of Narnia, Lucy and Edmund have returned to Narnia without Susan and Peter, who are now too old. Their cousin, Eustace, considered obnoxious by everyone except his parents, is brought along with them, although he is fond of telling them that Narnia and Asland do not exist and are just a figment of their imaginations.

    They arrive to find that King Caspian has decided to take a voyage on his royal ship, the Dawn Treader. He plans to sail to the end of the world and find out what lies there and along the way. He has pledged to determine the fate of the seven lords, friends of his father, who went on expedition when Caspian was a child and then never returned. Lucy, Edmund and Eustace accompany Caspian, along with other characters the reader has met in previous books of the Chronicles.

    The company encounters many strange lands and people. There is the Land Where Dreams Come True, the Land of Deathwater, the Land of the Dufflepods, and the land where three of the lords are found to have been asleep for years. The reader is drawn along on the adventure, interested to hear what will befall the company next. At the end of the book, Caspian returns to Narnia, while the children return to their world. This book is recommended for readers of all ages, and is especially recommended for families to read together.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    A Great 'Voyage'

    The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis is a great book to read if you like letting your imagination soar. It is the third book in the Chronicles of Narnia. In the book, three children are sent into a different world where they encounter many adventures as they sail the seas in an awesome ship called the Dawn Treader. I like many things about this book. First, the book is full of a diverse group of characters. These characters make the book interesting. Also, there is never a boring part in the book. The story keeps moving in a constant flow of events. I like that the setting of the book is in a strange world because it is different than what I am used to. The only negative thing I can say about this book is that it could be a little longer. Overall, I loved The Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Best Book Ever

    Love it

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Great Book!!

    It was amazing how they entered Narnia and there whole adventure. what I didnt like was the end and how they couldnt enter back into Narnia.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    i like it except the end

    yes this is a very good book, but i would not recomend it to drama kings and queens because at the end reepicheep goes away and is never seen again!! i cried at the end plus this book is kinda scary. so my ratings r not so high but go ahead see if u can hold back the tears at the end which i think u wont if u like reepicheep.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    love it

    its awsome i like the way lewis c writes its like your with them

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis

    The Voyage of the Dawn Treader is a book that sets the standard of C.S Lewis's children stories high. The book had captivating detail on how the ship "The Dawn Trader" sailed to the end of the world. It had twisting plot details as the ship spun off and landed in Narnia with the help of Aslan. It captivated me and I had to read to the finish. Overall it is a very good read for rainy days and for people who have vivid imaginations.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    A good book

    I would recomend this book to 12 year olds. Lucy and Edmund return to Narnia with their awful cousin Eustace,to travel on Prince Caspian's ship,the Dawn Treader... To find out more read this book!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    Amazing!!

    Voyage of the Dawn Treader is one of the best books in Lewis's series. It's full of adventure, mystery, and fantastic places. This book is outstanding- it all takes place on a boat and nothing is what it seems! Definately a MUST READ!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 347 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18