Customer Reviews for

Voyage with the Vikings

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Vikings don't shake hands

    Beth & Patrick are cousins in Odyssey who, after meeting Mr. Whittaker and taking a peek at the Imagination Station, are surprised to find out that *they* can make it work - and travel in time!

    It is the year 1000, and their mission is to find a Viking sunstone. When they arrive, they discover that Vikings are pretty fierce, and they don't shake hands. They meet Erik the Red and his son, Leif, who is a Christian (his dad doesn't approve). They also get to see the Northern Lights and teach the King about kindness and loving your enemies.

    I think these are wonderful books for an earlier reader. The combination of history and fantasy (they are able to take their knowledge of historical events and make educated decisions on how to behave, etc.), really adds to the story. I recommend this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    So after reading book 2 first - my children (8 & 5) and I re

    So after reading book 2 first - my children (8 & 5) and I read book 1. I loved the educational pieces of the story. It led us on an internet search for more information about Vikings. Anytime a book can help us learn more about our world and our history, it's great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Good Choice for Struggling Readers

    As a big fan of the Adventures in Odyssey radio program, I was looking forward to reading these books. We are introduced to the two main characters, Beth and Patrick, right off the bat, along with Mr. Whittaker and Whit's End. The plot follows their first adventure in the Imagination Station, where they meet Lief Erickson and begin a story arc which will presumably carry the next several books.

    The writing is typical of what is offered at this level of children's literature. Comments comparing it to the Magic Tree House series are right on. I would hazard a guess that most readers over the age of 10 and/or advanced readers (those comfortable with books on par with Chronicles of Narnia or Alcott's Little Women) will find this a very easy read. I read this with my junior reading buddy over the summer as a quick read, and we both enjoyed it.

    The story is cheerful, includes a Christian moral, and leaves as its only loose end the lead in for the next book. A 'comprehension' quiz is included at the end of the book disguised as a secret message to ensure the reader hit all the main points. The norse names may provide a stumbling block in using this as a read aloud, but hopefully researching how to say Thjodhild will provide a fun launch pad into learning more about the Vikings and Erickson's conversion to Christianity.

    Happy Reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Very good

    I love adventures in odyssey so this book is a god fit. It is an easy read and a good book to relax to...use your imagination and soar! - electric palace

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Voyage with the Vikings is the first in a series of books featur

    Voyage with the Vikings is the first in a series of books featuring the Imagination Station. With time travel, history lessons, adventure, and two precocious kids, this book is a lot of fun! Geared toward elementary age students, cousins travel back in time to meet the Vikings. Readers learn about Eric the Red and his son Leif and get a glimpse at the challenge of being a Christian among the Vikings. The end of this book sets up the next in the series perfectly. I will definitely recommend these books to friends with young kids. [4 stars]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    This is the first of many adventures that Beth and Patrick have

    This is the first of many adventures that Beth and Patrick have thanks to Mr. Whittaker’s imagination station machine. Although on this particular day Mr. Whittaker can’t get the machine to work for him, it did work for Beth and Patrick taking them back in time to visit a Viking ship. Mr. Whittaker provides the two with appropriate clothes for the time as well as giving Beth a chess set and Patrick a cape. He also asks them to bring him a Viking Sunstone so they can save Albert. Suddenly the two find themselves on a boat on an ocean inlet with no oars and a white polar bear roaring at them until a seal catches its attention. When part of an iceberg broke up it caused a high wave that moved their iceberg close enough to jump to shore. Once on Greenland they encountered reindeer with huge antlers running toward them. But the reindeer raced past them as Viking men approached them. Patrick and Beth met Eric the Red, ruler of Greenland and his son Leif. Eric assumed the two children were spies, but Leif pointed out they were Christians from the cross signs on their brooches. They ride on Leif’s horse to his stone house where they meet his mother Thjodhild. What did Patrick do to find the sunstone? What happens next? Great book for kids to teach them history in a fun way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2014

    Great Book for Kids! The Imagination Station Series takes the s

    Great Book for Kids!

    The Imagination Station Series takes the story of Mr. Whittaker and the Imagination Station from Adventures in Odyssey to the next level. The book follows two cousins, Beth and Patrick on their own adventure in the Imagination Station back to the time of the Vikings. They meet Erik the Red and his son Leif Eriksson, learn a little about the Vikings and finally find the sunstone.  When they finally arrive back at Whit's End the clue for the next adventure appears.  This is the perfect adventure book for kids and they get to learn a little history too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Voyage with the Vikings, the first book in The Imagination Stati

    Voyage with the Vikings, the first book in The Imagination Station series, is a chapter book geared toward six to nine-year-olds. It’s a clean, easy to read book filled with adventure, mystery, and history. I would have treasured these chapter books if they’d been around when I was a kid.




    I love how the mysterious notes that cousins Beth and Patrick find are the glue that binds each of the Imagination stories.




    In this first book, the letter they find directs them to Greenland, circa 1000, to find a sunstone. Mr. Whittaker’s invention, the Imagination Station, is their vehicle of transportation into the past where they join the Vikings on the maiden voyage to North America.




    Along with learning history and geography, young readers also learn principles of the Bible, such as kindness, forgiveness, and God’s love.




    I’m a kid at heart, so I enjoyed reading each of the Imagination Station books, and I applaud the author for making clean, Christian adventure books available to today’s young explorers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    Good start to the series An enjoyable start to this newest Imag

    Good start to the series

    An enjoyable start to this newest Imagination Station series from Focus on the Family. I like that this series (& book) teaches good lessons while also introducing readers to historical figures of importance along with the time in which they lived - and that they include some lesser well known figure, not just the "standard" ones. This is a good book for young elementary school children containing simple vocabulary, larger type, and many illustrations. It is also an easy book to read aloud. Recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Beth and her cousin Patrick get to take a trip in the Imaginatio

    Beth and her cousin Patrick get to take a trip in the Imagination Station to see some Vikings. They end up in Greenland and meet Erick the Red and his son Leif. They learn about how some Vikings were Christians but others worshiped Norse gods. They also learned how the Vikings marked the seasons with a sunstone. Very fun way for kids to learn history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2014

    Voyage with the Vikings is the start of the Imagination Station

    Voyage with the Vikings is the start of the Imagination Station series. Cousins Patrick and Beth go back in time to meet vikings, including Erik the Red. Erik and son, Leif argue about Christianity. Patrick teaches Erik the power of kindness. 
    I love this series. It's a great way to teach children good values.
    5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first novel in the Imagination Station series, and i

    This is the first novel in the Imagination Station series, and it's a fantastic introduction to what promises to be some exciting reading adventures! In "Voyage With the Vikings" Patrick and Beth meet the Imagination Station and have their first time travel experience. On their journey the two cousins encounter Erik the Red and Leif Eriksson, two of the most infamous of the Vikings of old. Turns out Leif is a brother believer, but dear old dad (Erik) isn't. By the time the adventure ends, Beth and Patrick have taught a few lessons in kindness and humility, as well as brains over brawn. They've also recovered a critical sunstone and returned to help free their friend, only to find a new adventure awaits.. Your young readers will experience history through the eyes of Beth and Patrick, learning along the way and enjoying some great, quality fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    I am always looking for good fun books that kids will enjoy and

    I am always looking for good fun books that kids will enjoy and want to read and with this book Voyage with the Vikings The Imagination Station book 1 by Marianne Hering and Paul McCusker I have found just that. It is also a series so it will keep your kids busy reading for awhile. I like the fact that the book has adventure, history and is a Christian book that you don't have to worry about kids reading.  I think the kids will love the adventure and not even realize they might be learning about history too in this book.








    Beth wants to show her cousin Patrick the Imagination Station so they go to see Mr Whittaker's.  He says the station isn't working, but when the two step in, it starts to work. A letter appears and it says Albert is trapped and they have to find a Viking sunstone. Beth and Patrick want to help so they take the Imagination Station back in time to the Vikings to find the sunstone. Will Beth and Patrick be able to find the sunstone, retrieve it and get back to the Station and home? Will Leif Erikkson help them find it or will his Dad Erik the Red harm them? Will they be able to get the sunstone and help Albert? You will have to read the book to find out.




     I  enjoyed this book even at my age. I think the quest will be great fun for your kids and they will want to read this book and the rest of them too. It is a great book for kids age 6 to 10 they will really enjoy reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    This is a great start off book for the Imagination Station serie

    This is a great start off book for the Imagination Station series, where Patrick and Beth go to the time of vikings! Protected by the ruler's son Leif they must not be found not with him Otherwise his father Eric the Red will make Patrick and Beth his slaves! My favorite part is where Beth beats Eric the Red in a game of chess. Beth and Patrick learn to show kindness toward your enemies. Besides all of this the are given a sunstone from Leif as a trade for Beth's chess set. This will help Albert be saved from being locked up in Lord Darkthorns's tower.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Jesusfan

    Greatt book. More fo ryounger kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    i have a good time

    thanks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    As an adult having never (except maybe once) listened to Adventu

    As an adult having never (except maybe once) listened to Adventures in Odyssey, I still enjoyed this little book. It's fast-paced, simply-put but informative, and has fun illustrations. Children will enjoy traveling back in time through this series, I'm sure. The children in the book are brave, helpful, and loving, without the bickering and name-calling you often find in kids' books.

    The whole story is not resolved, which makes one more curious to read the rest of the series, but at least the one time period is finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Read this please

    This book sounds like it can be good. Maybe i will ead this.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Adventures in Odyssey Imagination Station book 1, Voyage with th

    Adventures in Odyssey Imagination Station book 1, Voyage with the Vikings by Paul McCusker and Marianne Hering has a good message that parents will like. Kids will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Tyndale Summer Reading Program

    Cousins Beth and Patrick went to Whit's End. After getting into the imagination station they were transported to where the Vikings lived. They were told that they needed to find a Viking sun stone or Mr. Whitaker's friend would be locked in Lord Darthorn's tower. They met Leif Erikson and he helped them find the sun stone. When they were on their way home Patrick told Leif Erikson's father about Jesus. The cousins made it back to the imagination station they gave the sun stone to Whit to help Albert. Then they found another note telling them that they needed to help Albert by going to Rome to get the monk's silver cup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2