Customer Reviews for

Voyage with the Vikings

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Vikings don't shake hands

    Beth & Patrick are cousins in Odyssey who, after meeting Mr. Whittaker and taking a peek at the Imagination Station, are surprised to find out that *they* can make it work - and travel in time!

    It is the year 1000, and their mission is to find a Viking sunstone. When they arrive, they discover that Vikings are pretty fierce, and they don't shake hands. They meet Erik the Red and his son, Leif, who is a Christian (his dad doesn't approve). They also get to see the Northern Lights and teach the King about kindness and loving your enemies.

    I think these are wonderful books for an earlier reader. The combination of history and fantasy (they are able to take their knowledge of historical events and make educated decisions on how to behave, etc.), really adds to the story. I recommend this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Good Choice for Struggling Readers

    As a big fan of the Adventures in Odyssey radio program, I was looking forward to reading these books. We are introduced to the two main characters, Beth and Patrick, right off the bat, along with Mr. Whittaker and Whit's End. The plot follows their first adventure in the Imagination Station, where they meet Lief Erickson and begin a story arc which will presumably carry the next several books.

    The writing is typical of what is offered at this level of children's literature. Comments comparing it to the Magic Tree House series are right on. I would hazard a guess that most readers over the age of 10 and/or advanced readers (those comfortable with books on par with Chronicles of Narnia or Alcott's Little Women) will find this a very easy read. I read this with my junior reading buddy over the summer as a quick read, and we both enjoyed it.

    The story is cheerful, includes a Christian moral, and leaves as its only loose end the lead in for the next book. A 'comprehension' quiz is included at the end of the book disguised as a secret message to ensure the reader hit all the main points. The norse names may provide a stumbling block in using this as a read aloud, but hopefully researching how to say Thjodhild will provide a fun launch pad into learning more about the Vikings and Erickson's conversion to Christianity.

    Happy Reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Very good

    I love adventures in odyssey so this book is a god fit. It is an easy read and a good book to relax to...use your imagination and soar! - electric palace

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Voyage with the Vikings is the first in a series of books featur

    Voyage with the Vikings is the first in a series of books featuring the Imagination Station. With time travel, history lessons, adventure, and two precocious kids, this book is a lot of fun! Geared toward elementary age students, cousins travel back in time to meet the Vikings. Readers learn about Eric the Red and his son Leif and get a glimpse at the challenge of being a Christian among the Vikings. The end of this book sets up the next in the series perfectly. I will definitely recommend these books to friends with young kids. [4 stars]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Voyage with the Vikings, the first book in The Imagination Stati

    Voyage with the Vikings, the first book in The Imagination Station series, is a chapter book geared toward six to nine-year-olds. It’s a clean, easy to read book filled with adventure, mystery, and history. I would have treasured these chapter books if they’d been around when I was a kid.




    I love how the mysterious notes that cousins Beth and Patrick find are the glue that binds each of the Imagination stories.




    In this first book, the letter they find directs them to Greenland, circa 1000, to find a sunstone. Mr. Whittaker’s invention, the Imagination Station, is their vehicle of transportation into the past where they join the Vikings on the maiden voyage to North America.




    Along with learning history and geography, young readers also learn principles of the Bible, such as kindness, forgiveness, and God’s love.




    I’m a kid at heart, so I enjoyed reading each of the Imagination Station books, and I applaud the author for making clean, Christian adventure books available to today’s young explorers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    Good start to the series An enjoyable start to this newest Imag

    Good start to the series

    An enjoyable start to this newest Imagination Station series from Focus on the Family. I like that this series (& book) teaches good lessons while also introducing readers to historical figures of importance along with the time in which they lived - and that they include some lesser well known figure, not just the "standard" ones. This is a good book for young elementary school children containing simple vocabulary, larger type, and many illustrations. It is also an easy book to read aloud. Recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first novel in the Imagination Station series, and i

    This is the first novel in the Imagination Station series, and it's a fantastic introduction to what promises to be some exciting reading adventures! In "Voyage With the Vikings" Patrick and Beth meet the Imagination Station and have their first time travel experience. On their journey the two cousins encounter Erik the Red and Leif Eriksson, two of the most infamous of the Vikings of old. Turns out Leif is a brother believer, but dear old dad (Erik) isn't. By the time the adventure ends, Beth and Patrick have taught a few lessons in kindness and humility, as well as brains over brawn. They've also recovered a critical sunstone and returned to help free their friend, only to find a new adventure awaits.. Your young readers will experience history through the eyes of Beth and Patrick, learning along the way and enjoying some great, quality fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    I am always looking for good fun books that kids will enjoy and

    I am always looking for good fun books that kids will enjoy and want to read and with this book Voyage with the Vikings The Imagination Station book 1 by Marianne Hering and Paul McCusker I have found just that. It is also a series so it will keep your kids busy reading for awhile. I like the fact that the book has adventure, history and is a Christian book that you don't have to worry about kids reading.  I think the kids will love the adventure and not even realize they might be learning about history too in this book.








    Beth wants to show her cousin Patrick the Imagination Station so they go to see Mr Whittaker's.  He says the station isn't working, but when the two step in, it starts to work. A letter appears and it says Albert is trapped and they have to find a Viking sunstone. Beth and Patrick want to help so they take the Imagination Station back in time to the Vikings to find the sunstone. Will Beth and Patrick be able to find the sunstone, retrieve it and get back to the Station and home? Will Leif Erikkson help them find it or will his Dad Erik the Red harm them? Will they be able to get the sunstone and help Albert? You will have to read the book to find out.




     I  enjoyed this book even at my age. I think the quest will be great fun for your kids and they will want to read this book and the rest of them too. It is a great book for kids age 6 to 10 they will really enjoy reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    This is a great start off book for the Imagination Station serie

    This is a great start off book for the Imagination Station series, where Patrick and Beth go to the time of vikings! Protected by the ruler's son Leif they must not be found not with him Otherwise his father Eric the Red will make Patrick and Beth his slaves! My favorite part is where Beth beats Eric the Red in a game of chess. Beth and Patrick learn to show kindness toward your enemies. Besides all of this the are given a sunstone from Leif as a trade for Beth's chess set. This will help Albert be saved from being locked up in Lord Darkthorns's tower.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Jesusfan

    Greatt book. More fo ryounger kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    As an adult having never (except maybe once) listened to Adventu

    As an adult having never (except maybe once) listened to Adventures in Odyssey, I still enjoyed this little book. It's fast-paced, simply-put but informative, and has fun illustrations. Children will enjoy traveling back in time through this series, I'm sure. The children in the book are brave, helpful, and loving, without the bickering and name-calling you often find in kids' books.

    The whole story is not resolved, which makes one more curious to read the rest of the series, but at least the one time period is finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Read this please

    This book sounds like it can be good. Maybe i will ead this.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    "Voyage With the Vikings" is the first in The Imaginat

    "Voyage With the Vikings" is the first in The Imagination Station series, presented by Focus on the Family. In this book, we are introduced to cousins Beth and Patrick who are sent on amazing adventures in the Imagination Station, invented by Mr. Whitaker. Each adventure has something that the cousins need to accomplish in order to help save another character.

    I read this book with my four-year-old, and he really enjoyed it. It's reminiscent of "The Magic Treehouse" series, but with a bit more depth and detail. We are already looking forward to getting the next book from the library to continue the adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't know Leif Erickson was a Christian. Learn something new everyday.

    I haven't listened to much of Adventures in Odyssey yet, but I've enjoyed what I've heard on the radio/television thus far. Based on what I have watched and heard from them, I feel their program is very creative, humorous, and inspirational for all ages; I wish I would have heard about them when I was younger. I thought of their program when I saw this book was available and had the Adventures in Odyssey logo. I realize this is a book meant for mid to late elementary school children, and it brought back memories of the Scholastic book Fair coming to my Public elementary school where I would buy/read a few of their books. Looking back from that time, if I had a book like this when I was a kid I probably would have liked it and learned from it too.

    Voyage with the Vikings, is the 1st book out of four within the Imagination Station Book Series. Patrick and his cousin Beth come to Whit's End (an ice cream shop) to see Mr. Whittaker and he shows the kids a special device called The Imagination Station. The Imagination Station is like a time machine only a bit more complex where it will desire for the user to complete a certain objective without alternating history. In this story, the cousins see there is a mysterious note left for them within the Imagination Station telling them to go find a Viking Sunstone in order to save someone named Albert. With Mr. Whittaker's permission, they use the Imagination Station to go back to the time of the Vikings where they meet Erik the Red and Leif Ericson (sometimes also spelled Eriksson).

    One curious detail was how the book said Leif was a Christian. I wasn't sure if this idea was accurate or fan fiction, because I never learned this within the public school setting, so I did some brief online research and sure enough Leif and others within the Viking culture were Christians, but there were some Vikings including Erik the Red who detested Christ as being too peaceful and prefer to worship pagan gods like Thor. As for the book itself, I thought it was pretty decent because it had large print, I liked the artwork provided, it was definitely educational, it showed good Christian conduct, and I also enjoyed the story enough where I am curious what happens in the next three books; I might have to review those later. My one complaint about the book, and perhaps they did this because of the reading level, is the story seemed a bit short and fast paced. I wished there was more to have read and the story didn't progress so quickly, but then again the quick pace prevents someone from skim reading lol. A good story for kids who are starting to get into more active reading.

    Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Tyndale House Publishing, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Tyndale House Publishing to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Voyage with the Vikings

    Join Patrick and Beth on an adventure in the imagination station time machine at Whit's End in Odyssey. the popular radio program is now in book form. Your children can go on adventures with the characters in the book as they set off in the time machine to visit Viking times.

    Mr. Whitaker sends cousins, Beth and Patrick, to the time of the Vikings to find a sunstone which will save the mysterious Albert, mentioned in a note which was left in the time machine.

    The children arrive off the coast of Greenland in a Viking ship. They land on shore and meet Eric the Red and Leif his son. The men are preparing to set sail for Norway the next day.

    Beth and Patrick learn about the Vikings as they interact with the people in the village and try to find the sunstone.

    My children enjoyed this story. I like how the author weaves History, adventure, and Christianity together throughout the book. The story is fast paced with a few problems thrown in for the characters to solve.

    My daughter, Hannah(11) says, "It was pretty cool".

    This book would be a good addition to a study of the Vikings and the discovery of America. It is recommended for ages 7 and up with a grade level rating of 1.7. I think it would also make a good read aloud book for a wide range of ages. I plan to use it in our History studies.

    I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale Media in order to write this review and have shared my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Good Book

    "Voyage with the Vikings" is a book about two cousins who go on a mysterious and exciting adventure in the Imagination Station, which is a sort of time machine. They travel to Greenland to find a Sunstone for someone in need of help. Along the way, they meet rough vikings, some of which are mean, but they also make an unlikely friend. But they have to make it back to the ship before time runs out, or they may never get back home! Can they do it?






    I liked the book. It was exciting, but not too scary, and at the end it left you wanting more! It encourages kids to stand up for their faith in God, and to do the right thing. I thought it was a very good book for younge readers, and I would recommend it to any child from first through third grade.






    This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Short Book with Great life lessons

    When I got this book in the mail - I knew my kids were going to love it!

    So, I'm letting my daughter tell us about this book in a short interview. For privacy reasons, we call her her Princess.

    Me: Hi Princess!
    Princess: Hi Mom!
    Me: Did you read the whole book and like it?

    Princess: Yes...I liked the characters, mostly Patrick.
    Me: Who's Patrick?

    Princess: Patrick is a boy in the story who is nice to the Viking.
    Me: There were Vikings?

    Princess: Mom, that is the name of the book!
    Me: Oh, yeah. What else did you like?

    Princess: I like that a little girl played chess...(edited to not reveal the story.)
    Me: Did you learn a life lesson? What was it?

    Princess: That we should be nice to our enemies.
    Me: Do you think your friends would like to read this book?

    Princess: Yes, I think they would love it.
    Me: Is this a book you would read again?

    Princess: Yes, ma'am.
    Me: Anything else you want to tell us?

    Princess: There is a code at the end of the book and if you get it right - you win a surprise!

    Well, thank you Princess for sharing your thoughts! Now go do your Math work!


    Note: I was sent complimentary copy for review purposes only. This review has not been monetarily compensated. The review was my honest opinion and views and not influenced by the sponsor in any way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1