Customer Reviews for

Voyage with the Vikings

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    So after reading book 2 first - my children (8 & 5) and I re

    So after reading book 2 first - my children (8 & 5) and I read book 1. I loved the educational pieces of the story. It led us on an internet search for more information about Vikings. Anytime a book can help us learn more about our world and our history, it's great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    This is the first of many adventures that Beth and Patrick have

    This is the first of many adventures that Beth and Patrick have thanks to Mr. Whittaker’s imagination station machine. Although on this particular day Mr. Whittaker can’t get the machine to work for him, it did work for Beth and Patrick taking them back in time to visit a Viking ship. Mr. Whittaker provides the two with appropriate clothes for the time as well as giving Beth a chess set and Patrick a cape. He also asks them to bring him a Viking Sunstone so they can save Albert. Suddenly the two find themselves on a boat on an ocean inlet with no oars and a white polar bear roaring at them until a seal catches its attention. When part of an iceberg broke up it caused a high wave that moved their iceberg close enough to jump to shore. Once on Greenland they encountered reindeer with huge antlers running toward them. But the reindeer raced past them as Viking men approached them. Patrick and Beth met Eric the Red, ruler of Greenland and his son Leif. Eric assumed the two children were spies, but Leif pointed out they were Christians from the cross signs on their brooches. They ride on Leif’s horse to his stone house where they meet his mother Thjodhild. What did Patrick do to find the sunstone? What happens next? Great book for kids to teach them history in a fun way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2014

    Great Book for Kids! The Imagination Station Series takes the s

    Great Book for Kids!

    The Imagination Station Series takes the story of Mr. Whittaker and the Imagination Station from Adventures in Odyssey to the next level. The book follows two cousins, Beth and Patrick on their own adventure in the Imagination Station back to the time of the Vikings. They meet Erik the Red and his son Leif Eriksson, learn a little about the Vikings and finally find the sunstone.  When they finally arrive back at Whit's End the clue for the next adventure appears.  This is the perfect adventure book for kids and they get to learn a little history too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Beth and her cousin Patrick get to take a trip in the Imaginatio

    Beth and her cousin Patrick get to take a trip in the Imagination Station to see some Vikings. They end up in Greenland and meet Erick the Red and his son Leif. They learn about how some Vikings were Christians but others worshiped Norse gods. They also learned how the Vikings marked the seasons with a sunstone. Very fun way for kids to learn history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2014

    Voyage with the Vikings is the start of the Imagination Station

    Voyage with the Vikings is the start of the Imagination Station series. Cousins Patrick and Beth go back in time to meet vikings, including Erik the Red. Erik and son, Leif argue about Christianity. Patrick teaches Erik the power of kindness. 
    I love this series. It's a great way to teach children good values.
    5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    i have a good time

    thanks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Adventures in Odyssey Imagination Station book 1, Voyage with th

    Adventures in Odyssey Imagination Station book 1, Voyage with the Vikings by Paul McCusker and Marianne Hering has a good message that parents will like. Kids will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Tyndale Summer Reading Program

    Cousins Beth and Patrick went to Whit's End. After getting into the imagination station they were transported to where the Vikings lived. They were told that they needed to find a Viking sun stone or Mr. Whitaker's friend would be locked in Lord Darthorn's tower. They met Leif Erikson and he helped them find the sun stone. When they were on their way home Patrick told Leif Erikson's father about Jesus. The cousins made it back to the imagination station they gave the sun stone to Whit to help Albert. Then they found another note telling them that they needed to help Albert by going to Rome to get the monk's silver cup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Voyage with the Vikings

    Recently I picked up Voyage with the Vikings, the first book in Adventures in Odyssey's Imagination Station series. The book is written by Paul McCusker and Marianne Hering, and tells the story of cousins Patrick and Ben. While visiting the Whit's End soda shop they climb into the Imagination Station where they find a mysterious letter asking for a Viking sunstone. Mr. Whittaker then transports the two to Greenland in the year 1000. There they meet the Viking king Erik the Red and his son Leif Eriksson.
    What's great about this book is that not only do you have some great Viking history in it, but the story also corresponds with Christian history, where it talks about the growing amount of Christians in the Norse world. Not only that, but kids will love the adventure and will have fun while learning something new. And you can even visit the Adventures in Odyssey website to learn more facts about the Vikings, find some coloring pages and even some family games and devotionals that all tie in with the book.
    If you have a young grade school child, then this will be the perfect book for them (and you) and I have to say that I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    By: Marianne Hering and Paul McCusker Book#1
    In the voyage with the Vikings, Patrick and Beth go on an adventure in the imagination station and visited Greenland and the Vikings. While they are there they meet Erik the red, a mean old king, but they can not let that stop them from there mission. If they do not get a sunstone by the next full moon, someone will die because of it. Will they save the day or will fear destroy there mission before it is even started. Find out when you read Voyage with the Vikings.


    This book is a mix of things that makes it hard to talk about. This book is a mix of history fiction and mystery. I really enjoyed this book, even though it is a very short book and a kid book I thought it had quiet a lot of information for such a small book. The book has a couple of illustrations' that are very well done even though they are black and white they are very well detailed. You will imagine your self there in the story in the adventure and facing what they faced. I really enjoyed this book and would recommend to any homeschooler.

    I was not made to write a good review, only to voice my opinion. This book was written by Paul McCusker and Marianne Hering, published by Tydale publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    SO much BETTER Than "Magic Treehouse" b/c it's Christian-style!

    Anything by Adventures in Odyssey and Focus on the Family has got to be good, I thought, and this book didn't disappoint! The Imagination Station series is above my daughters' reading level (all 3 are in 1st grade) but I often read books like this to them during our home school class time.

    We just finished reading "The Reluctant Dragon" (which I also highly recommend) and this book was next on the shelf. "Voyage With the Vikings" grabbed our interest from the first. I love History as much as I love books, and my kids love History, too. I've been reading them great historical non-fiction (try David Adler's picture book series) and great historical fiction since they were tiny. No dry Ferris Bueller-style History lessons for us!

    "Voyage with the Vikings" is actually the first book in the Imagination Station series by Marianne Herring and Paul McKuster. This book is about real-life vikings Eric the Red and Leif Eriksson. The cover itself gives an accurate description of the book: 2 kids, Beth and Patrick, end up going back to around AD1,000 and getting mixed up in a viking adventure. "Voyage with the Vikings" delves into the history of Iceland, Leif Eriksson's conversion to Christianity and the strife that caused between he and his father, and so much more... but you'll have to read it to find out the "more"!

    This series is great, exciting fiction that's sure to peak your kids' interest in History. It's very similar to the popular Magic Treehouse Series but better because it's got great spiritual values, too. It's the Christian version of good kids historical fiction I've been waiting for! These kids pray and rely on Jesus whether they're living in 2010 or 1000 years in the past.

    We are SO eager to read the other books in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    A great adventure for boys and girls of all ages

    Wonderful chapter reader for children! If your children like the Adventure in Odyssey series they will love this book of adventure and excitement. Children are quickly drawn into a lively tale of viking adventures. They meet Leif Erikson and are set out on a mission to fine a sunstone before he sets sail with the Imagination Station on board - will they make it? The story is well-written and easy to read. My oldest boy was so excited to receive it in the mail and could not wait to begin reading. The children are confronted with many challenges and opportunities to share about God when they meet Erik the Red. Erik is angry about the new god that challenges his current beliefs. However the story has a redemptive and happy ending. Faith and courage prevail as is always the case in Adventures in Odyssey. I love the fact that children are absorbing good morals and values without even realizing it - for once the parent doesn't have to be the only one stating these things. Children are invited to see what these things are in action.

    Excellent book. Thank you Tyndale for the review copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Great story

    This book was just a pleasure to read! As a homeschooling Mom, it is definitely something I would love for my child to read. It had everything that a good book should have. A good story, a bit of mystery, a good, moral lesson, and pointing to God as the most important thing of all. The fact that it even had a bit of history to it, was a great bonus!

    This story is part of the Adventures in Odyssey and The Imagination Station stories that are put out by Focus on the Family. Personally, I love anything put out by Focus on the Family because I know I can trust them to produce a wholesome program or book that I wouldn't be afraid to let my child read. This book does not disappoint!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story! It really held my attention and if it held my attention, I know it would definitely hold the attention of a child 7 years and up, which is who this book is recommended to. It's not a difficult book, but would be a great reader for your child when they are stepping up from the easier picture-type books. The great thing about this book, too, is that is has wonderful illustrations, so it's great for that reader who is working their way up from more of a picture book. However, because the story is so good, it would definitely be good for any child of any age or grade level. I highly recommend this book!

    This book was provided to me for review by Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    1st in Imagination STation series is terrific start

    Voyage with the Vikings by Paul McCusker & Marianne Hering is the first book in the Imagination Station series from Adventures in Odyssey. The Imagination Station was created by Mr. Whittaker who runs a soda shop called Whit's End. It's a bit like a time machine, but Whit is having troubles with it. It won't work for him, but when cousins Paul and Beth step inside, it lights up, ready for a mission. And they have somewhere important to go: a mysterious Albert is threatened by Lord Darkthorn, and Paul and Beth must retrieve a Viking sunstone to rescue him. Whit keeps a huge supply of costumes on hand to ensure that wherever the cousins go, they will be dressed appropriately, and he seems to have some knowledge of what will happen because he gives them just the tools they will need. In this adventure, Paul and Beth meet Erik the Red and his son Leif Erikson in Greenland. Leif is a Christian and treats the children with kindness, but Erik thinks Christianity is for weaklings and fools and he wants to sell them as slaves. The kids will have to use both their smarts and ability to find the sunstone and escape with their lives. First Mia's review: I liked everything about this book, especially being able to go to the past. My favorite part was the mysterious person who helped them open the church door. I loved the illustrations and the author is magnificent at his writing. I learned that God should forever be in your path. I really like that all of these books are Jesus books. I like the alliteration in the title. Now my review: I think this is a fantastic new series for chapter book readers. Mia and I have read several in the Magic Tree House series, to which this is certain to be compared, but Imagination Station is far superior. The writing doesn't talk down to readers, the plots are thoroughly engaging while using historical characters. They give kids a good view of what life was like at the time, because Patrick and Beth are treated like children of the era. The plot about Albert will propel this kids forward through the next several books, and I will be glad to journey with them. This is one series that I don't dread reading aloud with my daughter each night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Fantastic Fiction for Kids!

    Beth and her cousin Patrick are at Mr. Whitaker's Soda Shoppe (i.e. Whit's End). Whit's End is one of those places that kids love to visit and have a treat. Beth and Patrick are enjoying some good old fashioned ice cream. After finishing their treat they are off to the Bible Room. Patrick is a first time visitor to Whit's End and wants to play video games. Beth informs that there are no video games but something called the Imagination Station. Patrick's curiosity is piqued because he likes the words Imagination Station.
    But the Imagination Station is missing! Off the two go to find Mr. Whitaker the owner of Whit's End. He informs the two that the Imagination Station is not working; however, after a few twists and turns of a few knobs Whit (Mr. Whitaker) thinks the kids can have a go. First, they go to the costume closet and dress up for their adventure. Then Whit asks them to look for Viking Sunstone....as the two climb into the machine they find a note that tells them, "To save Albert I need a Viking Sunstone before the new moon or Lord Darkthorn will lock him inside the tower."
    So the adventure begins!
    This is a great adventure story for dyed-in-the-wool Adventures in Odyssey fans! Even if your child isn't familiar with Odyssey this is a wonderful 5 star read full of action, adventure and learning to rely on God! "The key to adventure lies within your imagination!"
    *This book was provided for review by Tyndale*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Once I Started Reading My Kids Wouldn't Let Me Stop!

    The Imagination Station book series begins with Voyage with the Vikings. At Whit's End, Beth and Patrick are transported by Mr. Whittaker's invention, the Imagination Station, to Greenland circa 1000 as they search for a Viking sunstone. A mysterious note and a vanishing ring add to the excitement of this story.

    Our family already loves Adventure in Odyssey, so we had high expectations for this book. Once I started it, my kids would not let me stop!! We finished it in one day! I was even able to tie in the Viking information from the story with what we had previously learned in our homeschooling. Entertainment AND learning - what a great combo! There is also a web address for more fun, informative facts. The only negative is that my reading isn't as creative as the audio productions of Adventure in Odyssey! Our whole family would highly recommend this book to all families and are looking forward to the next book in the series, Attack at the Arena.

    (Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Great Book!! Highly Recommended

    I recently received Voyage of with the Vikings from Tyndale house to read and review. This is the first book in the Imagination Station series. The imagination station is a time machine that a local inventor has at his workshop. The machine transports the children back in time to Greenland in the year 1000 during the time of the Vikings. They learn a lot as they work together to find a mysterious item called the sandstone that they must retrieve before going back home. The book shows how doing the right thing may be hard, but it is always the right choice. The book ends with another mystery that must be solved which leads into the next book of the series. The other books in the series are: Attack at the Arena (book 2), Peril in the Palace (book 3), and Revenge of the Red Knight (book 4). This series is recommended for children ages 7 and up.

    I really enjoyed reading Voyage with the Vikings. This series would be great for a child to read on his own or to read it together as a family. The plot was laid out well and the mystery makes you desire more. I thought the ending was great in that it led to another mystery to be solved in the next book. The books not only teach history, but they also teach good moral principles too. I would highly recommend this series to anyone with children 7 and up. This would also be a great series to encourage kids who are not excited about reading. I think it would keep their attention and show them that reading can be fun!


    **I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in an exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1