Customer Reviews for

Voyager (Outlander Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1290 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(932)

4 Star

(233)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

OUTSTANDING VOYAGE!!!

While working at a bookstore, I decided that I needed to read one sci-fi and one romance novel just to get a feel for the genre. I selected Diana Gabaldon's "Outlander" for the romance novel, and was absolutely captivated by her story and style. I devoured the first thr...
While working at a bookstore, I decided that I needed to read one sci-fi and one romance novel just to get a feel for the genre. I selected Diana Gabaldon's "Outlander" for the romance novel, and was absolutely captivated by her story and style. I devoured the first three books in less than six weeks--an amazing feat for me as a slow reader with sight impairments--and have started at least 200 people on these books since then. I have had exactly two negative reactions.
Voyager, as I said above, is my favorite of all the books so far. In the last 300 pages or so, Gabaldon's plot moves at breathtaking speed, tying up many ends. The conclusion is stunning. In a year when real time/distance travel is curtailed by high gasoline prices, the "Outlander" series--and "Voyager" in particular--is a mental escape of the first order. If you need some place to go on your "staycation," I would strongly suggest Scotland in the mid-1700's, and a visit with Jamie and Clare Fraser. You won't be disappointed.

posted by 148617 on October 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The Series Ends Here

Sure I want to know what happens to all the characters I fell in love with from Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber but I don't want to slog though pages and pages of meandering plot lines and confusing characters. It seems like the character Clair has become an alter ego ...
Sure I want to know what happens to all the characters I fell in love with from Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber but I don't want to slog though pages and pages of meandering plot lines and confusing characters. It seems like the character Clair has become an alter ego of Diana's. Who controls the LapTop at Mrs. Gabaldon's house? I would like to see Clair and Jamie sail away into the sunset and read a new series by this talented author. Message to Diana Gabaldon ¿ let your characters go and move on!

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1308 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 66
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    OUTSTANDING VOYAGE!!!

    While working at a bookstore, I decided that I needed to read one sci-fi and one romance novel just to get a feel for the genre. I selected Diana Gabaldon's "Outlander" for the romance novel, and was absolutely captivated by her story and style. I devoured the first three books in less than six weeks--an amazing feat for me as a slow reader with sight impairments--and have started at least 200 people on these books since then. I have had exactly two negative reactions.<BR/>Voyager, as I said above, is my favorite of all the books so far. In the last 300 pages or so, Gabaldon's plot moves at breathtaking speed, tying up many ends. The conclusion is stunning. In a year when real time/distance travel is curtailed by high gasoline prices, the "Outlander" series--and "Voyager" in particular--is a mental escape of the first order. If you need some place to go on your "staycation," I would strongly suggest Scotland in the mid-1700's, and a visit with Jamie and Clare Fraser. You won't be disappointed.

    31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    At the start of this book, I was afraid it wasn't going to live up to the first two. It took me awhile to figure out why I wasn't liking it as much. While I enjoyed learning about Jamie and Claire after they were separated, it's the two of them together that make this series so special. And then I realized that story of their 20 years apart is important too. As a reader we need to understand how much of an influence they had on one another. That even after 20 years (not to mention 2 centuries), they still hold those outstanding feelings for each other. But, I have to admit, that moment in the print shop was what I was waiting for! This book takes you on a ride. It's not stop action with all that heart stopping romance in between. It's suspenseful, and at times I really wondered if Jamie and/or Claire was going to get out of whatever situation they managed to find themselves in. It had some major shocks and twists in it, things that I was down right not expecting. And, at times I wondered if 20 years of separation was just too much to overcome. At the end of the story, I was left with a book that rivals my first love of Outlander! I was amazed at the story Diana Gabaldon has managed to create.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Timeless

    I stumbled upon Outlander several years ago and loved that lengthy novel. Jamie and Claire stayed in my mind and I often found myself, apropos of nothing, wondering whatever became of them. The love and friendship they felt for one another went far beyond that of the typical bodice ripper, and Gabaldon's details and (mostly) accurate portrayal of the 18th century were excellent.
    When I found Dragonfly in Amber I immediately began to devour it and have never been so moved by a sequel. Since it was several years after I read Outlander, the beginning scenes set in 1968 and the shifting narration felt a little disjointed and confusing. It began to flow, though, and once again I found myself captured by the tragedy and love in the two characters' lives. Throughout the book, I had a sense of foreboding and felt distraught at the thought that something might happen to separate these two. I had to skip to the last page (which I never do with books!) just to reassure myself. Even knowing the end, I found myself crying over the farewell scene (which I also never do with books!). I had to know immediately what happened so I bought Voyager and stayed up most of the night reading it.
    Voyager picks up almost exactly where DIA ended, with Claire learning that Jamie did not, in fact, die at Culloden. She continues her search for more information about what happened to him afterward, and this 20th century story is interwoven with the events occurring immediately after Claire went back through the stones. Reading a "Jamie-centric" perspective is a welcome change from the normal first person, as we follow him over the next years--from his living in a cave, to his imprisonment, to his fathering an illegitimate child. Overall, though, is the sense of loss and longing between the two and the love that has never ended. When Claire decides to go back to try to find him, it seems both irresponsible (leaving her daughter behind) and the only possible thing she can do. Gabaldon is wise enough to make these characters have new, unknown complexities upon their reunion, rather than sticking the same twenty-somethings into older bodies and expecting us to believe their feelings are exactly the same. Both are changed and wiser, and we experience the challenges of rediscovering each other alongside Jamie and Claire.
    Somewhere past the halfway mark, though, I began to grow restless. Yes, the life of an 18th century Jacobite traitor/smuggler/warrior is bound to be complex and difficult. But do we need to see them thrown into every possible adventure of the era? Do we need to watch them sail across the Atlantic to encounter the same set of people from their past? Do we really believe that Jamie is literally impossible to kill? In addition, many things are vague and left unexplained, such as why Jamie is suddenly the captain of French soldiers, and whether it's Jamie or another Highlander who is the cause of Miss Campbell's madness. In all, a timeless classic I highly recommend.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Third time's a charm!

    Voyager was just as addictive as the first two in the Outlander series! Not as totally indulgent as Outlander....but then again...there's nothing like the first...is there? With that being said, I was completely satisfied with the plot and the further development of the characters. She kept the main characters true and human. I also liked how Gabaldon decided to write about the 20 years in past tense versus taking us through the entire 20 years. Liked all of the new characters. There was still lots of adventure....although I noticed she lessened with the sex scenes; which I thought was appropriate. It made the few so much more enduring! Also, even though the characters are 20 years older their passions are just as true...which is true to life. I could honestly stop reading here (hah! fat chance) because of how Voyager ended. Although I must say a lot will have to do with the fact that I am totally sleep deprived and on the verge of a divorce (hehehe....slightly compulsive). My husband keeps saying "I can't believe I have 3 more books to go!" However, it's Christmas and if you can't read at Christmas when can you? I've started my husband on the 2nd book in the series and he is thoroughly hooked - job done! I will definitely be packing the light blue book for my road trip! Voyager is a great read!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful Series

    While stoling through a bookstore, I decided that I needed to read one sci-fi and one romance novel just to get a feel for the genre. I selected Diana Gabaldon's "Outlander" for the romance novel, and was absolutely captivated by her story and style. I devoured the first three books in less than six weeks--an amazing feat for me as a slow reader--and have started at least a couple of dozen people on these books since then. I've had a couple of negative reactions.

    This is one of my favorite of all the books so far. In the last 300 pages or so, Gabaldon's plot moves at breathtaking speed, tying up many ends. The conclusion is stunning. The "Outlander" series--and "Voyager" in particular--is a mental escape from the chaos. If you need some place to visit I would strongly suggest Scotland in the mid-1700's, and a visit with Jamie and Clare Fraser. You won't be disappointed.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    The Outlander series

    You have to read Outlander first, period. there is no other way to get into the character build. There are a lot of them not just Jamie and Claire. So it's hard to write a review of just this book. I will simply say it's a series you can't put down and wait with bookmark in hand for the next book. I just bought them all at once so as to avoid the wait. The characters are truly fascinating and you like them. You might not always like what they do but they are deeper than that and they carry you into their adventures and there are so many of them. These books transpose time and space, country to country and it is a testament to a true love story without all the simpering whimpering mush that sometimes accompanies a love story. These people come alive before your eyes and you hold them in your heart. This series is a must read. Diana Galbadon has done a wonderful job here of storytelling with a heart

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding

    This does not disappoint. Every bit as good as the previous books in the series. It moves along so smoothly that you're done before you know it and just want more. Claire is really with the right man in her life. She seems to get out of one scrape after another. I wish the next one, Drums of Autumn was a recorded audio book and all the rest in the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    The Series Ends Here

    Sure I want to know what happens to all the characters I fell in love with from Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber but I don't want to slog though pages and pages of meandering plot lines and confusing characters. It seems like the character Clair has become an alter ego of Diana's. Who controls the LapTop at Mrs. Gabaldon's house? I would like to see Clair and Jamie sail away into the sunset and read a new series by this talented author. Message to Diana Gabaldon ¿ let your characters go and move on!

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    You will love this series-

    Out of all of the Outlander books, this was my least favorite. Not that is was bad it just didn't flow as well as the other books, in my opinion. I still needed to read it in order to know what was happening in order for me to continue with the series. It is hard to put this book series down. You will want to know what happens to Jamie, Claire and all the other amazing characters. This is a great book series with lots to think about. I love the time period. I am not usually interested in "time travel" but these books will capture you.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!

    Diana Gabaldon continues to blow me away with the novels she writes. The depth of feeling I have for her characters is unbelievable. I truly feel as if I know them, and love them as if they were family...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    my favorite of the series

    Voyager was oddly my favorite book the series. I'm already on book 6 and I still look back to say that this was one of the best (besides the first book of course.) Reading about Jamie and Claire apart was surprisingly wonderful. You really get to see the characters struggle and suffer without each other and after the first 2 books I started taking it for granted that they would be together forever. Its just such an emotional book filled with great suspense and great adventure. Roger and Brianna make the book even more wonderful. They add extra twists and turns to the novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    My most favorite series ever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    This series is a must read

    Gabaldon has a wonderful way to spin a tale and develop her characters. When I finish one I begin another waiting to read about these "friends" of mine. Don't stop @ 3 keep reading to the end then start her lord john series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Same great writing!

    I enjoyed this book just as much as I enjoyed the two before it! LOVE THAT JAIME!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    keeps you coming back for more

    I enjoyed the present time, back in time, then back to present time, of the story telling, from claire to her daughter and gellis's son, the researcher.
    it was a good jump to the next book, and according to research, it is good bit of work.
    love it and can't wait to see what's coming next.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Fabulous!

    With perfect narration, characters that are bold and interesting, and a story that flows so easy you never want to stop listening, this installment of the Outlander series does not disappoint. I would recommend enjoying the books in order, as the main characters have a vast and complicated history, but even on its own I believe the story will delight any reader.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Escapism at its Best

    Davina Porter does a phenomenal job portraying the characters in this audio book. I've read the book itself, but her use of various voices for the different people, inflection and cadence make this a marvelous addition to the printed volume. I listened to the audio book after several readings of the book in print and was amazed to hear aspects to this story of drama, romance, adventure and action that I had never "heard" in any of my readings. I expect to listen to this over and over.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Almost as good as the first

    I love this Outlander book. I thought it was almost as good as the first one and much better than the second. It was faster paced and really easy to read. I recommend it to anyone who likes the other Outlander books or is thinking of reading them. It is a great series and well worth the length.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply loved it

    It seemed must faster paced than the first 2. I got through it far more quickly....I saw some poor ratings on this and I just had to put out there that if you liked the first 2 (I did, but thought they were slow) I see no reason why you won't love this one!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE THIS SERIES

    I read a review of this book while online at Barns and Noble. And I decided to try the first book Outlander. I was captivated from the beginning. The authors writing style is fantastic and I found myself unable to put this down! I found myself crying with Claire and wishing for a man like Jamie even with all his flaws. I have now read the whole series and I have found myself rereading it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1308 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 66