Customer Reviews for

The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle

Average Rating 3.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

read it!!!

i read this book before i got my nook and loved it. it was entertaining and always left you wondering what will happen next. it would be great for any young adults and elementary school kids it's really intresting and easy to follow along with. if you are not sure if ...
i read this book before i got my nook and loved it. it was entertaining and always left you wondering what will happen next. it would be great for any young adults and elementary school kids it's really intresting and easy to follow along with. if you are not sure if you want to download this ebook i say yes!!!

posted by natnoodle3 on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Warning to Parents - Problematic Content

I read all the Dr. Dolittle books as a child and LOVED them-- I was captivated by the premise of being able to talk to animals as well as by the exciting adventures. However, I was not prepared for what I found in <The Voyages of Dr. Dolittle> (1951 printing) as I...
I read all the Dr. Dolittle books as a child and LOVED them-- I was captivated by the premise of being able to talk to animals as well as by the exciting adventures. However, I was not prepared for what I found in <The Voyages of Dr. Dolittle> (1951 printing) as I was reading it to my son. In Chapter 5 (p. 36), Polynesia the parrot is catching Dr. Dolittle up on the goings-on back in Africa. She tells him that one of the African kings they know has sent his son to study at Oxford. She further comments that the Prince didn't want to go, fearing that he would be eaten by white cannibals. She then states, "You know what those <n-word> are--that ignorant!" This troubling line has been excised from more recent printings. However...

I'm afraid the trouble with the Dr. Doolittle books extends beyond problematic language. Unfortunately, the books promote a "white savior" mentality, as the good Doctor solves problems for ignorant natives at every stop in his voyages. Yes, in and of itself, having Dr. Doolittle help natives he encounters is noble and good. But it is the way the problem-solving is presented--one wonders how the natives ever managed to get along at all without him!

This is MOST troubling in that these are children's books. I devoured these books as a child, never discussing them with my parents. While I believe I would have noticed any occurrences of blatantly racist language, the more subtle racist content in the "white savior" message went unnoticed and absorbed. This emphasizes the need for parents to carefully vet the books their children read so they may discuss any problematic issues. I don't know how popular Dr. Doolittle books are amongst today's children... hopefully, not very!

posted by 2458807 on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Awesome book

    This is a great book you and your kids will love it. It is a great source of literichure. Exploration is at hand!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    The Animal Man

    From the smallest ant to the biggest whale, Doctor John Dolittle studied and adored animals. In the story, 'The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle' the author Hugh Lofting presented the doctor to the world. Telling them about his voyages he took and the animals he talked to. It all started from a young boy named Jacob Puddleby, who is telling about his wonderful experience with the famous John Dolittle. Jacob's parents did not have enough money to send him to school. Jacob would walk around town and learn his own way. One day he sees a hawk that has a little squirrel in his grasp. Young Jacob scares the hawk just in time before it killed the squirrel. Scared and frightened that the squirrel was injured Jacob takes care of it. However he notices he doesn't have the proper education to treat it. So he goes in search of help the cats meat-man tells him about the greatest doctor ever doctor John Dolittle. There he goes in search for the great doctor. After visiting him everyday he becomes fascinated with animals and sooner or later he is living with the doctor and going on a voyage. The book had its strong points like the characters. John Dolittle seems like a great man, a man who seems to know all the answers in the world. He seems to be the kindest man to ever live. The young boy Jacob Puddleby had a voluminous amount of energy and always helping the doctor and thinking quickly. The book also had some weak points; in my opinion it was to short. This is a more of a mystery and adventure book. Another strong point would be the diversity of all the animals. The characters seem realistic such as Doctor Dolittle a man who loved nature. Also having stock characteristics such as the captain. I really do recommend that people should read this book. It makes you aware of nature and all it's amazing creations. It is a really good beach read, or a story that you can curl up in front of the fire. Either way you should read the book the voyages of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting, it sure to make an animal out of you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Jamuary 27 2013

    I loved this book it was great so dont say bad stuff about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    The man who talked to animals

    This is a great story of a man who is able to understand and talk to animals of all kinds. He goes on many different and amazing adventures to places that one can only imagine. He goes to court and interviews a judge's dog and in another tale he rides a giant snail. This book is more appropriate for ninth through twelth grade students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    This is what a children's book is all about

    The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle is a well written book about the adventures of an animal doctor who can talk with animals. It is told through the eyes of a boy named Tommy. This is the kind of writing, the kind of story that children should read. I wrote my 5 year old grandson of the story when I finished reading the book. He was thrilled and wanted his dad to read and reread my letter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    The Crazy Adventures of Doctor Dolittle

    ¿Dr. we¿ll never out run them in this poor ship!¿ Gub-Gub exclaimed. Just then thousands of canaries came to the rescue. They took some string and started to pull. ¿Hooray!¿ the animals yelled. They were finally getting away from the evil pirate Ben Ali. The book I read was The Story of Dr. Dolittle by Hugh Lofting. The major characters are Polynesia the parrot, Dr. Dolittle, Che-Che the monkey, and Jip the dog. The main settings are Puddleby and Africa. Dr. Dolittle can talk to animals. Che-Che told Dr. Dolittle that all the monkeys in Africa were sick. So Dr. Dolittle sailed to Africa. He cured all the monkeys and helped Prince Bumbo become white. This was a great book. It was very exciting. Once, Polynesia snuck into King Bumbo¿s bedroom and tricked him into letting Dr. Dolittle and the animals out of prison. Also, Ben Ali¿s crew almost caught and killed Dr. Dolittle and the animals but Dr. Dolittle tricked Ben Ali and they escaped without a scratch. Dr. Dolittle was punched in the stomach a few times by a brutally beaten man. I think that people who like animals should read this book because there are tons of different animals like monkeys, dogs, pigs, sharks, and many more. Also, people who want to read a thrilling tale of a man and his animals will love this book. Dr. Dolittle traveled around the whole world and met all kinds of different animals. Life for Dr. Dolittle wasn¿t easy but he still met all his goals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    Recommended

    This book is especially great for youngsters between the ages of 6-10. I read this book between those ages and up until about 6th grade that was my favorite book. I recommend this book to everyone and not just children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1