Customer Reviews for

Vulture Peak (Sonchai Jitpleecheep Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Sandykit

    HA!!! NO SCHOOL!!!!! WHOOP!!!))) I KNEW IT WAS U!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Oakkit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Silver

    Hi Vulture!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Vulture

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Tigerstrike

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Violetkit

    Runs in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Fawnheart

    Runs in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Zero burst

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Silverpaw

    Sits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Highly recommend

    It's kind of weird, but in a good way. But it is probably the best of the Sonchai Jitpleecheep series, and I can't put it down. Fast moving story with lots of twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Body Count

    The Bangkok novels by John Burdett are somewhat off the wall, and this latest entry is no exception. It opens with three corpses lying on a bed in a posh mountaintop mansion, with all bodily organs missing. This sets the stage for an investigation into the world-wide trade in human organs by the Buddhist detective, Sonchai Jitplecheep, instigated by his boss, who plans to run for governor of Bangkok based on solving the murders and putting an end to the business.

    We follow the detective’s efforts in a bizarre path from Asia to Dubai, where he meets beautiful twin females, and back to Bangkok and its environs. Along the way we are introduced to a couple of more interesting detectives, one from Hong Kong, another from Shanghai. More important, however, are the far out experiences Sonchai lives through in an effort to understand the organ trade and solve the original three murders.

    Needless to say, the novel is filled wit exotic images, detailed descriptions of the sex industry in Thailand, and Sonchai’s unusual marriage to a former prostitute. While the Bangkok novels are always a lot of fun, this one is a lot blacker than usual, filled with eyeballs, livers, hearts and other parts of the body.

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    DFR

    DFR, this latest Sonchai case is extremely satisfying. In comparison to most other mysteries, it could have ended almost 100 pages before the actual end of the book, but it kept going. You are left with an amazing zinger as well, that caps off the series' required black humor. It is action-packed, full of truly bizarre happenings, and Supatra and Lek get their fair share, along with some foreign special guests, of the detecting. This, of all of them I would love to see turned into an inferior movie adaptation, which now seems inevitable.
    There are also, per the usual, great little funny commentaries about life, farangs' schizo views on prostitution, their impending homo-emergence, cloud policing, Linda's house call, "really, really, really" etc. There is a greater sense of whimsy throughout. There are also some thought provoking attitudes that make you think beyond the page. As was present in all the books, the line between police and criminal is permeable. I love how, once Sonchai arrives on the proverbial doorstep of the criminal, there is that mutual respect and candor, and the "big confession" is revealed. It's like Sonchai knows, as revealed in the previous book, that nothing may ever be done to the criminal, because they are well-protected, etc. that's simply satisfying just to know whodunit. It's hilarious when, right before this, when Sonchai falls asleep, he awakens not tied and gagged, or dead, but smelling freshly brewed coffee. I haven't encountered that much in the American genres, but, then again, I'm no crime fiction expert.
    At the risk of getting on a soapbox, I was intrigued to hear a character's thoughts on the controversial topic of whether or not certain transgendered persons make a gender reassignment, not out of a desire to be one's true self, but because they feel they will never be accepted by their partner, or their society otherwise. . .or, just to be more "marketable" I am not an authority on current issues or trans terminology so pardon my ignorance. I do like, how, in the series as a whole, sex and sexuality can be talked about frankly, without the typical judgment.
    Nitpicking now---Vikorn and Sonchai having their pissing contest is wearing a little thin. Tired of the same clothing brands being mentioned by Sonchai, although I do appreciate the attention to product detail, similar to BY NIGHTFALL . Also, I was puzzled when Sonchai says, "Opium is so exotic these days, I don't think I've seen it in Bangkok since I was a cadet." Isn't this exactly how it went at the beginning of Bangkok Tattoo with Chanya? I could be mistaken. Fans of the series will like this one, especially if they were a little disappointed in the fourth one, like I was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Gamee

    An asian flavored modern-time "1984" meet Sherlock, but more fun. Its the kind of book that needs you to posses a very certain tone of emotional intelligence and life's experience to fully enjoy it. Glad I do. So glad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2