Customer Reviews for

W. B. Yeats - Twentieth-Century Magus

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    To reflection

    What books did you put chapters 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,&8?
    Also i have an idea after your done with all the chapter you should type it up and sell them to warrior fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    Emerald ♢

    I bet Mapleshadow's brother is Stone...
    <br>As for the 'kill your own enemy' thing, you don't need to try so hard to make ScorchClan look evil.
    <p>-Emerald Rebel &#9830

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Nebula&star

    Love it! Amazing twist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Shodowwing

    AWESOME! IT IS AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Love ur story

    Keep writing, I'm so mad at flamestar right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Love it!!!!

    Its wicked good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    TMS

    I thought so! Boo Hazelbreeze! I love it! Please continue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    Portal ✧

    Oh, fart, that's fartalicious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    obibunkenobi11

    I LOVE IT! Please continue! -obibunkenobi11

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Winterberry's Struggle ~ Chapter 24

    (Hazelbreeze's POV) <p> The Warrior's den stnk of dried blood; ScorchClan's cats were barely starting to heal from the attack. Hazelbreeze fully awoke, the air smelling of melting snow. Stretching, she totted out of her net and into the clearing. Green-leaf was on its way. Twigs on trees were tipped with green, and the fresh arouma of pine needles returned. It was a lovely day. <br> "Good morning, Hazelbreeze!" The friendly greeting of Mapleshadow meowed. Mapleshadow was a former rogue who just recently joined ScorchClan. She said she had a brother, too, but they were seperated at birth. Mapleshadow hoped that with joining a Clan in the forest, she and her brother would reunite, whoever he was. After all, most rogues have been joining the Clans. "Any sign of him?" She asked hopelessly. It didn't take a brain to figure out who she was talking about. <br> "No, I' sorry, Maplesdow. What ds he look like again?" <br> "I vaugly remembr as a kit when we were still together... gray, I think? Black? I'm not sure." <br> "Don't lose hope; I'm sure we'll find him soon." Hazelbreeze really just wanted her to stay because ScorchClan needed more cats. Maybe with green-leaf, they'd be blessed with kits. Tigerblaze, the deputy, had died the previous day because of her wounds. Flamestar had to chose a deputy by sunset. There would be no patrols today without a deputy to organize them, so Hazelbreeze relaxed in the growing sunlight. She partly wished she could go on a border patrol to try to spot Winterpaw or Dustpaw... Hazelbreeze still needed her revenge. <br> *I wonder if they have a leader yet?* she thought. *We may have missed the opportunity to attack.* Flamestar appeared out of his den, dark orange eyes glowing. Hazelbreeze was supprised that he leaped on the High Boulder. *Is this the deputy ceremony? But he had all day to choose!* <br> "All cats old enough to kill their own enemy, join here!" Other cats looked just as confused as she. Still, they joined their leader. Shadow sat next to Hazelbreeze, suprise in his deep brown eyes. Seedsoil and Mist sat near the front, chins high a they attentivelly looked up at Flamestar with perfect posture. A few icy cold glares were exchanged between the two shecats. <br> *They both expect to be chosen as deputy. I can't blame them; there's no other cat in ScorchClan who is more loyal and experienced then them!* Ice and Snake slunk in the shadows. The brother didn't want to show their fierce battle wounds; they took it as a sign of weakness that they got injured. <br> "The deputy was too easy to pick and obvious for me, I couldn't wait any longer to announce it," he laughed. "The cat I am about to chose has shown loyalty, determination, and proven to me that he/she thinks about things. This cat will hopefully serve as deputy for awhile, and stay a strong leader for even longer. By the power of StarClan, I name the young Hazelbreeze, former WaterClanner, as my deputy. Congratulations!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    The Intelligent Approach to Yeats's Occultism

    Susan Johnston Graf new book on Yeats's occult beliefs may signal a new 'middle ground' approach the Yeats's esoteric interests such as been recently applied to the history of Theosophy by K Paul Johnson and Joscelyn Godwin. If so, she has performed an invaluable service to the study of Yeats. In the first fourth of the book Ms Graf gives a clear summary of W. B. Yeats's occult background in Theosophy, his long association with the Order of the Golden Dawn and its successors, his formation of several Celtic magical orders, and his later interests in spiritualism. The real core of the work is the detailed examination of Per Amica Silentia Luna (1916) perhaps Yeats's most understudied and most underrated book. Squeezing meaning from this work is rather like deciphering a coded document, because it is written in Yeats's most carefully crafted, measured, and completely deceptive prose. Many turns of phrases heretofore interpreted as poetic figures of speech by literary academics are revealed by Graf to be Yeats's own private esoteric terms with specific, concrete meanings. Most Yeats scholars have considered Per Amica to be an obscure prelude to A Vision (1925 and 1934), but Graf reveals it to be a unique and revealing work, in many ways expressing ideas much different from its better known cousin. The final chapters deals with the series of mediumistic experienced by Yeats's bride Georgie (known as George) Hyde-Lees which began to occur four days after their wedding in October 1917. These mediumistic experiences, became the basics of Yeats's new 'philosophy' published the two versions of A Vision, and became the underpinning of almost everything he wrote during the later period of his life. Graf's book forms a powerful antithesis to Brenda Maddox's recent odorous book Yeats's Ghosts (1999), which suggested that the entire visionary experience of Yeates was driven by the ticking of Mrs Yeats' biological time-clock, and that she faked the entire mediumistic experience to keep her husband's interest and to deliver instructions about their sex lives designed to produce pregnancy in the most efficient manner. Instead Graf advances a more reasonable thesis: that the Yeats were engaged in a form of sex magic, guided the supernal intelligences toward the creation of 'children of a higher order,' perhaps an Irish Avatar for the new age. This does not negate the ticking of George's time-clock, or her desire to have children as a motive, but recognizes and accepts the deeply held occult convictions of both of the Yeates. Susan Johnson Graf has done something quite rare in Yeats criticism. She has examined the poets occult beliefs without prejudice, accepted them for what they were, and examined exactly what they might mean to his writing, without any snide disclaimers or protestations of disbelief which usually accompanies such studies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1