BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wide Awake

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Every once in a while you come across a book that changes you or

    Every once in a while you come across a book that changes you or has a message that you desperately needed to hear. For me, Wide Awake is that book. It is such an amazingly beautiful story about being given a second chance at life, about letting go of past mistakes and embracing the future and all its endless possibilities whole heartedly, about being the person you want to be and not the one others want to see. 
    I wont give any spoilers but i will say that i was hooked from the very beginning. Emma's determination to get better & get her life back on track had me rooting for her. And mason...sweet Mason...who I am just totally in love with is absolutely perfect. They just complement and complete each other perfectly. Emma's parents are a bit frustrating but you have to keep in mind that they're dealing with a traumatic event also & while they're overjoyed that their daughter has finally come out of a 6 month long coma when she wasn't even expected to live, they don't quite know how to handle the person she is now. The big twist towards the end caught me by surprise and was just so heart breaking, but the way it all ended was perfect and oh so bittersweet. I felt like I needed a good cry once it was all over. I know everybody is affected differently when reading a story such as this and I can only hope that others are lucky enough to take away the same message & feeling as I did. This is the type of story that will stick with you forever.
    I would love to see a 2nd book as I'm now totally invested in this awesome story! I should also say that I have never written a lengthy review on any book I've read but felt compelled to do so with this one. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Utterly breath takingly beautiful!!!

    I finally read this book. This wonderfully amazing book! I cried a lot. Shelly Crane is a very creative writer. I love her Significance Series!! Collide series is brilliant!! But this book, this incredibly Raw book is magnificently written!! Emma a 19yr old senior had been in a hit and run incident that left her in a coma for six months, tries to find herself and ends up getting a second chance at life. The people in her life from before the coma, family included, are total strangers to her. The only one she feels safe with and completely trusts is her physical therapist, Mason. He helps her through the roughest times of her recovery and protects her from those who can't accept her for who she is now. This book takes you through emotional twist and turns! I recommend this book to everyone, literally! Shelly you have gone to a whole new level in writing. I pray that you get well soon, you are a beautiful person with an equally beautiful soul and I enjoy all your stories and thank you for sharing Wide Awake. It may have been late, but it was so worth every minute!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Loved It!!

    Great read, wonderful story!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    5

    Phenomenal! If I could give this book 10 stars, I would. Seriously, Mason is my new favorite fictional boyfriend. What a great idea for a YA love story! And even though I could predict some 'twists' in the book and had inklings about others, nothing in this book was super predictable or cliche,unlike most YA books. And the details-well, you'll see. I have mad respect for the author, especially after reading her own sad tale. Man, she didn't leave anything for us to wonder about.....though I thought she was going to, right up 'til the epilogue.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Usually when I read a book, I get lost in the story, almost pict

    Usually when I read a book, I get lost in the story, almost picturing myself as the character and living their lives along with them. But with this one, I felt like I was standing beside my best friend as she was living her life. I was cheering her on, telling her how awesome she was, and generally just being the cheerleader Emma didn't want to be. 
    Emma wakes up from a 6 month coma, brought on by a hit and run, staring at strangers. People who claim to be her parents, but she has no recollection of them. As she proceeds to learn more about the girl she was, she's even more confused, unable to reconcile herself and this Emma that they say she is. By all accounts, Emma appears to be a spoiled, self-centered B*$(# and she can't imagine herself acting this way. 

    "How does one gain weight when they aren't eating anything? I was in a coma! I was literally eating nothing and I gained weight. Which can only mean that I had a serious problem before I went into a coma" 

    Emma learns she has a boyfriend, Andy, that she's having some trouble understanding why she would ever be attracted to him. But everyone tells her that the best way to get back to who she was is to immerse herself in that life. To be Emma. To be with her boyfriend, to hang with her friends, to dress, talk and act like Emma would. But none of it feels right. 
    Through all of this, she is falling in love with her physical therapist, Mason. To say he's swoon worthy would be an understatement. 

    "I want to give you back your first kiss, the one that jerk stole from you. And I want it to be something that even a coma can't make you forget."

    But must like everyone, he's far from perfect. He's hot and cold with Emma has he tries to resist his feelings for her. Mason also has some secrets that could burn out any potential relationship with Emma before they even get going. 
    Shelly is such an awesome author and this story gripped me. Also, her chapter titles were AWESOME! Each chapter was a different useless fact that was all together, too funny. I looked forward to each chapter, partially just for that. 

    Useless Fact number Six
    Every time you sneeze, brain cells die

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Great book!

    Shelly Crane has written another wonderful book. Great story!! I loved the characters.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Emma wakes up after a six-month coma and can┬┐t remember anything

    Emma wakes up after a six-month coma and can’t remember anything about herself. Her parents, brother, sister, boyfriend and friends all want the old Emma back, but the new Emma doesn’t know how to be their Emma. And maybe isn’t sure she really wants to be her anyway.

    I liked Emma, she was fragile and yet strong at the same time. When her boyfriend pressured her to be the Emma he remembered, she managed to stand up to him and tell him that he needed to be patient. Even though he was persistent, she still stuck to her guns. I liked that she didn’t become a coward and try to please everyone all the time. Andy, said boyfriend, made it hard to know if he was a good guy or not. Sometimes, his persistence with Emma made me think he was a sweetheart who just missed his girl, but his cocky attitude made it hard to like him. Her parents were also hard nuts to crack – clearly they loved Emma, but why wouldn’t they just leave her alone instead of pushing her to be the old Emma? Emma’s physical therapist, Mason, ran hot and cold, making it hard to know whether to like him or not.

    If anyone wants an example of instalove, look no further than this book. And not just from her. After Emma woke up, Mason was the only person who seemed to see her as she truly was, not who she used to be. He was one of the first faces she saw when she woke and almost instantly felt a connection to him. No matter what else was going on in her life, she felt a magnetic pull to him akin to instalove. And Mason seemed drawn to her as well. Though he was wishy washy about it, which was frustrating. We learned a bit near the end about why he felt so strongly about her, but even with that, his felt like a case of instalove as well. I’m a big fan of chemistry and attraction, but this relationship bordered on obsessive.

    The book had a useless fact at the beginning of most chapters, and they were fairly interesting. They didn’t add anything to the story (though a book about useless facts does play a part), but I liked their inclusion. The novel is very well written, with plenty of interesting dialogue and scene setting. There were a few bothersome bits (the psychiatrist that only appeared in a few scenes, never to be heard from again, the instalove, the overly dramatic ending, the tattoo…), but the romance and story more than made up for them.

    The sum up: Sweet and entertaining with a side of sad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    beautiful story...

    Let me start off by saying that I absolutely, wholeheartedly, 100% love me some Mason. But what about Merrick you ask? Oh if you didn't know already, Merrick (from Crane's COLLIDE series) is my all-time favorite book boyfriend. Many have come close to stealing his thunder, but alas, he is still my main man. But wait! Mason seems to be coming in close, sneaking his way to the front on my heart. Ah, you are quite the catch Mason, but Merrick will probably always be in that top spot. Sorry,but you are a close runner up.

    Now let me tell you about a girl named Emma. I just adored this girl for who she was…after the coma. Because apparently she wasn’t the greatest person before. But that is ok. While working through the therapy with Mason and her deleted memories we see her becoming such a strong person physically and emotionally. Every now and then we see her vulnerable side show, and that is ok too. I don’t know about you, but I like seeing someone that isn’t always strong…doesn't always got it together for sake of show. It makes them more human and easier to relate too. Crane has always given us those types of female leads. And to me it is refreshing for once. Females that are too strong or too hard headed can be exhausting at times.

    There is a feeling I get before I start one of Crane's books. It’s an intense feeling of anticipation. I know her book is going to contain something beautiful...something that will make my heart ache in a 100 different ways. And I look forward to that feeling, because every time I read one of her books I am never disappointed. Ever. It is such a special thing knowing that a person can write a book and make you feel that way. Crane writes about romance...the kind that makes your breath shudder in a wonderful way…the kind that makes your eyes flutter when that absolute perfect line is read...the kind that makes you remember exactly what you felt the first time your realized you were in love. Yeah, she is that good.

    WIDE AWAKE was written perfectly and had me in such an emotional state. Even though I kinda, sorta figured out a part in the storyline, the ramifications I did not. That blew my mind. I was reeling from that moment on until the very end. And I know Crane says this is a one-time deal, but she really should think about giving us a little more. I mean, just a little. Ah! Listen to me, I sound as if I am addicted and Crane is my supplier. Well, she kind of is, right? Ans I will gladly accept all she dishes out.

    This is an awesome story that had my heart from the moment I cracked this book open. I think anybody who loves weak-in-the-knees romance will love this one. WIDE AWAKE is definitely in my TOP 3 books of 2013! Yeah, it is that swoony.

    FAV LINES...
    “He stole my first kiss. I mean,” I twists my fingers in the air in frustration, “I know it wasn’t my first kiss, technically, but I don’t remember any of the other ones. He just swooped in and stole it. And I let him.” (Emma)
    ****
    “You know…every room in this place is just dark and tainted, and yours is the only light and life here. This job is going to suck without waiting to see you every day.” (Mason)
    “Then you’ll just have to come see me,” I said coyly. (Emma)
    ****
    A little later, he took me home. The make-out session in the front seat was another level of amazing that I had yet to experience until then. I felt like my lungs couldn’t keep up with my want to keep going. I was dying, drowning, and was perfectly fine with it. (Em

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Wow

    Really good writing. Great story and message.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    wow. this book was fantastic! really, I loved the entire thing

    wow. this book was fantastic! really, I loved the entire thing - wonderful story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Another great book from Shelly Crane

    This is another great book from Shelly Crane! It has tragedy, redemption, heartache, humor and romance in it and Mason, ah Mason...you give Caleb (from Significance) a run for his money.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    TiWi

    5 Stars...Another Great Love Story...so many emotions in this book, This is the 6th book I have read by Shelly Crane I really enjoy her Books (Significance Series) !!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Okay, good teen book

    This wasn't a bad book, just seemed a little unbelievable. I think it's a good book for teens, my niece would enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    First of all, whoever designed this cover was a genius. I adore

    First of all, whoever designed this cover was a genius. I adore this cover. I wish all covers were this awesome. I can't really put a finger on what it is that just makes this cover amazing but it is.

    Okay ... let's see ... oh. The chapter titles. I won't lie. I HATED the chapter titles. So terrible. I was ready to chunk the book and just call it a day. In my mind, titled chapters (especially ones in such a weird format) are for children's books. But. And you'll hardly ever hear me say this, I was wrong. And I'm glad that I was wrong. Are the chapter titles weird? Hell yes. Do they make sense once you get into the book? Hell yes. I can't think of another way to title these chapters, actually. The author knows what she's doing. So I apologize to Ms. Shelly Crane for prejudging. Well, it wasn't prejudging since I was already reading the book but you get what I'm saying. I was wrong. Just this once.

    All in all ... AH-MAZING book. Loved it. Adored it. There were a few spots that were a bit slow but that was it, the writing is stellar, the plot and how it played out was amazing and I loved the characters! I really liked the heroine of the novel. The way that she came across is exactly how I think that I would act in this situation. Can you imagine waking up and not knowing who anyone was? You don't know any of your family or friends or most importantly, yourself. And what if all of these people surrounding you kept telling you that you weren't ... YOU. Just mind-boggling. I can only hope that this never happens to me or anyone I love because I don't know if I would be as strong as I hope I would be.

    I'm really excited about this author. I've never read anything by her and the moving way with which she wrote this novel is pretty cool. I'll definitely pick up the next in this series and I've been looking into some of her other works. Looks like I may have found another favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Cheesy.

    Cheesy, dull, average. I won't be reading anymore about this couple.
    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Really good

    This was a really good book. A bit inconsistent at times, but very thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am a huge fan of Shelly Crane. All in all this was a really go

    I am a huge fan of Shelly Crane. All in all this was a really good book. But it left me wanting more in the end. But I love readying a story to its end, I guess its one of the reading flaws that I have. I want to know more about what happens later!!(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Awful

    This book is awful. I didn't like it at all, and I couldn't even finish it. I am a nurse, and it is very unethical to get involved with your patients. This book really bothered me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    what a terrific and enjoyable read., looking forward to the next

    what a terrific and enjoyable read., looking forward to the next one...  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Cant wait

    I just bought this book and it sounds good accourding to the reviews, cant wait to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4