Customer Reviews for

Wide Awake

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Great book!

    loved this book- very interesting and would definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Wow

    Not my normal kind of read however once i started it i couldn't put it down, Numerous times I had to wipe the tears, Beautiful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    This book is not normally what I read. But I thought I would gi

    This book is not normally what I read. But I thought I would give it a chance. It was awesome, well written, plot, the main character went through everything she did and didnt seem whinny about it. I cant wait till the 2nd book comes out. I read the book in less than a day could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Oh my, where to begin.  I am completely and totally in love with

    Oh my, where to begin.  I am completely and totally in love with Mason.  Talk about swoon-worthy.  I am a huge Shelly Crane fan and I have all her books, but Wide Awake has quickly become one of my absolute favorites out of all of them.  When you read the synopsis, it sounds really sad, and the situation is sad...I mean, Emma, and I loved Emma, has been in a coma for six months and is in Hospice, then when she wakes up, she can't remember anything from her life before.  Tragic, very tragic, but something beautiful is birthed out of the place of death and blossoms into an absolutely wonderful love story, one that despite the heartache, is filled with immeasurable joy.  




    I totally adored the relationship between Mason and Emma.  Yes, they had chemistry and the romance was hot, but their's is a love that goes so much
    deeper.  Shelly Crane has a gift for making you believe in magical pure love, soul mates, and wraps it all up in a wonderful story in the process that completely captures your attention.  You can't help but fall in love with Mason and Emma, especially Mason.  He has been through things that no one should have to endure, especially at his age, and he is perfect for Emma.  I also loved watching Emma's character develop, and her interactions with not only Mason, but her family and friends also, as well as Mason's family and friends.  The story is intense and deals with some difficult issues, but it is also heartwarming and beautiful in the process, and is something contemporary romance fans will not want to miss.  I cannot wait to read Mason's brother Milo's story, Wide Open, which is releasing later this year.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Wow

    I have to say I read Shellys significancr series and loved it. Butthis book was Wow. Amazing loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A review copy was provided for an honest review. Wide Awake had

    A review copy was provided for an honest review. Wide Awake had me the second I seen it was written by Shelly Crane. As a huge fan of her Significance series I was instantly clamoring to get my hands on this novel. Wide Awake didn't disappoint it has everything you look for in a good YA novel—a strong main character, a cute romance, full of heartbreak, love, and loss. I won't say it is her best work but it's certainly up there and many people will love it. It's hardly predictable and is compelling right from the start. It has a strong-willed main character who realizes the many mistakes she's made and she tries to set them right which is no easy task. I wholeheartedly liked the theme of reinventing oneself; it spoke to me on so many levels. The romance is paced perfectly and felt very real and natural as opposed to some novels where it's all or nothing—this has a key blend. Both the internal and external conflicts were relatable and not over the top. There are many little twists the story takes and it's a gripping ride. Wide Awake is a wonderfully poignant young adult novel.

    Emma's character goes through a traumatic experience and loses everything that she once was but gains an even better version of herself. The new her is compassionate, driven, hopeful, and courageous. The girl she was before the accident was shallow and everything she isn't anymore. I absolutely loved watching her overcome all the problems she has thrown her way. Mason is the ideal guy, down-to-earth, funny, patient, caring and the right fit for Emma. Not-to-mention he's super gorgeous with tattoos and has a surprising side job. They both need each other in a lot of ways and I enjoyed the development of their relationship—it was beautiful.

    After narrowly escaping death after a hit and run accident that leaves Emma Walker in a coma for 6 months she unexpectedly wakes up. But what she wakes up to is complete confusion, she doesn't know where she is, how she got there, or who the people wearing surprised expressions are sitting by her bedside, and most importantly who she is. What they tell her leaves her speechless—they're her parents—total strangers determined to make her remember a life she has no account of. The only person she feels at ease with is her physical therapist Mason, the only one who doesn't make her feel like she has to be anyone but herself. Emma is faced with the horrible reality of who she used to be—and that includes her ex-boyfriend, and best friends who are all eager to get her back to the way she was before the accident. Amnesia is a fickle thing but it may just give her a whole new outlook on life—a second chance.

    The writing is great, the story flowed good, and the characters are written well. Their is a lot of wisdom that can be taken away from this story as it is very insightful. Every emotion poured into the words is felt by the reader—there were a couple times I came so close to tears. If a book evokes that much of an emotional response than it is truly something special. It was cute, funny, and at times heart-wrenching. I didn't want the reading journey to end. I'm incredibly happy that their will be a sequel titled Wide Open about Mason's younger brother. I'm excited to read his story and am hoping to see some more of Emma and Mason! Overall nothing bad can be said other than I wish there was more of everything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Loved it!!"

    Beautifil and well written :) 5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Found another Author I like!!! Her writing keeps you turning th

    Found another Author I like!!! Her writing keeps you turning the pages. I read it without stopping or skimming over anything. I look forward to her next book. Also...I just want to wish you well Shelly....hope your feeling better and that your health is improving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Awesome

    I really enjoyed this book. I had read the sneak peek at the end of another of her books and couldn't wait. I was not disappointed. Simply a great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Great

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    One of the best books ever

    I have been a fan of Shelly Crane for some time I have read all of her books. She write with such a passion that you feel as if you are watch a movie or are one of the characters. This book is about a girl named Emma, she is a very popular girl who gets hit by a car and wakes up a diffrent person, and Mason her hot physical therapist. When she awakens she had to decided what to do with her life note. This is a great book that makes you glad that think about your own life. Shelly Crane does it again. I can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Thankk you all

    I realy have a blast writtng it thanks you

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Book

    Best book ive ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3