Customer Reviews for

WIRED

Average Rating 3.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The ultimate digital magazine

Wired has finally brought their amazing digital version of the magazine to the Nook Color and Nook Tablet. If you want to know what the future of professional digital publishing will look like, this is it. Wired didn't scan their pages into an app like most magazines. T...
Wired has finally brought their amazing digital version of the magazine to the Nook Color and Nook Tablet. If you want to know what the future of professional digital publishing will look like, this is it. Wired didn't scan their pages into an app like most magazines. They make their magazine interactive. You can watch embedded videos of product reviews and other points of interest. You can touch various parts of some stories to experience interactive elements like sound effects. Links are provided to buy the products they are reviewing right inside the review. The ONE criticism I have is that you cannot enlarge pages to view detail in photos.

posted by 6755353 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tablet formatting horrible

I'm a subscriber to the print version of Wired, which I enjoy. It's always annoyed me with the tablet version that when you close and re-open it takes you back to the cover, rather than where you left off. But with the current issue, they've made it much worse by taki...
I'm a subscriber to the print version of Wired, which I enjoy. It's always annoyed me with the tablet version that when you close and re-open it takes you back to the cover, rather than where you left off. But with the current issue, they've made it much worse by taking away the scrolling thumbnails of the pages at the bottom, making it that much harder to find your place again.

Plus, the pages are much harder to turn with the new formatting. They took away the swipe across the page to turn it?? Or maybe they just did something to how hard you have to press - sometimes pages will swipe to turn, and sometimes they won't. Now you have to hit a tiny little triangle at the bottom right to turn the page, after you've tapped the screen to make the scroll bar come up. Which, as I mentioned, no longer shows the thumbnails of the pages.

I almost never leave reviews, and I feel a little petty leaving a bad one, but it's actually so annoying to me that I"m unsubscribing, even though it's free to me as a print subscriber.

posted by 8214403 on March 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    The ultimate digital magazine

    Wired has finally brought their amazing digital version of the magazine to the Nook Color and Nook Tablet. If you want to know what the future of professional digital publishing will look like, this is it. Wired didn't scan their pages into an app like most magazines. They make their magazine interactive. You can watch embedded videos of product reviews and other points of interest. You can touch various parts of some stories to experience interactive elements like sound effects. Links are provided to buy the products they are reviewing right inside the review. The ONE criticism I have is that you cannot enlarge pages to view detail in photos.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Great design, below average performance.

    I am in love with the layouts and graphics. This magazine was obviously meant to be read digitally. The content is incredible. Unfortunately, page turns are slow and sometimes unresponsive. Video links will occasionally start, but only the audio will work. Links open a custom built-in browser, and the performance using that is pretty poor. I would prefer that it open my tablets browser (chrome). I have found that magazine performance and features are completely based on publisher, because my brand new NOOK HD has pretty competent hardware, and other digital magazines perform much better than WIRED. I highly recommend this beautiful, and informative magazine. Just be aware that navigating and accessing extra content will feel like a bit of a chore. Note that the NOOK HD+ has a slightly faster processor than my NOOK HD, so perhaps owners of that tablet will see better performance.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Tablet formatting horrible

    I'm a subscriber to the print version of Wired, which I enjoy. It's always annoyed me with the tablet version that when you close and re-open it takes you back to the cover, rather than where you left off. But with the current issue, they've made it much worse by taking away the scrolling thumbnails of the pages at the bottom, making it that much harder to find your place again.

    Plus, the pages are much harder to turn with the new formatting. They took away the swipe across the page to turn it?? Or maybe they just did something to how hard you have to press - sometimes pages will swipe to turn, and sometimes they won't. Now you have to hit a tiny little triangle at the bottom right to turn the page, after you've tapped the screen to make the scroll bar come up. Which, as I mentioned, no longer shows the thumbnails of the pages.

    I almost never leave reviews, and I feel a little petty leaving a bad one, but it's actually so annoying to me that I"m unsubscribing, even though it's free to me as a print subscriber.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    No nook app support

    Really? C'mon.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    Great magazine, but doesn't work on Nook App on non-Nook Android device!

    This restriction is ridiculous.
    Furthermore: if it's not going to work on my device, I should be notified of this, and not allowed to make the purchase. At the moment, I get to pay but not to use my purchase.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Great idea, but be careful

    Love Wired magazine on my Nook HD tablet. The statement made by B&N, however, that your Wired magazine subscription will automatically include the digital edition is not true. I checked with Wired & my print magazine subscription does NOT include the digital one. Why that is so, I have no idea. But, check with Wired before you assume anything. Wired offered a digital edition upgrade for $5.00 to me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    DOES NOT OPEN IN NOOK APP

    I spent 4.99 on this magazine, and the Nook app does not read it. Waste of money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Lame

    Small image that barely fills the middle of the screen. At least two inch black border all around. No option to zoom or expand.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Let this work on ALL android devices instead of the stripped down Nook version

    Would be great if I could get my free copy of Wired on my ASUS Transformer tablet that will run circles around any of the Nook hardware. Dropped the ball on this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Awesome!

    Beautiful pictures, easy navigation. No page turning in articles, you just scroll. It even has sound!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    If you're on a Nook app... don't waste your time.  B&N websi

    If you're on a Nook app... don't waste your time.  B&N website needs some updating... in place it says available on Nook for smartphone and in another it says it isn't...

    Just below the place to hit subscribe you see this.... look it's available for NOOK for Android
    Available on these NOOK devices and apps:
    Nook Devices:NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet   |NOOK Color   |NOOK Tablet
    Tablet/Phone:NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet   |NOOK for iOS   |NOOK for Android
    PC/Mac:NOOK for Windows 8

    Then further down the page it shows this.... "Note: This product is not available on NOOK Apps for smartphones."

    Well B&N, which is it??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    E-version is too hard to operate to read

    They are trying to be different with how the e-magazine works. But it's too hard to navigate, so I am cancelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    can't resize the tiny text

    I am amazed in this age that a supposedly modern magazine like Wired would create an online version that did not let me resize the text. I'm cancelling my trial subscription because I can't read it without a magnifying glass. Wired, not ready for electronic media - ironic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Awesome mag

    But shows small on Nook hd plus?! Why? Ugh smh

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great magazine, horrible formatting

    Issue: January 2013
    Device: nook HD+

    I'm not sure what's going on with this magazine, but my free trial is as far is it will go for now. The magazine is shrunken, centered on the screen, and unable to be zoomed in or stretched to fit the screen. There would be more potential if they went the same route as Entertainment Weekly and jumped straight in to the tablet version, which is spectacular.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    I've always loved this mag. But for some reason the Oct 2013 DL

    I've always loved this mag. But for some reason the Oct 2013 DL didn't have the exclusive online content. Makes me pretty sad. I might as well just read my print version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    It doesn't support my format

    What a shame, it doesn't support my format. And such a great mag.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    B&N version DOES NOT WORK.... Subscribe from different source.

    They continue to ignore us B&N users, and have not fixed this magazine. I will subscribe, but from iBook version on my iPad. At least that one works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    DOESNT WORK!

    The December 2012 issue of this magazine worked "ok" on the nook HD+. There was still formatting issues present. The January issue is not even possible to read. It displays on the screen as 2 inches tall and 1 inch wide. Got with tech support and they say "yup, thats how we see it too. sorry". Unreal. Shame on WIRED and shame on Barnes and Nobles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    extremely disappointing

    Will not work on NOOK HD+. I agree the launch of this title for NOOK HD+ was premature. Please fix and I will come back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5