Customer Reviews for

WWE Legends: Superstar Billy Graham: Tangled Ropes

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2006

    Tangled Ropes Review

    Superstar Billy Graham's Tangled Ropes certainly a must read. It took great courage for Superstar Billy Graham to speak the truth and acknowledge the mistakes he made in the past, and asking those he hurt so much to accept his apologies. Billy Graham takes us on a roller coaster ride throughout his wrestling career and personal life. Great stories and acknoledgements that have helped make wrestling what it is today. Truly a pioneer in the wrestling industry, Billy Graham's Character influenced the Greats of our industry, such as Hulk Hogan, Jesse the Body Ventura and so many others. This story is not only about his battles with drug addictions, steroids and wrestling politics. it's also about the love he has for God, and for his wife Valerie who without her love and support he would certainly not have survived. It was his wife and their faith in God that untangled the ropes throughout his life. Superstar paid a dear price for his mistakes, and through it all God has always been by his side, and has given him oportunities he thought he would never regain. It takes a big man to ask for forgiveness, but a bigger man to forgive. Jesse Hernandez

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Thank goodness he had a co-writer!

    There are two stories in this book. The inside anecdotes of the wrestling industry are plentiful and well-told. On the other hand, Superstar lived a completely self-destructive life - with or without the drug abuse. He lays on the holy roller beliefs interspersed with decadence and failed relationships. Nothing gets too salacious in this book - no gradiose steroid rages or orgies (though the line about an acquaintance giving steroids to his doberman is 'different'). Graham shows a repectful tone towards the people in his life and readily admits his own failures. He just never learned... couldn't pull off the hustles. A good read, although less humor than in other WWE books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The man of the hour...

    A refreshingly honest and insightful biography. Superstar's life has had plenty of ups and downs, and you go through the entire ride. Lots of great stuff on the inside world of pro wrestling as well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2007

    Inspirational and Motivating

    It was a great inspiration for me to keep in great shape and inspires me to continue my lifting. It also shows me that it does not pay to take steroids. The book realy shows the courage and bravery of superstar through his difficult times. A must have.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    A great book by any measure

    What a crazy life! Carny all the way!. Here, there, on top, destitute, back in the game, down again. I've been a fan all my life and this is the first book where I learned more than just a few little things. I didn't expect to be so engrossed by the end of the book. Great contributions from guys who you rarely if ever see in these books (Arnold Schwarzenegger! Abdullah the Butcher! Tell me that's not a first!!) If you have a wrestling fan due for a gift, this is the one to get.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    Almost as good as his title reign!

    I've always been a fan of the tie-died, muscle-bound hippie known to millions as Superstar Billy Graham...dating back to the Seventies and my childhood. Now, some twenty years after his final match, the legendary sports entertainer has released his fascinating autobiography. Eager to read the story of this legendary yet heretofore very private entertainer, I bought a copy of 'Tangled Ropes' the day it was released. After sitting down and beginning the foreward (written by longtime WWE announcer Jim Ross) I looked up at the clock some six hours later when I'd finished the entire book. It really was that good. Whether you are a fan of The Superstar's or not, whether you are even a fan of professional wrestling or not, this well-written, introspective and entertaining autobiography will not disappoint. And, it's even got a happy ending -- which is saying a lot, when you're talking about *this* Billy Graham.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    A MUST READ

    Any true wrestling fan and historian of the sport will find this an informative read! Superstar goes where few wrestlers have dared to go in print. As his legacy has proven, he is always a notch above the rest!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    A great read for fans

    Fortunately, this is way better than the last crop of wrestler bios I've read. Unlike some of them, Graham is an interesting character in his own right, and unlike some of the others he doesn't spend chapters boring us with what an icon he is. I got handfuls of those as gifts and have already given most away. This one stays!!!! Maybe because he hasn't had a lot of press over the last decade (most of the recent books have been from active wrestlers) but this book feels more welcome. Even though he's 'born again' he tells a good story, and he sure as heck has had an interesting life. There's a lot I didn't know about, like the Shwartzenager connection and how down and out he was during his later wrestling years and also his liver transplant, which he writes movingly about.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    What Should have Been

    Superstar has long been my favorite wrestler ever since I was first able to watch. This book details in depth Wayne Coleman's family struggles as well as career choices on his way to becoming Superstar Billy Graham! This book is sad in a way because Superstar really could have been bigger than Hulk Hogan if promoted properly in the 70's. I was surprised he took all those drugs as well as steriods for so many many years. He had lousy relationships with his children , he lost out on a lot of money and he was depressed when Vince Mcmahon Sr took the belt off him in 1978. In the early to mid 80's I wish he would have elaborated more on his comeback to the WWE but this is still great stuff. He survived many things such as hip operations, ankles fused, liver transplant and many other ailments. He said what was going to happen to many of the stars in the early 90's and such as happened. Thankfully he is the one legend that survived. Buy this book.. It is great and honest.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2015

    Cool book

    Lo kow book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2015

    To anyon help plz

    Im 16 and my mom a been abusing .e for two years no and i calle th cops everytime he ha abused me an the cops dont believe me even when i show tjem strach marks. He ha put m in a chokehold and i never hit her ack but oneday i ad enough so i hit her back and she called the cops on me and she told them that i hit her first. And i also have ran away just to get away from her tooo. I want to kill myself.
    P.s undertaker is the best 21-1
    Help plz
    Sarahbear

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2015

    Ti person bekow

    No brock lesnar ended it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Jay

    Cccccccccccccccccc c cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccfoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Here id golddudt

    Gets in a grapple, grabs back, and irishcwhip into corner. Suplex reversed by u. Now what

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    WWE

    Kelly kelly and jackie are sexyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Peble

    Releses it and says there now lets go back to the hot tub room

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Stwert

    Who thinks kelly kelly and jackie are sexy

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Heyy u

    I get to go to wwe raw in november.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Horriible

    Ok but not what i was looking for

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2