Customer Reviews for

WWW: Wake (WWW Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Finally a good Sci-Fi!

I've been searching for a good Sci-Fi series, and it seems I've finally found one! Enjoyed the book immensely and even learned a few new things!

posted by PensGirl on July 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

CATS RP

Put it here

posted by Anonymous on December 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    To redpaw

    I need you to rp Smallpaw.he is a small black tom with green eyes.we are at spot first result.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    very enjoyable contrasts

    The contrast between the AI groping its way into existence & sentience while the main character herself goes from being blind since birth & living in a world of sounds, textures, & distances into being sighted is made more striking from the occasional glimpses into the lives of other people operating with sight since birth where their worlds are full of colors, shapes, art, etc. The combined contrasts does a great job of being something I can point to for helping people understand what the sudden shift in my world was a few years ago after a massive & near fatal CVA affected me.

    As an IT professional, I greatly enjoyed the fact that the author uses real world tech references (facebook/twitter/aim/etc) when applicable to the characters & their lives rather than inventing technobabble. The places where things are simply made up with regards to the AI aren't given pages of useless "look how impressive I can be" technobabble making it all the more enjoable from the lack of grating "it doesn't work that way dammit" inconsistencies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great plot, well written

    Sawyer addresses emergent phenomena in the internet in a great novel. A kinder, gentler Neuromancer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Finally a good Sci-Fi!

    I've been searching for a good Sci-Fi series, and it seems I've finally found one! Enjoyed the book immensely and even learned a few new things!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant!!

    "Caitlin Decter is young, pretty, feisty, a genius at math and blind. Still, she can surf the net with the best of them, following its complex paths clearly in her mind. When a Japanese researcher develops a new signal-processing implant that might give her sight, she jumps at the chance, flying to Tokyo for the operation.

    But Caitlin's brain long ago co-opted her primary visual cortex to help her navigate online. Once the implant is activated, instead of seeing reality, the landscape of the World Wide Web explodes into her consciousness, spreading out all around her in a riot of colors and shapes. While exploring this amazing realm, she discovers something, "some other" lurking in the background. And it's getting smarter..."

    In addition to Caitlin's story are a couple of seemingly unrelated events in other parts of the world. In China an outbreak of the bird flu (H5N1) is handled by the Chinese government by culling the humans that are infected as well as shutting the country off from the rest of the outside word by cutting its internet and phone connections to hide their transgression. Elsewhere, in a research facility, a Bonobo/Chimpanzee hybrid that can use ASL (American Sign Language), produces art that defies what they are "supposed" to be capable of. Youtube videos and political strife follow. Thirdly, a growing intelligence on the world wide web begins to take form. It strains to come to terms with itself and its surroundings, yet it begins to evolve. And, like Annie Sullivan, reaching down into the depths of Helen Keller"s mind, Caitlin makes a connection with this web-based entity and strives to teach it.

    I consumed this book. Like with his Neanderthal Parallax novels, I completely empathize with these characters. They lift off the page and pull you along with them, particularly Caitlin. Her ability to "see" through people and her edgy humour are brilliantly achieved and you can"t help but admire her strength of character and resolve. The use of biological terms and technology are meshed throughout the story in a way that it isn"t dumped on you. (It should be noted that I have a biology and information technology background, so I felt like this book was written for me. But with that said, the way he reveals the information would easily engage anyone without this knowledge.)

    There are wonderful parallels and references to Helen Keller and her rise to awareness from the dark place in which she once lived as well as timely topics and subject matter that is deftly interwoven in the story. He engages in real world debates (i.e. the intelligence of apes and their ability to use sign language, the cross-breeding of species, the potential self-awareness of the internet, etc.) and employs throughout some some witty references and poignant gibes. It is obvious that Mr. Sawyer took his time to research well before writing this and it is no wonder he was won such honours as the Hugo, the Nebula, and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award.

    This is a fantastic beginning to a much anticipated series. It ends well, but leaves you hungering for more. I very much look forward to what will come in the next novel and how Mr. Sawyer is going to engage me further in the coming books, WATCH and WONDER. Whether you are a science fiction aficionado or not, add this book to your Must Read list. It will not disappoint.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific opening act as Robert J. Sawyer introduces his readers to the complex WWW though his two lead characters

    Blind teenage mathematical genius Caitlin Decter is a wonder with her effortless ability to surf the Internet. Her brain compensating for her lack of sight has embellished her other senses enabling her to easily travel the web.

    Caitlin is euphoric with the experimental implant that will enable her to see. However, instead of normal vision, the processor placed inside her allows her to "see" the Web. As she explores her new cyberspace imageries, she realizes another sentient being exists. Caitlin begins to believe that every minute the other seems more aware of its cyber environs and perhaps much more. This "webmind" has become aware of an external existence outside the internet dimension.

    This is a terrific opening act as Robert J. Sawyer introduces his readers to the complex WWW though his two lead characters, the teen heroine and the webmind. The story line is much more complex and diverse than described above as the explorations by Caitlin and the webmind lead the audience to all sorts of places around the world such as the Chinese freedom bloggers as the new conscience learns globalization of its dimension. Extremely well written and complex making Tron look like pre-school, this is a terrific first tale in what looks like will be a great trilogy that is also being serialized in Analog (started in November and ending in March).

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Www

    This book is probably one of the best books I have read. All of the logic makes perfect sense, the scientific reasoning actually can be used in this context, and it also amusing. I hope that someday this technology is available. If I could, I would give more stars. -Zayne

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    To redpaw

    Flamekit of arcticclan jeeds to be rped. He is a flaming orange. White paws and green eyes... he is at glacier. Firekit is a thunderclan kit. H is a soft orange. He also has blue eyes. To rp him....go to wide field second result. Txs!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Silverleaf to redpaw

    Which one do u wanna rp? Shadowkit-black shekit with yellow eyes, Moonkit-white tom with yellow spots and yellow eyes, or Lilykit-white shekit with grey ears chest and paws and extra grey spots over her flanks with blue eyes? Go to silverleaf second result and post as the kit u wanna be.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    RedPaw

    Just list a full description of the kit u want me to rp and say where the clan is u want me to rp the kit at and Ill be there!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I read this trilogy shortly after discovering Robert J. Sawyer.

    I read this trilogy shortly after discovering Robert J. Sawyer. When I first saw the series WWW, I didn't expect much-it seemed like too much of a gimmick with the name of the series and the idea behind the story. Once I started reading Wake, it didn't take long to fall in love with the story and characters. I have recommended these books to a number of people. I am sure many who would normally not care for science fiction would find this a wonderful series to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Fantastic!

    I read the first toe of this series back-to-back and wanted more. You can be assured, I will be getting book three. Really great books! Science fiction is not my thing, but this isn't really hare core sci fi. It's a great story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    When will the next book in the trilogy come out?

    Robert Sawyer has become one of my favorite authors. I really enjoy the different take on the world along with the science that is explained in his books.

    I am ready to find out where Mr. Sawyer will take Catlain and her connection to WWW.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    WAKE is an AMAZING new venture into future interconnection, a great character study and was just "not put-downable"!

    When I heard Robert J. Sawyer was going to be publishing a new novel in Analog magazine, I subscribed right away. I've been lucky enough to be following him most, if not all, of his career and he is also very good at writing back to fan mail, even as his status has climbed to the top!

    As someone who has grown up involved in computers since cassette-tape interface, no storage memory, to 16k being a large amount, BASIC programming at age 8, yadda, yadda, yadda, it's been fantastic to learn so much about our technological age & its future possibilities (remember when the tri-corder was a dream? We now have cell phones :D) via SciFi.

    WAKE (now WWW: WAKE) is such a phenomenal read, quick read that kept me thinking about Caitlin's character, the internet as an entity, bonobo's intelligence, hackers, control of the internet by various powers that be, political science in the media, and so much else (I don't want to give any more away).

    My 2nd grade students loved hearing my summaries from the "Wake" installments. They really got hooked on my anticipation of the next Analog & of the story's content!

    If you have read and enjoyed ANY science fiction book or not, you will most likely be on the edge of your set, the tip of your pillow or biting your nails while reading this thought-provoking novel.

    Now, my pre-school daughter needs her daddy away from the computer. :>

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sawyer Delivers Another Winner!

    I was so thrilled to get an early copy of this book shipped to me by the author himself. Thanks Robert! The book didn't disappoint. Caitlin, a teenager blind from birth is a math genius and an internet whiz. She is a candidate for a special procedure being offered by a scientist in Japan that may give her a chance to see.

    Caitlin undergoes the procedure, which has different results than were expected. One of them being that another apparent life form is brought to a type of consciousness. As the book progresses some parts of each chapter are told in first person by the new life form. As it starts to slowly learn, what it tells becomes more complex.

    As an aside, a hybrid ape named Hobo has apparently picked up some independent art interpretation skills that no other ape has ever had.

    I don't want to give too much of the rest of the plot but two books are discussed a great deal throughout and a lot of the plot seems to paralell. One talks about the two halves of the brain being united in the first human to create self-awareness and the other is about the teaching of Helen Keller by Anne Sullivan.

    Not all is resolved by the end of the book and it looks like that this book will have at least one sequel. I can hardly wait for it. This series looks as good as the Hominid trilogy that Robert so masterfully presented. Thank you Mr. Sawyer for another intriguing series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Carly

    Waits wearing a super short strappless dress

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Chggyfwerhfeeqqwsafggghippigdwtsfgfhgyfyffgfgjjiopljkmjgrefggggrtefdddsqqaaaweddddrrtttiihgggghyghhhjjjkiujyytyttrtfrrttttttyygfeeessddfftyyjjhgredddftyyhbgrrdxghujnbgrrdddxxfgyjnbgrrfccvgtyyhhbccrtyhbvvcftyhbvcfrttyhbvcfrtyhbvcfrtyhbvcfrtyh vcfrtyh

    She smiles grippinv onto the sheets. She screams loudlly as she feels like his d!ck is stuck in her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    JACOB

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2