Customer Reviews for

Wages of Sin (Cin Craven Series)

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Good Story

    If you like paranormal love stories, buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good until halfway through

    Ok, so here's a new take on the classic vampire tale. We meet Dulcinea Craven in 1815 England when she's in her early 20's. She's a witch who's just about to come into her powers and her parents are recently deceased. She's then stalked by a vampire and a goddess. She calls on three other vampires for help. Devlin, Justine and the yummy Michael are known as The Righteous, and they defend humanity against evil vamps. So, Dulcinea now Cin becomes a vampire to defeat said goddess and be with Michael. The story's different because eventually we'll follow Cin and her friends up to modern times. We get to feel eternity with her which is kinda cool. And things were going fine until the vamps showed up. On the front cover of the book it says "she's a witch a vampire and evil's worst nightmare" or something, so we already know she's going to become a vamp. Why then, all the indecision? About half of the book was dedicated to Cin waffling about becoming a vampire. Come on! We know what she's gonna pick, let's move on. Anyway why would a bunch of vampires care about her plight anyway? She summons them and then throws a pity party because this guy won't leave her alone? I'm surprised they took the job. I would've been like, good luck out there girl! And her relationship with Michael seemed to take hold for both of them very fast. She even thinks he's be-spelling her when she's the witch. Plus he's been around the proverbial block. Shouldn't he be jaded by now? Maybe it's just me.
    The next book flashes forward 13 years and maybe that'll be better. I'll give the series one more chance, then I'm out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wages of Sin by Jenna Maclaine

    Sometime it's wonderful when you find a book or series by chance. This was the case when I stumbled across Jenna Maclaine's Cin Craven series. I offered to read and judge some books for the upcoming RomCon and actually received Book 3 in this very series. Well that wouldn't do, I cannot read them out of order! I would have to get books 1 & 2.
    So I started the journey with Wages of Sin and dove into the world of Cin Craven and 18th century England. Her name wasn't always Cin; in fact she was named Dulcinea Cravin at birth as well as handed down a very rare talent. Dulcinea is a witch, descended from a long and powerful lineage of MacGregor witches. She, like her mother before her, was born with the magic inside her, not merely taught the art of witchcraft. In this first novel and through a series of events Dulcinea will come into her full power, lose the ones she holds dearest, find the man of her dreams and conquer unimaginable evil.
    This novel is filled with wicked lust, true love, intoxicating adventure, unbelievable fantasy and of course a werewolf, a demon and vampires, Oh my! It was a pleasure to take this journey back in time with the author and a delight to know there's more to come.
    Please add this to your To-Read list as well as her other 2 novels; Grave Sins & Bound in Sin.
    They do not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Riveting!

    This book was set in the 1800s and really surprised me at how much I enjoyed it. The night Dulcie¿s parents were suddenly claimed by death, she comes into her magic. Her magic is strong but also wild/uncontrolled. Soon she is pursued relentlessly by Kali the Destroyer a/k/a Demon Queen, who wants to possess Dulcie¿s magic for her own. She needs Dulcie to open a portal to hell. To help save her life, Dulcie summons Michael, a vampire who is a part of the The Devil's Justice (Michael), to help assist her in fighting off Kali. It is during this time that Dulcie sees that Kali will stop at nothing to steal Dulcie¿s magic; including hurting the people Dulcie cares about the most. Dulcie makes one of the hardest decisions of her life. She has Micheal turn her into a vampire to save the ones she loves and also stop Kali from acquiring greater strength. Rising as a vampire Dulcie changes her name to Cin. Cin has to go toe to toe w/ Kali and the steaks are high. This book has a little action, some sex and the chemistry between Cin and Kali is deadly. This book also has a mixture of paranormal romance and fantasy. I highly recommend it to paranormal romance readers. Urban fantasy readers (like myself) will find it a quick read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    love it

    This book is great! Action packed from start to beginning. Cant wait until the next one comes out. I believe that she is a fantastic writer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Jenna Maclaine provides an entertaining opening entry

    In 1815 England, witch Dulcinea ¿Cin¿ Macgregor Craven loves her parents. So when they are murdered she is distraught with grief. However, she has no time to mourn her loss as an evil unwanted vampire stalks her ultimately biting her.------------ Cin knows she cannot fight off her adversary alone. She has heard myths about The Righteous Vampires a trio who resolved to do the honorable thing righting wrongs if they can when their species does harm. Cin conjures up a spell that brings them to her. They agree to help her, but quickly realize they are not dealing with just a vampire her monster is in servitude to a powerful demon. One of her three protectors, Michael, who is attracted to the witch, vows his undead life to keep her safe.--------------- This is the first act of the Cin Craven romantic fantasy saga and if it is any indication of the series, sub-genre fans are in for quite a treat. The story line is filled with action from the moment ¿Dulcie¿ as her beloved mom called her realizes her parents are dead and she is under supernatural attack. Cin is terrific as she tells her story in a first person account that brings to life the undead, the witches, and the undead witches. Jenna Maclaine provides an entertaining opening entry that will thrill readers who wonder what GRAVE SINS is coming next to Cin.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Not one of the better ones

    Reading through this, it's clear the author was inspired by Buffy the Vampire Slayer, but this is a pale copy in a historical setting that freely borrows from the cliches in that genre. The heroine's the only child of a English viscount and the latest in a long line of Scottish witches with a Spanish name (Dulcinea or 'Dulcie') who invokes 'the Goddess' from time to time. It's a mish-mash that could have been made much better with a firm editing hand to clear away half the underbrush.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Great Vampire tale!

    Wonderful first novel. Looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2