Customer Reviews for

Waging Heavy Peace

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Cool.

Like a listen of On the Beach I have left on repeat for hours with no intention of changing for fear of interrupting the vibe, I have not been able to put this book down. Coincidentally I am a Neil Young fan, so while that probably results in a biased review, I can't im...
Like a listen of On the Beach I have left on repeat for hours with no intention of changing for fear of interrupting the vibe, I have not been able to put this book down. Coincidentally I am a Neil Young fan, so while that probably results in a biased review, I can't imagine anyone else reading this book if they aren't also a fan of the man. Mostly, I think Young realizes this, too, and I especially love the moments he speaks directly to the reader - checking to see that we are still listening, most likely, because it does get a bit lengthy and rambling....but that's possibly exactly the intoxicating authenticity that appeals to me so much about this work. This book is uncomplicated. It is conversational. It is honest. It has moments of humility and moments of indulgence. Don't we all. The most enjoyable thing about it for me is its tendency to ruminate...I read portions out loud to my husband as we drove in the car for hours and no matter where I left off before or how much he missed in between, I could always just pick up where I was currently at because there is no "order." Like a good Neil Young listen, you can drop in when you feel like it and come back to it later and feel as if nothing passed between you, yet can still discover something new to appreciate. At the end of the day, it's always a good time.

posted by abbzug on September 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Only is you are a huge fan

If you are a fan of Neil Young and you will accept his unabashed self promotion of his current non-musical projects than this may be a good read. But if you want to know more facts about his life and musical projects than this is not the most informative.

You are gi...
If you are a fan of Neil Young and you will accept his unabashed self promotion of his current non-musical projects than this may be a good read. But if you want to know more facts about his life and musical projects than this is not the most informative.

You are given a tour of his very creative mind through the many chapters that discuss what ever he was thinking as he wrote the book. A linear trip this is not! I was disappointed in that I had hoped to learn more about Neil's processes of writing, maybe a bit of a "discumentary" into a long and amazing number of true iconic tunes.

Not to be.

He mentions many iconic names in the music business, not just Canadian talent as he has really become a world citizen with his music and that's all well and good. But once again, I would have preferred more depth.

Having just taken in his recent concert with Crazy Horse, I realize he performs what is currently important to Neil. Maybe that is why he has such acceptance. You get what is truly in Neil not what he hopes his audience wants. His book is just that.

posted by MurrayCode on December 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 30, 2012

    Cool.

    Like a listen of On the Beach I have left on repeat for hours with no intention of changing for fear of interrupting the vibe, I have not been able to put this book down. Coincidentally I am a Neil Young fan, so while that probably results in a biased review, I can't imagine anyone else reading this book if they aren't also a fan of the man. Mostly, I think Young realizes this, too, and I especially love the moments he speaks directly to the reader - checking to see that we are still listening, most likely, because it does get a bit lengthy and rambling....but that's possibly exactly the intoxicating authenticity that appeals to me so much about this work. This book is uncomplicated. It is conversational. It is honest. It has moments of humility and moments of indulgence. Don't we all. The most enjoyable thing about it for me is its tendency to ruminate...I read portions out loud to my husband as we drove in the car for hours and no matter where I left off before or how much he missed in between, I could always just pick up where I was currently at because there is no "order." Like a good Neil Young listen, you can drop in when you feel like it and come back to it later and feel as if nothing passed between you, yet can still discover something new to appreciate. At the end of the day, it's always a good time.

    41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    The spirit of the 60s and 70s revisited, and very much alive today.

    I first loved Neil Young when I was in college in the early 70s, and this book feels like a long lost conversation with friends back in that era. The way in which his values and his love for music have formed his life is admirable. He is profound and, at times, profoundly funny in telling his story. Thanks for sharing all of your great gifts with us, Neil.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    He did a splendid job on this book,as he is who he is. neil writ

    He did a splendid job on this book,as he is who he is. neil writes this autobiography as he wrote and lived his life.anyone looking for a ghost written book can look elsewhere for the gossip-here,you will find blatant honesty and(admittedly,but gladly)all you ever needed to know about why he is so strong a person and writer,his true explanation of why the springfeild ceases in a time he wished it never had to,and finally his "journey through the past  and present"a title he perhaps should use. his blurbs for his lossless music files belief grows from annoying to loving once you get him as a person of exellence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    Disappointing given the life he's lead

    Neil Young's autobiography reads like a diary or a Facebook history. I had hoped for so much more. The rambling nature might appeal to others, though. He seems to be making peace with lovers, friends and colleagues more than telling a life story that I wanted to read. Much of it reminded me of conversations I've been subjected to with long-term drug addicts. I do highly recommend the DELUXE EDITION on the tablet that includes recordings and video clips.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Only is you are a huge fan

    If you are a fan of Neil Young and you will accept his unabashed self promotion of his current non-musical projects than this may be a good read. But if you want to know more facts about his life and musical projects than this is not the most informative.

    You are given a tour of his very creative mind through the many chapters that discuss what ever he was thinking as he wrote the book. A linear trip this is not! I was disappointed in that I had hoped to learn more about Neil's processes of writing, maybe a bit of a "discumentary" into a long and amazing number of true iconic tunes.

    Not to be.

    He mentions many iconic names in the music business, not just Canadian talent as he has really become a world citizen with his music and that's all well and good. But once again, I would have preferred more depth.

    Having just taken in his recent concert with Crazy Horse, I realize he performs what is currently important to Neil. Maybe that is why he has such acceptance. You get what is truly in Neil not what he hopes his audience wants. His book is just that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Enjoyable read and highly recommended for Neil Young fans

    You can't help increasing your respect for Neil Young after this approximately 500 page jewel. He comes across as an excellent family man whose love for his wife is consistent throughout the book. Leave it to Young to be your atypical rock star! I onlly recommend good reads and this is one. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Excellent reading

    The book skips around a bit, but over all I really enjoyed it! I would think a follow up will come in the future. Its hard to get it all in one book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    I thought the book was ging to be about his musical career but i

    I thought the book was ging to be about his musical career but it wasn't. It focused on his electric car, PureSound abd several other things I didn't care about. I read about halfthe book and that was enough. I would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Great

    5 stars neil

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Would recommend as a gift for a Neil Young fan.

    I purchased this book as a gift. The recipient was pleased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Imagine sitting by a fireplace in a cozy chair on a nippy night

    Imagine sitting by a fireplace in a cozy chair on a nippy night chatting with your friend Neil... this book is a true joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dragged ON and ON

    I am sure he has had and will continue to have an exciting life but iit is just not delivered in this book. I like him and there were a few interesting facts but way too long..........nice book paper.........EFM

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2