Customer Reviews for

Waging Heavy Peace: A Hippie Dream

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Cool.

Like a listen of On the Beach I have left on repeat for hours with no intention of changing for fear of interrupting the vibe, I have not been able to put this book down. Coincidentally I am a Neil Young fan, so while that probably results in a biased review, I can't im...
Like a listen of On the Beach I have left on repeat for hours with no intention of changing for fear of interrupting the vibe, I have not been able to put this book down. Coincidentally I am a Neil Young fan, so while that probably results in a biased review, I can't imagine anyone else reading this book if they aren't also a fan of the man. Mostly, I think Young realizes this, too, and I especially love the moments he speaks directly to the reader - checking to see that we are still listening, most likely, because it does get a bit lengthy and rambling....but that's possibly exactly the intoxicating authenticity that appeals to me so much about this work. This book is uncomplicated. It is conversational. It is honest. It has moments of humility and moments of indulgence. Don't we all. The most enjoyable thing about it for me is its tendency to ruminate...I read portions out loud to my husband as we drove in the car for hours and no matter where I left off before or how much he missed in between, I could always just pick up where I was currently at because there is no "order." Like a good Neil Young listen, you can drop in when you feel like it and come back to it later and feel as if nothing passed between you, yet can still discover something new to appreciate. At the end of the day, it's always a good time.

posted by abbzug on September 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Difficult to stay focused

The review above is very well written and truthful. I, too, am a Neil Young fan, but found this book difficult to stay focused on. His lack of any kind of chronological order is confusing and his tendency to jump around from one subject to another gets annoying. I almos...
The review above is very well written and truthful. I, too, am a Neil Young fan, but found this book difficult to stay focused on. His lack of any kind of chronological order is confusing and his tendency to jump around from one subject to another gets annoying. I almost stopped reading it, but decided to persevere. Neil, stick to being the great musician and songwriter that you are, and leave the writing to real authors!

posted by 1040384 on October 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 30, 2012

    Cool.

    Like a listen of On the Beach I have left on repeat for hours with no intention of changing for fear of interrupting the vibe, I have not been able to put this book down. Coincidentally I am a Neil Young fan, so while that probably results in a biased review, I can't imagine anyone else reading this book if they aren't also a fan of the man. Mostly, I think Young realizes this, too, and I especially love the moments he speaks directly to the reader - checking to see that we are still listening, most likely, because it does get a bit lengthy and rambling....but that's possibly exactly the intoxicating authenticity that appeals to me so much about this work. This book is uncomplicated. It is conversational. It is honest. It has moments of humility and moments of indulgence. Don't we all. The most enjoyable thing about it for me is its tendency to ruminate...I read portions out loud to my husband as we drove in the car for hours and no matter where I left off before or how much he missed in between, I could always just pick up where I was currently at because there is no "order." Like a good Neil Young listen, you can drop in when you feel like it and come back to it later and feel as if nothing passed between you, yet can still discover something new to appreciate. At the end of the day, it's always a good time.

    41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Difficult to stay focused

    The review above is very well written and truthful. I, too, am a Neil Young fan, but found this book difficult to stay focused on. His lack of any kind of chronological order is confusing and his tendency to jump around from one subject to another gets annoying. I almost stopped reading it, but decided to persevere. Neil, stick to being the great musician and songwriter that you are, and leave the writing to real authors!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Yay, Neil

    If you are a Neil fan, you MUST read this. I also think it's worth the extra couple bucks for the Deluxe edition with pictures, video and music. That said, I absolutely love the way his mind works and gets the words to paper.

    Reading this got me into his world... I was not expecting that and am completely thrilled I went there!

    The way Neil continues to challenge himself, his fans and the world is evident in his music, writing, productions and inventions. In addition to being enriched by this book, I have fallen in love with and have great respect for Neil Young, the family man.

    TLC in Y-Town

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    A Day In The Life With Neil Young

    A fascinating journey through the life of Neil Young. Not your typical chronological autobiography, this book reads as you are sitting around hanging out with him all day. Whatever enters Neil's head makes it into this book. There are no boundaries, and you find out more about the man and his passions. There are no shots taken here as in many autobiographies, in fact Neil is proud of all the achievements from his past in music and the talent he played with. Neil has not lost his zest for life in maturity. A great read unlike any other rock and roll biography.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Hanging with Neil

    This book is many things: biography, diary, sales brochure. I think Neil self-assigned himself the task of writing every day, and just wrote whatever was on his mind that particular day. One day he’s in a mood to reminisce, the next fired up about toy trains, the next all he’s got is what he did that day. There’s an exciting blurb about Neil Young goes to Cosco. What the heck? So, you don’t get a linear, focused, academic narrative. I’ve tried reading those about Neil and got totally bored. One get’s the sense in this book of getting to know a little about who Neil Young is. There is no co-writer or editor credited. The surprise is how very well written the individual blurbs are. Buy the book and hang with Neil for a while. That’s what it is.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Not terrible

    Perhaps Mr Young should keep on doing what he does best: Write and perform great music. The book does seem at times to be a long advertisement for his grand electric car and his analog audio device. Though these are amazing inventions and worthy of our attention, they do not make for a great read. Obviously those endeavors are dear to him and, again are significant. However the style of narrative and the "flow" of the book are, to me( key words) just not there. Pack down a bowl of some sweet sticky old man, find a match and rock us on for your next 20? years.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Great Read ! even if you don't know who Neil Young is.

    Neil's book is outstanding. Its in depth description of the many sides to Neil offer an enlighten education of the man behind his music.
    The stories behind the songs, the music makers he has worked with and his personal tragedies, joys and accomplishments make this book a necessity for all Neil Young fans and a must read for those folks who are not yet a fan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    The spirit of the 60s and 70s revisited, and very much alive today.

    I first loved Neil Young when I was in college in the early 70s, and this book feels like a long lost conversation with friends back in that era. The way in which his values and his love for music have formed his life is admirable. He is profound and, at times, profoundly funny in telling his story. Thanks for sharing all of your great gifts with us, Neil.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    The best autobio

    This is excellent and i rarely read nonfiction but love his music and great story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    He did a splendid job on this book,as he is who he is. neil writ

    He did a splendid job on this book,as he is who he is. neil writes this autobiography as he wrote and lived his life.anyone looking for a ghost written book can look elsewhere for the gossip-here,you will find blatant honesty and(admittedly,but gladly)all you ever needed to know about why he is so strong a person and writer,his true explanation of why the springfeild ceases in a time he wished it never had to,and finally his "journey through the past  and present"a title he perhaps should use. his blurbs for his lossless music files belief grows from annoying to loving once you get him as a person of exellence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    Disappointing given the life he's lead

    Neil Young's autobiography reads like a diary or a Facebook history. I had hoped for so much more. The rambling nature might appeal to others, though. He seems to be making peace with lovers, friends and colleagues more than telling a life story that I wanted to read. Much of it reminded me of conversations I've been subjected to with long-term drug addicts. I do highly recommend the DELUXE EDITION on the tablet that includes recordings and video clips.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Only is you are a huge fan

    If you are a fan of Neil Young and you will accept his unabashed self promotion of his current non-musical projects than this may be a good read. But if you want to know more facts about his life and musical projects than this is not the most informative.

    You are given a tour of his very creative mind through the many chapters that discuss what ever he was thinking as he wrote the book. A linear trip this is not! I was disappointed in that I had hoped to learn more about Neil's processes of writing, maybe a bit of a "discumentary" into a long and amazing number of true iconic tunes.

    Not to be.

    He mentions many iconic names in the music business, not just Canadian talent as he has really become a world citizen with his music and that's all well and good. But once again, I would have preferred more depth.

    Having just taken in his recent concert with Crazy Horse, I realize he performs what is currently important to Neil. Maybe that is why he has such acceptance. You get what is truly in Neil not what he hopes his audience wants. His book is just that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    I loved this book

    Having had Neil Young being a large part of the sountrack of my life, I truly enjoyed this book. In this book, he has covered everything from his early years to his most recent life.

    The combination of information from his musical to personal life was great to read. Even though I have never met Neil, there was nothing in the book that was earth shattering info in; it all fit in perfectly with my perception of Neil from listening to his music and the few interviews I've read or seen.

    I am not a hard core reader so my belief that Neil's writing style is unique may be incorrect, although I do believe his style not going to be found in an English Composition 101 class.

    Thank you Neil, I loved your book and was sad when I got to the last page realizing there was no more to read.....for now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Enjoyable read and highly recommended for Neil Young fans

    You can't help increasing your respect for Neil Young after this approximately 500 page jewel. He comes across as an excellent family man whose love for his wife is consistent throughout the book. Leave it to Young to be your atypical rock star! I onlly recommend good reads and this is one. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Excellent reading

    The book skips around a bit, but over all I really enjoyed it! I would think a follow up will come in the future. Its hard to get it all in one book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Enderfur

    Pads in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Johnna is

    Goin to my room

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Tanner

    Im going to bed soon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    I thought the book was ging to be about his musical career but i

    I thought the book was ging to be about his musical career but it wasn't. It focused on his electric car, PureSound abd several other things I didn't care about. I read about halfthe book and that was enough. I would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    True to who he is

    Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3