Customer Reviews for

Wait Till Helen Comes: A Ghost Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 649 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(532)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!

I LOVE this book!!!! It is Amazing!! The story is wonderful, Amazingly Written, and scary. Mary Downing hahn is an Amazing writer, trust me, READ THIS BOOK!!!!! Amazing book!!!

posted by Ashley96 on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Recommend for young adults

I saw someone recommend this on another site so I purchased it. It really is more appropriate for children 12+. Good story though, just a little scary. Written from the point of view of a young girl whose family moves into an old renovated church.

posted by melouria on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 652 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted December 20, 2008

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!

    I LOVE this book!!!! It is Amazing!! The story is wonderful, Amazingly Written, and scary. Mary Downing hahn is an Amazing writer, trust me, READ THIS BOOK!!!!! Amazing book!!!

    77 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wait Till Helen Comes

    I loved this book! It was the first Mary Downing Hahn book I read and it got me hooked on her ghost stories. Now she is my favorite author and Wait Till Helen Comes is still my favorite Mary Downing Hahn book. It is about a girl who has a really bratty stepsister...but then her sis starts acting weird. This isn't one of those "Friendly Ghost" stories, I assure you. But it also doesn't leave you wondering about Helen, and why in the world she would do all those things. Everyone had a story and it made for a chilly but warming (sort of warming...at the end) novel.

    58 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    This book is great!!!!

    Wait til Helen Comes is about a girl named heather whose mother died in a fire years ago. Now her father is married to Jean who has two kids, Michael and Molly. Heather tells lies to her father to get them in trouble. Heather is a hateful little girl and hard to get along with. Yet she makes a ghost friend when they move into a church. This book teaches you an important lesson about being friends and being brave when something bad is about to happen. I liked this book because it is scary. This book is great for you if you want to be scared. Check it out!!!

    46 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A first rate thriller for young girls!

    I remember reading this when I was about 12 or so, I have been looking for it ever since (so about 11 years). I couldn't remember the name up until I saw it mentioned in a BN book club.
    Anyway, this book scared the living daylights out of me, but in such a good way. It's got to be one of the best ghost stories for younger girls I have ever read. I am actually considering ordering it and rereading it, since my copy is long gone.
    If you are a girl in the age range of 9-13 (depending on your maturity), or you are buying for one, and you are looking for a great scary story, this is totally it.

    41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    abigail, i love any book like this

    this book just played a little movie in my mind. I wish that anybody could have this book! I almost thought that this story could happen in the real world. this book is about how these two sisters deal threw not talking to each other then everything changes when Helen comes to ruin all of the family.

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Cool 7th Grader

    This was a great book. It had great detail. Not only that, but it went really smooth. It really fritened me, I felt like it was a movie. It really got me thinking, I asked myself lots of Questions like is there really such things as ghosts? or like How do the charictors feal in this posistion? or are the charictors worried? All I have to say is this book is one of the best books I have ever read, after 'Someone Like You'.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    This book is really good! Most of it is action and spine-chilling, but the only part I don't like is how mch of a brat Heather is, even when I found out why, I still really didn't like her. If you're interseted in ghost books, this is the book for you.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    Review by 10 year old girl

    On a scale of 1 to 10 this book was an 11! It takes a few chapters to get into it but once you do it is a really exciting mystery. I like reading about ghosts and mysteries so I loved this book. The book also had a happy ending and I like that too.

    Added by Mom: The book is not too scary - but there is a real ghost in it - and has some good points for discussion - about why people do things and about forgiveness.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    A half to read !!!!!

    I am pretty picky about ghost storys. I did not really know if i would like it or not, but i read it and WOW it is now my all time favorite book. I can really relate to Molly too!! I WOULD RECOMENDED FOR AGES: 8_ 12 love this book!!!

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    just a WOW book

    Mary is a amazing book writer. After I read the first page of this book I was so into this book. Ghost stories are my type of books. Keep writing ghost stories Mary!!!!!!

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Amazing!

    One of three of my all time favorite books!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    Awesome Book!

    I read this and I absolutely loved it! If you are interested in spirits/ghosts then you will love this book like I did :).

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2002

    My Favorite!!!!!!!

    I thought this book was more than great!It was just creepy enough.If you are looking for a book you can't put down,GET IT!!!!!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    WOW

    I was so scared for Molly and Heather I almost cried. It is a great book

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Awesome

    My 5th grade teacher read this book to us and it was awesome it is an edge of ur seat kind of book.
    Get it get it not a waste of money

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Best book

    Omg i love this book i couldnt put it down once i started it!
    Such an intence mystery!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Aesome

    We are readingtihs in class and we watgced the trailer i was
    so scared

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    i just finished reading this book for my second time, and it is

    i just finished reading this book for my second time, and it is still such a great book. It's the type of book that you just dont want to put down! It is a great story about a 12 year old girl Molly. Molly has a brother, and now that Molly's mom married Dave, Molly has a step sister, Heather. When this family moves out in the country in a house that used to be a church and a graveyard in the backyard, Molly gets scared. But more fear is to come when Heather says there is a ghost, Hellen, who is Heather's friend, and is now going to come get revenge on Molly and her brother for all the things they have done to Heather. So, just WAIT TILL HELEN COMES!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Saikeerthna

    Best ghost story ever!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Alexis

    Love this book

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 652 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33