Customer Reviews for

Wait Till Helen Comes: A Ghost Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 639 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(523)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

76 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!

I LOVE this book!!!! It is Amazing!! The story is wonderful, Amazingly Written, and scary. Mary Downing hahn is an Amazing writer, trust me, READ THIS BOOK!!!!! Amazing book!!!

posted by Ashley96 on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Recommend for young adults

I saw someone recommend this on another site so I purchased it. It really is more appropriate for children 12+. Good story though, just a little scary. Written from the point of view of a young girl whose family moves into an old renovated church.

posted by melouria on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 642 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Recommend for young adults

    I saw someone recommend this on another site so I purchased it. It really is more appropriate for children 12+. Good story though, just a little scary. Written from the point of view of a young girl whose family moves into an old renovated church.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Annonomus 0032

    This book was awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!! You have to read it. Press yes if you agree.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Tell me how it is

    I have never read this book but my friend did and she said it was a really good book! Should i trust her and read the book or not read this book

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Wait til helen comes

    GREAT! I love this book! Makes you want to never stop reading it!!!!!!! (:

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Girlygirll14355 June 17,2012

    I loved this book!!! Once i opened the book there was no stopping me till i was done i love the way she describes a sceen when u keep reading it you just read it faster and faster like your actually there!! It an awesome book you should really read it!!!:)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Ihu b

    I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Its not scary thou, butt its a seacrt!
    OH if u LIKE (LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!) this is book check out more book that she made!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lov. Lov. Lov. This book. Bye faggats

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    OMG SO FREAKIN AMAZING

    4 anone who hasnt read it... READ IT!!!!! ITS SO AMAZING!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Wait till helen comes

    OMG!!! I love this book sooo much! Trust me you have to read it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Mary downing hahn

    This is one of hahns best books it kept me guessing til thee end

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Great book

    Man this book is really spooky

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Ahhhhhh

    Sounds creeeeeeepy

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Amazing book

    My teacher read it to the whole class and everyday we were BEGGING her to read more this book is a perfect mix of horror, loss, and sibling rivalry. I would not reccomend this to children under the age of 7 because the author is so good at what she does it was a true thriller.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Best ghost story ever!!!!!

    I think this is the best ghost story evr cuz it keeps u guessing on what will happen next. I really love how at the end they all love each other and start to get along really well.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    This one is a re-reader.

    I originally read this book in middle school and remembered the name. I got curious and seen it here. I may be an adult now, but I still love it. Definitely worth your while.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    A Very Good Book

    This book is very acward for the first part. A family of five, moved from the big city, to a small church in a rural town. In the family, there was Molly, Michel, Heather, Mom, and Dad. Within the first few weeks, Heather had made a new friend named Helen. Then one day, Molly saw Helen. She went and told Michel that she was a ghost, but he did not believe her. So, eventualy Michel saw her to, and they tried to stop Heather from seeing helen. They tried and tried, but Heather loved Helen. The book got very good when Helen tried to drown Heather so they could be together forever, but Molly dove into Harper pond to save her. They ran into an old abandoned house to get warm, but the floor broke and they fell. They landed on a pile of bones. They sat there and they finaly saw Helen, and she was cring. Molly saw that The bones were Helen's parents. They said that Helen knocked an oil lamp over and started a fire. That was how Helen died. All in all, I would recomend this book to someone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ

    this is a great ghost story.but i wouldnt recemened it for young readers like 5 and 6 year olds. but great book for 10 and up.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Love

    This book is my favorite book ever

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    What a terrible lesson

    I was apalled at this story for my third grader. Helen tries to lure Heather into committing suicide to join her world and tells her her parents will not love her when they find out what she has done. What message is she trying to send to children. I was horrified, this is not a story for the young reader

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    Wait Till Helen Comes

    I read this book three or four years ago and I don't remember much about it except that I loved it. I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Amazing!

    Mrs.Mary has written an amazing fiction/fantasy story about a lonley ghost named Helen. I read this book in less than an hour. I recommend this book to kids 10- whatever! When i finished this book, I immetialy started 'All The Lovely Bad Ones', which is alredy heart-pulsing! Go read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 642 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 33