Customer Reviews for

Wait Till Helen Comes: A Ghost Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 653 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(534)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!

I LOVE this book!!!! It is Amazing!! The story is wonderful, Amazingly Written, and scary. Mary Downing hahn is an Amazing writer, trust me, READ THIS BOOK!!!!! Amazing book!!!

posted by Ashley96 on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Recommend for young adults

I saw someone recommend this on another site so I purchased it. It really is more appropriate for children 12+. Good story though, just a little scary. Written from the point of view of a young girl whose family moves into an old renovated church.

posted by melouria on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    This book is really good! Most of it is action and spine-chilling, but the only part I don't like is how mch of a brat Heather is, even when I found out why, I still really didn't like her. If you're interseted in ghost books, this is the book for you.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    A Very Good Book

    This book is very acward for the first part. A family of five, moved from the big city, to a small church in a rural town. In the family, there was Molly, Michel, Heather, Mom, and Dad. Within the first few weeks, Heather had made a new friend named Helen. Then one day, Molly saw Helen. She went and told Michel that she was a ghost, but he did not believe her. So, eventualy Michel saw her to, and they tried to stop Heather from seeing helen. They tried and tried, but Heather loved Helen. The book got very good when Helen tried to drown Heather so they could be together forever, but Molly dove into Harper pond to save her. They ran into an old abandoned house to get warm, but the floor broke and they fell. They landed on a pile of bones. They sat there and they finaly saw Helen, and she was cring. Molly saw that The bones were Helen's parents. They said that Helen knocked an oil lamp over and started a fire. That was how Helen died. All in all, I would recomend this book to someone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Wait Till Helen Comes Review

    I thought that this was a great book. I loved all of the characters, especially Helen. All of the details were great and I love how the author never left you hanging about things that other authors would, like how Helen passed away. This was a great book and i would recommend this book to everyone who loves thriller. This was a great book that will leave you on the edge of your seat and will keep u turning pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Ooooooo

    Its really is a great book. If you want to hear another scary story to tell to your friends, heres a good one: There was a girl named Sarah. She wanted a doll. She went to the store with her mother. She chose a doll with 2 fingers. She went home. She played with her doll in the basement. Then her mom said, "Sarah! Time for bed!" "Ok," said Sarah. She left her doll downstairs. At night she heard, "Sarah! I'm in the basement! Sarah! Im on the stairs! Sarah! Im in the kitchen! Sarah! Im in the living room!" Sarah got very scared. "Sarah! Im on the staircase! Sarah! Im in the hallway! Sarah! Im in your room!" Sarah almost screamed. "Sarah! Im on your bed! Ive gotcha! THE END

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Anonymous

    Was a very well written book. Not too scary but definetely worth reading. The author really built suspense!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Good

    I like the part when molly and heather almost die in the ditch opps just ruined the book for u and u wasted your money :(to bad for you i don't really care about your lifes

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Best book ever!!!!

    This book is about Michel and his sister Molly.they have a stepsister named heather her mom died in a fire her dad got married to Michel and mollys mom. There mom says she wants to move to a church with a graveyard behind it.when they get there heather tries to make molly michel life horrible
    And heather says shes found a ghots friend

    Is this won of her pranks. Or is she telling the truth

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    wait till helen comes

    this book was so so awesome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Interesting....

    I first read this book in the 5th grade and, while it gave me goosebumps, it was pretty good. Though, in most Hahn ghost stories, I always feel sad and sorry for the ghost( who is normaly a child, like in Deep&Dark&Dangerous) because they never had a good life and sometimes try to avenge their deaths by killing other children. MB

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Fantabulous

    This book was so good but a little boring in the begining!!!!! But such a great book!!!!!!!:)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A childhood favorite

    I am repurchasing this book now because I loved it when I was a teenager. I'm 25 now but my younger sister is 12 and I have told her so much about this book that she got upset I didnt still have it. So now I am getting it again.
    It's thrilling and you truly feel for the characters. I love Mary's writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2014

    The story begins with a stepfamily relocating to a new house in

    The story begins with a stepfamily relocating to a new house in the countryside. The house was previously a church, and therefore came with an abandoned graveyard inhabiting the backyard. The main character is Heather. Her dad, Dave, married Jean, the mother of Heather’s stepsiblings, Michael and Molly.
    When Heather was three years old, she was playing with the oven and accidentally started a kitchen fire which rapidly spread into a house fire, killing her mother. Heather does not like her stepfamily, and tries on many occasions to stir up problems, in hopes that her dad will divorce her stepmother.
    Upon moving in the house, Heather soon meets Helen, a lonely ghost who haunts the graveyard. Helen and Heather come to find out they have much in common. Both girls are seven years old, both were involved in fires, and both suffered the loss of (an) immediate family member(s). Both girls are drawn to each other and bond over the fact that they are both lonely and miserable.
    As the girls bond grows stronger, Helen convinces Heather that she is the only one who will ever love her, no matter what she does. The only one in the family to ever discover Helen’s ghost besides Heather is Heather’s stepsister, Molly.
    Things grow immensely tense when Heather starts lying about her stepsiblings, causing her parents to take sides and argue more often. She also begins threatening her stepsiblings, telling them Helen will come after their side of the family.
    One day, in an effort to prove how real the threats were, Heather has Helen destroy all things belonging to her stepfamily’s side.
    At this point, Molly tries to prove the existence of Helen to the rest of her family. They do not believe her, assuming the graveyard outback has allowed for an over active imagination.
    Molly, determined to prove the existence of Helen, does some research and finds out Helen lived in their current house 100 years ago with her family, until a tragic house fire in which her mother and stepfather died. Helen herself managed to escape the fire, but fell into a pond outside of the house and drowned. Since then, three other children have been reported to have drowned in the same pond, believing to have been forced to do so by Helen’s ghost. Molly then realizes Helen’s intentions for Heather. She plans to drown her so that they can in each other’s company forever.
    The climatic events of the story begin from this point on, as Molly is faced with the ultimate challenge of figuring out how to save her stepsister from Helen before it’s too late. She also must do so alone, since none of the other members of her family will believe her story, and the trouble of Heather’s stubborn nature is sure to create further difficulty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Great book

    I love this book, but heatther is so mean!!i mean seriously, she wants to kill her step mom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Good

    My teacher read it to my class in 4th grade. It's not the best book ever but it's pretty good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Loved it!

    Thrilling. Spine-tingling. Outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Amazing

    I read this booknwhen i was in 5th grade laat year and i thought is was really good and my friend christina recomended it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Good

    Creepy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Spooky Book. Stays with ya....25 years later... I didn't realiz

    Spooky Book. Stays with ya....25 years later...
    I didn't realize this was still such a popluar book and in print still. I read this book in 1987 when I was 10 years old. I can still feel my heart pounding from the "fear" I had while reading it. Even though TV shows now have made "spooky" seem tame, I would recommend you reading before giving to a child under 12 and make the call if its appropriate for your childs age. Even a mature child under 12 may get the willies. 6.5/10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Annonomous

    I love this book!! I've read it multiple times and its a fantastic read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Made me become a Reader!!

    My fifth grade teacher read this story to my class. And i was hooked. This book got me into reading!! A good, chilling ghost story, as well as events that deal with extended families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4