BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wait Till Helen Comes: A Ghost Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 650 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(532)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!

I LOVE this book!!!! It is Amazing!! The story is wonderful, Amazingly Written, and scary. Mary Downing hahn is an Amazing writer, trust me, READ THIS BOOK!!!!! Amazing book!!!

posted by Ashley96 on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Recommend for young adults

I saw someone recommend this on another site so I purchased it. It really is more appropriate for children 12+. Good story though, just a little scary. Written from the point of view of a young girl whose family moves into an old renovated church.

posted by melouria on June 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    i never read this book myy sisters told me about it i hpoe wen i

    i never read this book myy sisters told me about it i hpoe wen i do read it it will be a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Short but cute

    This book was short but it was not scary to me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Always loved this book

    I can't wait to read this book, i was so happy to see it for the nook. I remember reading this book when i was a kid, i would read it over and over again. As soon as i would turn it in back at the library i would sign it out again a couple of weeks later. Of all the books i have read it has always stuck with me even though i have'nt read it in about 15+ years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Great

    I love this story soooo much but oh my gosh wen i was little it creeped me out sooo much but if u dont care about scary things than great book for u i mean im barely ever scared just this... ahhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great book

    The book is really well written and creepy but I wish that mary downing hahn would make her books a little bit more different from eachothe because I have read three of her books and they all have really similaeplot lines

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Thumbs up

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Good

    Good but scary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Is it worth it

    I loved the ghost of crutchfield hall is this as good as it?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Good Book.

    I have to admit it does start out slow. But when you dig your heals in and really listen to it, its full of puzzle peices that all start to fit! Amazing I would recomend it to any one who wouldn't get the chills after finishing it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Wait till helen comes

    Wait till helem comes is an great book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!

    Loved it!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    Wait till helen comes

    It is about a boy named Micheal and a girl named Molly there stepsister is haunting abou this girl mamed Helen whose coming to get them !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Absolutley one of a kind!

    I read this book years ago and it is still one of my fav ghost stories. Dont be discouraged by its size and price. Think about it: would you rather read a long boring book or a small brilliant one? It is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Scary!

    This is the scariest book in the whole entire world, as far as i know. It gave me nightmares when i just read the first 40 pages! It is kind of slow in the beginning, but it is worth it, especially when you get to the part about Molly seeing Helennfor the first time, and the way Molly describes her. '...black holes for eyes...'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    Read it!

    I am in the middle of the book and so far of what i read of it, it is a really great book. Its like a mystery but a thriller i really suggest reading it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    Apperently Awesome

    My friend told me that this book was really awesome but reallycreepy like super creepy so I am going to read it and I think ou should to!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    wow

    it was a very good book! i recomend this book to anyone who likes chiller books!!:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    First Book that Caught Me

    I remember checking out this book when I was in 4th grade - it was the very first book that had me hooked. I was pleasantly surprised to re-discover it and also to remember the story and the excitement it gave me so long ago. I had to add it to my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    I LOVE this book!!!

    This book has suspense and a GREAT ending, everything a book needs!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2006

    Review by a Fourth Grader

    Do you want to read a terrific book? Then you shoud read Wait till Helen Comes. This book is exciting, scary, sad, and one of the best books you will ever read! It is about a family that moves to a vacant church with a graveyard in the backyard. Somehow there is a ghost in the graveyard. The ghost's name is Helen. The family's girl meets Helen but Helen tries to kill the girl in a lake. Can the girls big sister save her in time? Find out if you read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4