Customer Reviews for

Wait Until Dark

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Book Blurb: Name: Big John Wallace Rank: Staff Sergeant, Chief M

    Book Blurb:
    Name: Big John Wallace
    Rank: Staff Sergeant, Chief Mechanic and Gunner
    Mission: To serve and protect his crew and country.

    Name: Connie Davis
    Rank: Sergeant, Flight Engineer, Mechanical Wizard
    Mission: To be the best...and survive.

    Two Crack Mechanics, One Impossible Mission

    Being in The Night Stalkers is Connie Davis's way of facing her demons head-on, but mountain-strong John Wallace is a threat on all fronts. Their passion is explosive, but their conflicts are insurmountable. When duty calls them to a mission no one else could survive, they'll fly into the night together—ready or not.

    My Review
    Sergeant Connie Davis is a chief mechanic for a special forces helicopter unit (Night Stalkers). Having lost both her parents at a young age, Connie has never really had any other family. Her life has consisted of a mechanical career, first on helicopters then in the military on a helicopter. Never developing emotional attachments, Connie’s life has been spent mostly alone even when in a group.

    Staff Sergeant “Big” John Wallace is a flight engineer. He doesn’t know what to make of the reclusive and virtually silent Connie Davis. She is extremely intelligent and seems to be almost in tune with the mechanics around her. Learning his new team mate may teach him more than he expected.

    Their Night Stalker team is chosen for a top secret mission. Connie must learn to lean on those in her team or they just might not survive an explosive threat.

    I found this a slow building, captivating life story that took hold in a rather stealthy manner. Wait Until Dark was highly descriptive and the obvious familiarity with military enhanced the story telling. My heart hurt of Connie as she faced her demons, demons her life had placed in her path. I loved watching John’s patience and understanding, when dealing with Connie’s peculiarity. Peculiarity, that made her unique and special if you only just looked. 

    I did not read any other books in this series and had no problem following this story. It definitely can stand alone with no assistance although I will be back reading this series because I really enjoyed M.L. Buchman’s writing and want more. Wait Until Dark is a 5 Star Military Romance! 

    This ARC copy of Wait Until Dark was given to me by Netgalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date Feb. 1, 2013.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Blackhawks and Weapons

    This series is surprisingly enjoyable. I say surprising cause it is missing key elements I usually think essential in romance. But it makes up for it in, dare I say it, technical detail. The relationship status's lack any real suspense but how can you not like stories about kick-ass military and interesting plots that require unique knowledge to tell them. I hope what I'm "learning" isn't completely wrong but in the end I don't mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by: April Book provided by: book provided by NetGalley

    Reviewed by: April
    Book provided by: book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book




    With a mix of military suspense, broken lives and emotions and romantic heat, Wait Until Dark packs a leisurely but intense punch for lovers of this genre!




    This is the first book by this author that I have had the pleasure of reading and I can say that I highly enjoyed his writing style and his ability to really bring forth his characters in a three dimensional way that truly allowed me to care for and feel a connection with them. Wait Until Dark is the third in the Night Stalker series and though I had not read the previous two books in the series, I had absolutely no problem following along with the story line or the characters. With that in mind, this can easily be read as a standalone book or in series order.




    Each of the books focus on a set of characters and this one revolved around Special Agents Connie Davis and John Wallace. Both are part of the SOAR team, the Night Stalkers, a group of highly trained individuals who are brought in at a moment’s notice to deal with highly dangerous military situations and missions. High intelligence, the ability to focus and brute emotional as well as physical strength are absolute necessities. Connie has been alone life since her father was killed on a military mission, when she was a teenager. Her focus has always been to keep her father’s legacy, so to speak, alive by following in his footsteps. However, Connie has built up a wall around herself that not even the toughest bomb could shatter. She knows in her heart that her life is counted day by day and with her career, she could be killed the next day. It is because of that thought she does not allow herself to plan a future for herself, nor does she allow herself to become emotionally connected to others around her.




    John is a strong minded, intelligent, honorable and oh-so-hunky of a guy. He finds himself drawn to Connie and when the team is allowed a few days leave before Christmas, he invites her back to stay with his family instead of going off to be forced to spend that time alone. She hesitates, but in the end relents and goes with him. What she finds is an amazing, loving and accepting family that, if she allows them to, just may make that wall around her heart crumble just a bit.




    For me the story began a bit on the slower side. However, I think that was simply because the beginning is very military focused, as they are on a mission. The storyline did proceed smoothly and in a gentle slope building way. My favorite part was the middle when the story was focused on Connie and John and their growing relationship – both with one another and with Connie and John’s family. The author does an amazing job bringing emotions to the surface all throughout the story, as well as gripping the reader in the fist of what the characters are going through. I have to say, also, that the military aspect of the story was very well plodded out and explained. Mr. Buchman obviously knows his stuff and that shows through in his writing style.




    For those looking for and enjoy a well written military romance, Wait Until Dark is definitely one that you will want to check out! I look forward to reading more by this author in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great story. This was the first book from this author I read, and I immediately purchased his earlier books. Loved them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Great Read

    As with all the books in this series this was another great read. Good love story, lots of action. Highly recommend this entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    The Best in the Series!

    While the authors style remained very technical and analytical, this time around he focused on the heart of the characters. While the storyline was a bit predictable, and appreciative at the nod to the adventurous times of the cold war, it fit well with what the main character Connie was going through. This novel was well written, well thought out and is a good reminder to us all to get out of our heads and back in our hearts. Would make an awesome movie along the lines of The Lucky One someday, this book is that good and stays with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Highly recommend

    AWESOME. LOVED this series. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Together, John and Connie will venture on what I can assume is t

    Together, John and Connie will venture on what I can assume is the toughest mission for them both.  John’s determination and Connie’s reluctance to let anyone in prove to be a battle neither one are prepared for….but one that will ultimately put the separate pieces of Connie and John together to make a perfectly working whole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1