BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Waiting: The True Confessions of a Waitress

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it...

This was a good book, although I think I was expecting more from it than it gave me, although I would suggest that people in the food serving business read it, I might have liked it more if I were a waitress. I always thought that would be such an interesting job to hav...
This was a good book, although I think I was expecting more from it than it gave me, although I would suggest that people in the food serving business read it, I might have liked it more if I were a waitress. I always thought that would be such an interesting job to have and the book did teach me a few things about it.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A compelling story but lacks a rhythm in the storytelling.

This author has clearly put heart and soul into writing of her personal experiences in this book. As a former on and off waitress, as well as mother of three, this subject matter piqued my interest, but the book did not carry my interest through to the end. At times w...
This author has clearly put heart and soul into writing of her personal experiences in this book. As a former on and off waitress, as well as mother of three, this subject matter piqued my interest, but the book did not carry my interest through to the end. At times written in an end of the year Christmas letter style, at times like a note passed to a girlfriend or an entry in a journal. The text could have developed more substance with some additional editing and polishing. I am pleased to see these experiences related, but would have liked a better read.

posted by Anonymous on January 4, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Just ok

    Interesting thoughts about the motives and lives of people dining in resturants and of course the waitstaff. Found myself skimming in some parts of the book as my interest wanned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    My thoughts on the book Waiting

    I think this book was pretty good, i liked learning more about a waitresses life, there veiw from there perspective, and what a waitress really thinks about their job. I would recommend this book to waitresses mostly, but also to people that go out to eat a lot or have always wondered about what they really think and do there lives besides behind that uniform. I thought it was a good book though, i really liked reading her storys about her adventures in live and how she gets threw it all. I think people with diffrent jobs should make books like this to give people an idea on how whatever job they have done or are doing is like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    serve it up straight talk

    I read this book over five years ago and the story line is still as fresh in my mind as last weeks minestrone. I loved how she kept with the profession. Her colorful descriptons of previous parties and customers irregardless of the resturants level of price and fruu=fru were eye openning and hysterical in some cases. Loved the book and have a continued appreciation for profession to honor anybody who brings you food... read it again...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    everyone should read this book.

    I think that this is a really good book. At times it made me feel like i should be a waitress, cause there were some new experiences , but then there were other times were you could or would be in a bad situation. Other wise i couldn't put it down it was a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Enjoyed it...

    This was a good book, although I think I was expecting more from it than it gave me, although I would suggest that people in the food serving business read it, I might have liked it more if I were a waitress. I always thought that would be such an interesting job to have and the book did teach me a few things about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    Still Don't Know HER

    I'm almost finished with the book. Very good! One of those books that's hard to put down. I just wish she had gone into more detail about herself and her own personality and her relationships with her co-workers. When she talked about the sex-filled soap opera at Baciare and how horny the employees were for one another, she was never part of the lustful drama. Or at least she didn't write about her part in it, if she had one. It was like she was looking in from the outside or sitting at a table observing the interactions like an observant stranger taking notes. I thought it was odd. I'm thinking she's a square peg trying to fit into round holes when it comes to socially and romantically fitting in with her co-workers. She just describes her personal life in such a depressing way that it makes me wonder if she's a 'depressing person' or something. I spent 5 years in the restaurant business, 4 of those in fast food (16 yrs old - 20 yrs) and one as a hostess (during college) for a popular restaurant. Long enough to relate to the sex, drama, stress and exhaustion she discusses. I also know food service people are party animals, there are drugs everywhere, and everyone's sleeping with everyone, at any given time and there is lots of cheating going on. It's a sleazy industry. And it's anything but dreary. Almost all restaurant workers have a thriving social life outside of work (with each other if nobody else). There's always a party somewhere... so she sounds boring and depressing to me. Not her writing, however. Of course, maybe the high drama and high energy level and customer interactions that being a waitress entails ARE her social life. I know people like this. They love it. From what I can gather, she doesn't smile too much, she's short, obviously a talented waitress who can handle the worst case scenarios, and is not a flirtatious or fun-loving person. I have an image in my head of a very non-sexual/non-sensual person, possibly not even that attractive...'to hear her tell it' anyway. Of course she doesn't want drunks grabbing her fanny while slinging cocktails, but she strikes me as the last woman who be good at or even want to be a cocktail waitress (when she was). Cocktail waitresses are normally really good looking (she never described herself really and left the impression she is sort of plain-Jane), have great figures, flirtatious, and usually 'flashy' and they love attention from men. She doesn't (or so it seems). So serious. Her descriptions of her personal life when she wasn't at work (waiting tables) were downright depressing. The worst was when she lived in drizzly, dismal Portland in a basement. I was relieved when she moved to So. California. I couldn't take anymore! The image I've formed in my mind while reading this is that she sounded more like a dark, moody artist than someone who would successfully wait tables at a trendy, high priced So. California Italian restaurant on the beach. I especially enjoy reading this author's book because she is almost exactly my age. So, I can identify when she talks about the early 80s, mid 80s, etc. I really like the book and she's a gifted writer. I'd love to read the one she wrote about her son, Blaze. The exerpts were impressive. Maybe that book will give me a longer peek into her personality and what 'makes her tick'. I'm intrigued to know more about this woman. After all, she's a successful waitress (a job I know I'd hate and would be awful at anyway) and one can't have too downtrodden or depressing of a personality for that. I would hate the hours too. Nights and weekends?? No thanks. Bottom line: She's a gifted writer and I thoroughly enjoy 'Waiting' and plan on reading her other books as well as anything she writes in the future.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    Good insite into life of some servers...

    If you ever want to give a gift to a server friend of yours...this is one to give! Any server will relate 100% to Debra's experiences as a server. When I read the details she gave as she explained what it was like to try and wait on 5 tables at a time (all with different problems)...I could actually feel the anxiety build up in me. Her description of 'being in the weeds' was right on. I loved her nickname she gave one of her guests....'Mr. Goldchains'! That hit home with me! Debra...thanks for taking time to keep a diary of your serving years. I loved the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2004

    A Fun Thankless Enviorment

    I loved this book, it made me laugh and it made me realize that it truely does take a special person to work in Restaurant, not just anyone can work with the hungry public! I manage a restauarant and I miss being a server, But atleast I can still be a part of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    It's Like You Stepped Right Into My Life

    Debra Ginsberg has hit the nail right on the head with this book! I work in a restaurant and my son was a dishwasher at the same establishment for a time. I have been waitressing at my current job for five years now and have seen many people come and go. Some last a year some a week, others only one day! Being a waitress is a thankless job alot of the time. The only thing that saves us is that family or customer that comes in and smiles at you on good days as well as days you forgot to give them silverware. If it weren't for the tips, most waitresses would quit because the hourly wage is a joke. For all those people who come in and it is their goal to give their waitress a hard time I say... how would you like to cook and serve your own meal today? Don't get me wrong I do enjoy being a waitress but customers need to understand we are people just like them and not their slave for an hour. I reccomend this book extremely highly for any one who works in a restaurant as well as people who enjoy eating in them. Thank you Debra for endless hours of laughter. You have been there and done that. You have made me feel like someone understands what goes on afterall. My son is now studing to be a gourmet chef and I am continueing to work as a waitress to put him through school only now it will be easier remembering the words you have written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    A Wonderful Insight on this Underrated Profession

    I've never been a waitress, however, I do frequent in many restaurants and I have always admired the profession of a waitress. Just watching them handle the HEAVY trays of hot food and always being so pleasant with customers is an art in itself. Debra Ginsberg revealed so much more about the "behind the scenes" which is the most underrated profession and the working conditions in restaurants with humor, empathy, and an understanding of what a waitress must endure when encountering with all sorts of customers, mainly the cheap people who refuses to leave a tip - if you can't leave a tip, don't eat in restaurants!! Remember, all workers, no matter what their profession is, have to make a living and everyone has bills to pay. Everyone who frequents into a restaurant SHOULD READ this book because they will have a better understanding why NO WAITRESS should get a lousy tip. Debra shared the most insightful and SURPRISING revelation on which holidays was the most or least rewarding to be on call. A wonderful read and I appreciate this profession so much more and it deserves minimum of 20% tip!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2002

    A compelling story but lacks a rhythm in the storytelling.

    This author has clearly put heart and soul into writing of her personal experiences in this book. As a former on and off waitress, as well as mother of three, this subject matter piqued my interest, but the book did not carry my interest through to the end. At times written in an end of the year Christmas letter style, at times like a note passed to a girlfriend or an entry in a journal. The text could have developed more substance with some additional editing and polishing. I am pleased to see these experiences related, but would have liked a better read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    A look at one of the world's oldest professions

    Being a former waitress myself, I truly enjoyed this look into the life a woman finding solitude in waitress while strenghtening her passion in being a writer. I enjoyed the stories of her various adventures working in all different kinds resturants. Her struggles adjusting to different surroundings and finally accepting responsiblity when she accepts raising a child alone. The book gives vital information tipping, resturant labor laws and movie triva regarding waitresses.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2000

    Fellow waitress applauds your service!

    I am a waitress and I absolutely identified with her stories of wild and crazy guests in her restaurants as well as the attitudes of fellow restaurant workers. I found myself shaking my head in agreement with some of her colorful characters. These are people you feel you have not only met but have had dinner with or even waited on in your own restaurant. This is a book which should be read and enjoyed by restaurant workers in order to feel a certain kinship and anyone who eats in a restaurant to give them an insight into what your waitress is going through to do her job.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    This Book is a Complete Meal!

    This was a really enjoyable book to read. Debra Ginsberg presents a truly accurate depiction of the public consumer. This book reads quite fast, and her witty writing style pulls you right into the story. The book chronologically takes you through her tumultuous career as a waitress. She is very candid and open with her stories, and you get to watch her mature as a person through her stories. She adds in humor nicely, allowing the book to flow quite smoothly. Overall, this book has a lot to offer everyone. It is a somewhat eye-opening experience that doesn't disappoint. You will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Would not recommend

    I was disappointed in the author's memoir, found it very boring. Although this book will come to mind when I order decaf in restaurants.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Fairly Boring Confessions

    I was drawn to this book by the title. Expecting to read juicy confessions, I was disappointed to read fairly mundane insights. I don't recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2