Customer Reviews for

Waiting

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Another Lesson

    When I read this it was one of the books that had the most impact on me. With its subtly, it sneaks up on you with its strong depiction of human relationships and desires.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Fantastic!

    This is an amazing piece of fiction about a 'bitter love.' Having read other reviews, I would have to say that I did not interpret the ending in such a hopeful manner, but I guess it all depend on your perspective. The characters are all very well developed, especially Lin, whose desire to do the right thing often leads to many unfortunate outcomes. Truly a beautiful story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    This is a really great story about what the passage of time can do to things. How it erodes and eats away at the value of things and relationships and emotions etc. Yet conversely, there was no waiting when reading this book. For sure it was a story told by a man because there was no time spent lingering too long on anything. It was perfectly paced. He just kept it moving and while you were reading you would know that something else was about to happen soon because the pace was predictable and that made it a great page turner too. The feminine voice of his female character was not ruined by the manly pace of the book. The setting is a Chinese military hospital. It's about a relationship between a couple who never consummate the affair because they wanted to wait to get a problem out of the way. but as the problem persisted, and the waiting went on and on, the waiting ate away at their deepest emotions and time threw everything including the bathtub and kitchen sink, causing them to question both their character and those deep feelings they once thought they held. This book is a great piece of literature and is perfect for a book club.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    Waiting By Ha Jin

    I really enjoyed this book. I had a personal connections with this book. Divorce is a hard thing to deal with this book opened my mind and made me realize that waiting can be a bad thing and good in ways. People going though a divorce would enjoy this book and it might help them though by putting things into propective. Making you realize that people go though things that mske you stronger or weaker. You decide how events effect your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Easy to read, Great Book

    This book is great!! I enjoyed the fact that it was a love story. The end is the best part of the book. The ending isn't predictable, but more hopeful for some. I read this book for a class and because I liked it so much, I finished this book in 4 days. I recommend this book to any female!! Anyone who has been through a divorce would enjoy this book as well. Great book for many different kinds of people. The title tells so much about this book and if you have ever waited for someone for any reason, you will love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    Must Read

    Oh, I loved this book. I couldn't put the book down. I felt I was in this story. The characters were amazing. I felt bad for Lin's wife Shuyu. Waiting is hard to do. The outcome was not what I had expected, but it was sweet. Lin did try to do the best for his family as well as his new family. All the characters suffer pain with what Lin put them through. This book was really amazing. This would be a book I would read again. This book kept you going. It's suspense. A great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Totally Loved This Book!

    Vintage seems like a boring book at first but as you continue to read it sucks you in. We can relate the characters to people we know in our lives and that's what I think makes this book a good read. It is easier to read something when we can relate the characters to ourselves. By the end of the book Lin realizes that the grass was not greener on the other side. I am glad that my Comp tracher recommended this book because otherwise I would have never read this piece. I am looking forward to reading more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Really stuck a chord with me. Extremely depressing in my opinion

    Really stuck a chord with me. Extremely depressing in my opinion. Plays into a big fear of many people of not finding true love or showing a life of distrust and sadness. Really made me feel sad. An excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Consistently brilliant.

    Consistently brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read for the Anemic (Because It's Irony)

    Outstanding. This book reminds me why I read: not only for aesthetic enjoyment, but for enlightenment. This book perfectly illustrates how time can change our perspectives on our circumstances (the grass is always greener). I loved the depth of the characters, who were so very balanced. They were obsessed with social propriety without being haughty, self-serving without being conceited, distant without being unloving, ordinary without being mundane. Yet for all the contradiction, the characters are never unbelievable, the plot never muddled. A truly amazing book, recommended for mature adults (a little life experience goes a long way toward appreciating the message here).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Living the American Dream

    A truly heart-warming book with rich characters. Portrays how hard work and having a goal in life can bring fulfillment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    This is a pretty good book to read!

    Waiting by Ha Jin was a pretty interesting book to read. I liked how the main character had to struggle with many decisions that would effect other people in his life. The story always kept you wanting to continue reading to find out what would happen next. The only thing that I felt I had a little trouble with was pronouncing names of the characters and cities in the story. I would strongly recommand people read this novel because what happens in the story happens to people in real life and it could make you have different opinions and views about certain subjects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    why to pick this particular book

    Well this book was a very sad romantic story that had to do with these two character who life was quite the same in some standard's because one character was lonely and needed someone, which she found someone but he was already married. He was a character who wanted to divorce his wife because he didn't love her, but had concieved a baby with her wanted to fall in love with the woman he felt was more compatiable with him. He went through tribes and tribulation to try to be with this other woman, but it seem that everything was stopping them from getting married, but he was going to keep trying to he got his wish even if it took years to do it. When he did finally get to divorce his wife and marry the other woman he felt in his heart after a while that he made a big mistake, but he still stayed in the marriage and it turned out to be a good ending, but a sad one. Other's should read this book if they like romance books that might have a mystery to it in some cases, but if they don't like simple sequenced books then they shouldn't read this particular book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    The irony of waiting

    This is a wonderfully written book. For those who are seeking an intriguing thrill from a novel, you'd be disappointed. The beauty of this book is its simple style, which depicts in such accuracy details in these people's life. It's a love story, yet the main characters do not seem to know how to express love. The best part of the book is Part III. Isn't it a tragic irony that after all these years of waiting, Lin had to reveal to his ex-wife that he really longed to her, or at least an illusion of peace of mind that is associated with her? I was in tears when I read the part that he asked Shuyu to wait for him. What a mess, yet how real! I enjoyed reading it and still enjoy thinking about it. The only part that is disturbing is about Ge Yang. I was angry with the author when I read about the rape. This is a book that makes you think about it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2003

    Suspenseful and interesting

    Waiting is a thoughtful novel full of suspense and insight into another time. The book teaches a valuable lesson to go with your heart and let your emotions develope. Don't justify everything or always follow all of the rules like the main character in this book- Lin. This is an excellent story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    not for entertainment

    this book truly exemplifies the epithet that one man's treasure is another's garbage. I failed to see the big deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    average

    ...at best. The first half was interesting, but by Part 3, I was bored out of my mind. The last 10 pages or so pull the book together and leave one with a sinking feeling, totally disgusted with Lin. Still worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    ponderous and borong

    I was very disappointed with this novel is was dull , dry and painful to read , in the sense it made me wince not at the situaiton of the characters but at the perdestrain writing of the author

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2001

    Lin was a jerk!

    Beautifully written, can feel the pain of their 'waiting' - BUT I felt no compassion for Lin. He had 3 women who loved him - and he did not appreciate them. He was always too conscious of what others would think. Why didn't he bring his first wife to the city to live with him - because he was ashamed of her. Why didn't he bring his daugther to the city for better education and why didn't he try to help her further her education so she wouldn't have to work in a match factory. I felt sorry for the women - caught in a society where they were only valued for the men they married.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    Ironic and thoughtful -- but you'll have to 'wait' til the end...

    A quick read, this novel by Jin kept me going while traversing the subway of NYC. Simply written, it traces two decades through the lives of Manna Wu and Lin Kong whose forbidden affair weaves both hope and futility. In the continueing battle of selfishness and selflessness, in the end, the reward for waiting is more bitter than sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2