Customer Reviews for

Waiting

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Another Lesson

    When I read this it was one of the books that had the most impact on me. With its subtly, it sneaks up on you with its strong depiction of human relationships and desires.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Fantastic!

    This is an amazing piece of fiction about a 'bitter love.' Having read other reviews, I would have to say that I did not interpret the ending in such a hopeful manner, but I guess it all depend on your perspective. The characters are all very well developed, especially Lin, whose desire to do the right thing often leads to many unfortunate outcomes. Truly a beautiful story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    Must Read

    Oh, I loved this book. I couldn't put the book down. I felt I was in this story. The characters were amazing. I felt bad for Lin's wife Shuyu. Waiting is hard to do. The outcome was not what I had expected, but it was sweet. Lin did try to do the best for his family as well as his new family. All the characters suffer pain with what Lin put them through. This book was really amazing. This would be a book I would read again. This book kept you going. It's suspense. A great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Totally Loved This Book!

    Vintage seems like a boring book at first but as you continue to read it sucks you in. We can relate the characters to people we know in our lives and that's what I think makes this book a good read. It is easier to read something when we can relate the characters to ourselves. By the end of the book Lin realizes that the grass was not greener on the other side. I am glad that my Comp tracher recommended this book because otherwise I would have never read this piece. I am looking forward to reading more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Really stuck a chord with me. Extremely depressing in my opinion

    Really stuck a chord with me. Extremely depressing in my opinion. Plays into a big fear of many people of not finding true love or showing a life of distrust and sadness. Really made me feel sad. An excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read for the Anemic (Because It's Irony)

    Outstanding. This book reminds me why I read: not only for aesthetic enjoyment, but for enlightenment. This book perfectly illustrates how time can change our perspectives on our circumstances (the grass is always greener). I loved the depth of the characters, who were so very balanced. They were obsessed with social propriety without being haughty, self-serving without being conceited, distant without being unloving, ordinary without being mundane. Yet for all the contradiction, the characters are never unbelievable, the plot never muddled. A truly amazing book, recommended for mature adults (a little life experience goes a long way toward appreciating the message here).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Living the American Dream

    A truly heart-warming book with rich characters. Portrays how hard work and having a goal in life can bring fulfillment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    Ironic and thoughtful -- but you'll have to 'wait' til the end...

    A quick read, this novel by Jin kept me going while traversing the subway of NYC. Simply written, it traces two decades through the lives of Manna Wu and Lin Kong whose forbidden affair weaves both hope and futility. In the continueing battle of selfishness and selflessness, in the end, the reward for waiting is more bitter than sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2001

    A slow paced, yet satisfying novel

    The plot of this novel is a very simple love story, using the often used theme of 'star-crossed lovers'. Although it is simple, the author succeeds in making this story original and very worthwhile to read. Yes, the pace got slow at some places, but I personally could not stop until I finished it. Also, this slow pace contributes to the very uniqueness and the purpose of this novel. One is painfully able to feel the characters' 'waiting' through the pages. It is definetely not boring, and along with the theme of unrequited love, one is able to gain the knowledge of Chinese tradition and society. Anyway, enough of my babbling. The bottom line is, just read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2000

    Worth the Wait

    Lin Kong is a dutiful man suspended between two woman and two worlds. He has a wife in the family village and a modern nurse girlfriend in the city. For seventeen years he waits for an opportunity to divorce his wife to follow his heart. When at last he can follow his desire to wed his beloved, he is shocked and annoyed at the intensity of his second wife, the demands of his twin sons and the inevitable effect of age and waiting. I thought the book was a wonderful read about what can happen if you get what you truly want. I couldn't help but laugh at his anxious, perplexed reaction to childbirth and parenting babies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    Waiting with a capital 'W'

    Although this book, like the lives of Lin and Manna Wu moves very slowly, it is a story that compels the reader to keep reading. The sorrow that permeates this book is very real to the reader and is felt on many levels. The sorrow is for the 18-year wait by Mannu Wu and Lin but also during the marriage for which they waited so long as well as the children that they bring into the world not to mention the sorrow that is introduced to the reader in the last chapter of the book that really caps off the waiting in this book. Waiting is indeed what this unforgetable book is all about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    An affecting, haunting narrative

    Professor Jin has written a moving tale about (among other things) the tension between duty and passion, and between hope and outcome. The story is gentle, perceptive, quietly powerful, and quite suspenseful. The portrait of China under Mao is mercifully free of stereotypical villainy, while that of the new capitalist China suggests that some of those newly risen to the heights of economic power are, well -- read the novel and see. Most warmly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    Absorbing realism

    Chinese doctor trapped in loveless marriage arranged by his parents falls in love with nurse but is restricted by politics and tradition from divorce of plain, but kindly, wife. After waiting for 18 years to marry the woman he loves (during which time she who has guarded her virginity falls victim to a violent rape by an Army officer), the unlucky couple lose their youth, health and passion. Though they finally do get married and have twins, they both seem to doubt if it was worth the wait. Story shows universal struggle for personal happiness and the disappointment that is inevitable when hope and love are beaten to death by time and the world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1