Customer Reviews for

The Waiting (Lancaster County Secrets Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Don't "wait" - read The Waiting soon!

    The second in the Lancaster County Secrets series, which I have fallen in love with! I actually purchased this book after I read the first and received the third to review - I wanted to be on top of things and boy, did I make the right choice in purchasing this book!

    We are brought back to the Zook family whom we met briefly in book 1, The Choice, and are knee deep in Amish life in the late1960's/early 1970s, the Vietnam War Era. Segregation abound. Many twists, plot turns, and interesting characters drive this story. Death, War, Post Traumatic Stress, Alzheimers, and most importantly LOVE and Faith in God. As pointed out, loss is prevalent in this story but faith in God is stronger and the healings of many hearts because of this strong faith is shown well again.

    Ms. Woods Fisher portrays life in the Amish town in Pennsylvania well and with great detail. Without spoiling the book, I do have to tell you that I loved the twists and turns and could almost see through the window of the one-roomed schoolhouse or the beauty of the horses foaling.

    Another fabulous read for any and all ages - I'd say from 7th grade up ... but in no means is this a "young adult" book. Excellent, again, for book groups looking to explore Amish, family dynamics and/or faith.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great Amish story

    In the second book of this series "Lancaster County Secrets" Suzanne once again write a great story about the Amish people. I have not got to read "The Choice" yet but this one picked up just fine on it's own.In this one Jorie King is living with her grandparents helping with their Percheron horses. Her parents had left and moved to Canada to set up a new Amish settlement up there, but Jorie didn't want to go as she was in love with a neighbor boy named Ben Zook, but he had signed up to go to Vietnam, but as the Amish do not believe in bearing arms toward another human, he was supposed to just be a helper, but was he? He left Jorie behind as he wanted to see more of the world, so she was going to be the school teacher the next year.


    She was not sure about teaching so many large eighth grade boys and they were all behind in their studies, so she needed to do something done, so that when the school board came around the next May they would pass their exams, but could she control so many large boys?


    In this book, a good friend passed away with Leukemia and left her husband and little girl. The lot was also coming up for a new preacher in their community, who would the lot fall on? This book is really good it is a little different than a lot of the Amish books I have read before, as it changed some of the ways, the older books wrote about.


    This book was sent to me by Revell Publishing for review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Waiting

    Set during the mid sixties, when the county is immersed in the Vietnam war. Jorie King is waiting for Ben Zook to return for the war, he is serving as a conscientious objector and has been sent to Vietnam. She told him she wouldn't wait, but has been doing just that, even though she has been getting on with her life, taking the job as the schoolteacher and helping on her grandfathers farm, turning down all requests from suitors.
    Caleb Zook, Ben's older brother has been thrust into the position as the caretaker of his family, he and his wife Mary Ann live on the family farm, taking care of the younger brothers and and their daughter Maggie, so when the news comes that Ben has been killed in action everyone is devastated. Soon after Caleb is faced with another tragedy that will shake his world even more. Just as Caleb and Jorie start the path toward healing, they are hit again with some life altering news that have them rethinking the choices they are making.

    It was so easy to get totally immersed in this story. This book is so much more than just another Amish romance. The depth of these characters and the issues they face really give this story a very realistic flavor.The characters are very well developed, I really enjoyed the secondary characters in this novel, the kind nature of Ephraim shines thru in his compassion towards animals as well as how he treats young Maggie, it was so great to see how he started to outgrow his speech problem, you could really feel his confidence growing.
    I also enjoyed the budding romance between Matthew and Lizzie and hope we get to read more about them in a future book.
    Even though this book is the second in the Lancaster County Secrets series it can easily be read as a stand alone book. The Waiting is a beautiful story about love, loss, and forgiveness, not a sad story at all but instead a story that gives us hope and encouragement and once again shows us the importance of family. One of the best Amish stories that I have read this year!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    Waiting on God's Best

    Author Suzanne Woods Fisher caught my attention with her first book in this series, The Choice. So I've been looking forward to reading The Waiting. Suzanne's compelling storytelling style makes it difficult for me to put the book down. Waiting is never a fun occupation, but much of life consists of waiting on the Lord for His perfect timing and solutions to life's issues. This theme, expressed in the title, is incorporated into the story on several levels. The characters face tough issues with family, friends, and faith. Learning to wait on God takes precedence when Jorie and Cal face the unexpected. Their growth throughout the book is realistic, and the lessons they learn speak to me in some of the situations I've faced or am facing. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Waiting

    Jorie King, is a young Amish woman who is in a holding patterns of sorts. She has been waiting on Ben Zook to come home from the Vietnam War, where he is serving as a concientious objector, waiting on him to come home, settle down and to marry her.

    However that all changes when several deaths happen very close together, first of all the Army declares Ben has been killed in the war and sends home his ashes, then Mary Ann Zook, Jorie's best friend dies, she is married to Ben's older brother Caleb. All has changed in Jorie's life and she is not sure what life will hold for her. She knows that she enjoys teaching at the little one room school, but the church elders and leaders are getting too many complaints about her methods. She sees the changes in her grandmother and they worry her, she worries about Caleb, and his daughter and younger brother.

    Caleb asking her to marry him throws her off, she can see that he is only asking because he needs a wife, not because he loves her, and she feels for him too deeply to marry for that reason only.

    Another wonderful story from Suzanne Woods Fisher, you will not want to put this book down. Jorie's faith is greatly tested, as is Caleb's faith. But they walk through it only with the help of God. Beautiful story, greatly written. 309 pages $14.99 US 5 stars.

    Available October 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    This book was provided for review purposes only. No payment was received for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Awsome book

    I cant stop reading it its the best book iv ever read c(: heehee

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    AN AMAZING STORY OF FAITH, STRUGGLES AND THE AMISH FAITH!

    THE WAITING by Suzanne Woods Fisher is a inspirational contemporary fiction set in 1965 Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. It is the second in her Lancaster County Secrets and can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with details, love,romance,depth, twists and turns. It has devotion, faith, hope, forgiveness, Amish, struggles, friendship, death,grief, laughter and a plain faith.The characters are charming, believable, will grip your heart,and have a strong plain faith. They struggle with grief, some struggle with their plain ways and their plain faith, while others strive to follow their faith and move on with their life. This is an amazing story of life and it's struggles. While, Jorie, believes Ben her friend and supposed to be boyfriend, as joined the Army and is sent to Vietnam, she waits for him.She is close to his brothers and his family. His oldest brother's wife dies, Ben is declared dead, Jorie and Caleb,Ben's oldest brother believing Ben is dead began close. Then they learn Ben is alive. Nothing is simple, they struggle to help Ben recover from his dramatic experience in Vietnam all the while Jorie and Caleb where planning go get married. Caleb backs off while Jorie explores her feelings for Ben. Ben is angry and has been his whole life, especially since his parents died and Caleb took over the family farm and raising his three younger siblings. This is truly a story of the Amish faith, their struggles, especially the story of the triumphant, struggles,laughter, of a young Amish school teacher, her students, and her friend/boyfriend's struggles, while this small Amish community is carried through the turbulent time of the 1960's. I would recommend this book for it is an inspirational in faith and the power of love. This book was received for review and details can be found at Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not your average Amish novel. What a fauvous book!

    The Waiting is not your average Amish novel! Talk about an emotional roller coaster ride! This book is fabulous! This story takes place during the Vietnam War. It's a time when tensions are very high here in the US, and here are a peaceful people trying to stay set apart but who are still living in this country and still have to be around the English and it causes turmoil. It's an issue that had honestly never occurred to me. I found it very interesting. And, at that same time there were also high racial tensions going on in this country,, and once again, these peaceful people find themselves in the midst of things on occasion.

    This book had me hooked from start to finish and I loved the different historical aspects she used with the Amish community. I grew to love these characters and I felt their heartache and pain and joy and all the ups and downs. I very highly recommend this book anyone. It's truly not your average Amish story. If you enjoy Amish novels, you'll love it, but I would encourage you to give it a try anyway, especially if you enjoy historicals! It's beautifully written, it's got drama, romance, and a powerful message!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story.

    This is my favorite type of reading. No, I don't mean Amish stories. I mean stories that have a deep subject, real and hard like real life. I like the many characters and how their lives intertwine. I appreciate how Suzanne shows the virtues that we all can learn from these quiet people who put all their trust in God. Suzanne shows the very real pull that the world holds for the young, and how some fall for the world's alure and others realize they could never be happy in another lifestyle. Suzanne creates characters that I can root for. I almost hold my breath as Jorie waits for her bad boy, hoping he will return to the fold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2