Customer Reviews for

The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    If you have a Nook, start this book immediately!

    I love this book! I often read nonfiction slowly, but this engaged me so well that I read it in record time. Fortunately, I was traveling and my plane time flew by as I enjoyed these remarkable essays. Eileen Button is reminiscent of Nora Ephron but with a spiritual emphasis. I love the depth of her love for God and her desire to completely give her life to him. I love her devotion to her husband, children, parents, and siblings. She clearly states her opinions, and her approach is always engaging, whether humorous or heart-rending. Any who have ever struggled with following God, getting along with their mothers, or having a husband with The Church as the other woman will relate to these essays and read them again and again. Don¿t wait! Start reading this book as soon as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Inspiring and Comforting

    An easy, lighthearted read that is relevant to a woman's life today. Eileen Button shares a handful of times in her life when she was waiting for something with an air of humor and sincerity. Readers can relate to the need to learn patience while facing the unknown while being encouraged to cling to God in each waiting place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Waiting Place is an enchanting book that I highly recommend.

    Eileen Button's book, The Waiting Place, is beautiful work that shares sweet vignettes about life and its special in-between places. An enchanting read, it gently entices the reader to travel down the road of her familiar past, while learning to embrace the unique moments where memories can be viewed as gifts.

    As I read this book, I could easily relate to what Ms. Button wrote. I was able to reflect back on my grandmother, as well as on my husband's once-in-a-lifetime-kind-of-love marriage proposal. I laughed as she discussed everything from the size of her gluteus maximus to her mother's love for big hair, panty hose, and layered clothing. I cried as she talked about her W.I.C. experience, her son's medical complications, and her grandmother's steady decline and withdrawal from life.

    I knew this book would be amazing, and I wasn't mistaken. The Waiting Place has something for everyone. It is inspiring, encouraging, and downright delightful. I loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Loved this book...

    I recently read The Waiting Place by Eileen Button and it was such an enjoyable read. None of us, at least not really anybody I know, especially likes having to wait. But we all have to.waiting in line at the grocery store, waiting for a check in the mail, waiting for a baby to be born. Much of our life is spent waiting for one thing or another. In sharing her experiences, Mrs. Button shows us that waiting doesn't always necessarily have to be a bad thing - that there's much to be learned by the process of waiting.not just about ourselves but about God as well.

    In The Waiting Place, Mrs. Button welcomes us into many different moments in her life where she's been waiting for something. Her writing style is so conversational.most times I felt like I was sitting in a coffee shop with a dear friend catching up on life. Her openness and honestly is very endearing and I found myself laughing out loud one minute and crying the next. She has an uncanny ability to find humor in everyday situations that I found so easy to relate to. But also in her willingness to share the hard things, she invites us into places in her life that have been painful and crushing and again I felt as if I were sitting there listening to her work through these difficult places while seeking God in midst of them all.

    The Waiting Place was such an easy read. The chapters weren't really long and they flowed so well into each other.

    I loved The Waiting Place. If you're in a place of waiting on God,or even if you think you aren't,I'd certainly recommend reading this book.

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    The Waiting Place - Highly Recommended Read

    I just had the pleasure of reading "The Waiting Place" by Eileen Button. It is a charming little collection of essays. Each essay is about a waiting place in life. Whether or not she chose to laugh, cry or both in the situation really told something about her character. Many of life's waiting places are relayed in this book in a real and meaningful way. Eileen Button had a way of going from life as a child waiting on Grandpa to life as a minister's wife and liking the two together to show how life may take you through a journey you could have never imagined but one that you wouldn't trade for the world. While talking about her husband's job as a Methodist minister, she talks about 'waiting' for him to come home. Not home in the physical sense, but in mental sense that he is detached from her and the kids while dealing with all of the stresses that come with being a minister. While talking about waiting for her son to cry, she expresses the great heart ache & sorrow that a stay in the NICU can put on your heart. She then transitions her waiting into the joy that comes from the simple mundane things that the rest of us take for granted; a crying baby. Overall, I really enjoyed the book and believe anyone could find a connection to or relate to the book and essays in some way. Please note: I received this book free from the publisher through BookSneeze through their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    The Waiting Place is A MUST READ!

    If you have ever found yourself eagerly waiting for a letter, someone to call, or something to happen in your life then The Waiting Place by Eileen Button is a MUST read! Eileen shares several times in her life where waiting was something she was forced to do but learns that it can be a blessing in disguise. Each chapter contains another reason why you might wait in life. Wait for a letter, wait for husband to come home, or wait for a job. Sometimes it can be so hard to wait for things, but this book reminds us that it is God's plan not ours for our life here on Earth. You will laugh, cry and connect to Eileen and God in ways you did not realize were possible. While you are waiting or in a happy place in your life, pick up this book and find that the waiting place is a great place to be.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    "like a box of literary bonbons to read each night"

    The Waiting Place is a collection of essays inspired by different moments and events in Eileen Button's life, from childhood times to present times. The book is very well written and I have to say that I laughed out loud so many times reading this book . she is so funny you will instantly fall in love with the book and have a hard time letting it out of your hands until you finish it. It happened to me J I loved the fact that she is so open and honest about the events she talks about in the book - her waiting places - that you can't help but feel very comfortable "listening" to her life, as if in a coffee shop with your best friend talking about life. And the fact that she is very funny contributes to this as well! I loved the book so much that I was sad when I finished it, I wanted more of it! So I would definitely recommend this book to those of you who want to learn how to make the best out of your waiting places and to those of you who want to read a really good book and laugh out loud reading it but at the same time learning something valuable for your lives, because as the author concludes: . to live is to wait. It's how we wait that makes all the difference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    The Waiting Place is EXCELLENT!!

    This book teaches you how to be honest, and funny. To care but not be overbearing. To worry but to seek guidance in others. To have pride in yourself but know when to swallow it when you need something the most for your family. Most of all she taught ME that "to wait is human. To find life in the waiting place, divine."
    The Waiting Place, has definitely reserved a place in my heart as well as a place on my ever growing bookshelf. I recommend this book to anyone that is looking for a great read, and a little guidance in the right direction, especially for someone stuck in "the waiting place" themselves.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Unexpectedly Magical and Holy (like the waiting place)

    This book is a bit like that "trunk in the attic". There are so many good lessons to learn and memories to laugh (and cry) about. Eileen Button's stories are so refreshing and thoughtful at the same time. Whether she addresses "waiting for death" or "waiting for fish to bite", there is a lesson to be learned from all 22 stories. I really enjoyed this book. As someone who is in the "waiting place" right now, it was a perfect, gentle reminder of how important it is to enjoy, even savour this place. In every new term of my life I wait for it to finish so I can move to the next. This is dangerous when I look behind me and miss the times I didn't fully appreciate. Eileen's candid narrative drew me in, reprimanding me and making me pay attention to the beauty around me. This was such a good lesson to learn, and she does it in a way that makes you completely appreciate the waiting place for what it is. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Live THE Life Relying On God and Waiting On Him And Seeking Him

    I enjoyed this book a lot. It is about waiting for God and noticing him in all the small places in life. This book reminds me of my sister-in-law's life - she does the best she can and does her best to ALWAYS do the right thing and be loving towards all those around her. She is the best example I know of how to live this book out. When her Christian girlfriends are rude, inconsiderate, catty, and downright selfish, she runs to God in prayer and listens to him. And then she puts aside her human desire to get even or throw that friend out and she does the right thing and prays to God for help along the way. That is the life this book is about. I recommend it and hope it changes your heart too!

    Disclaimer: I received this book free from the publisher. Still I am giving an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Humerous and Meaningful

    "To live is to wait. It's how we wait that makes all the difference," says Eileen Button in her book The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays. This is not explicitly a how-to book on enduring waiting or developing patience. It's more about recognizing the challenges and changes that can take place there if you open your eyes. Eileen demonstrates this through a collection of humorous essays written as poignant stories compiled during her lifetime of finding herself in various waiting places from the light-hearted waiting for fish to bite while at the lake with her dad to the heart-wrenching waiting to find out if her infant son born with numerous medical problems will live - will breathe. God brought this book into my life at a time when I was waiting and simultaneously preparing for the arrival of life-altering change. Eileen's light-hearted tales about the waiting places of her life provided a relief to my own exhaustion from preparation, causing me to laugh out loud as well as ponder my own waiting places that I had visited in my life and what God was doing in them. She reminded me that "much of life is lived not in the spectacular but in the ordinary, day-in, day-out spaces." The delightful way she invited me to peek into her life through this book left me feeling like she is a dear friend who shared a great appreciation for life's little delays. BookSneeze® provided me a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    To live is to wait

    I hate to wait. I have always been an impatient person and I have not improved with time. So when I saw Eileen Button's book, The Waiting Place, I jumped at the chance to read it. I wanted to see what someone else would have to say about the process of waiting. I was not disappointed. In the pages of this book are short essays about different waiting times throughout life and the author's reactions to them. They range from funny memories to very serious situations where the waiting is long and hard. I can identify with all the stories in this book; not only the ones that are similar to my life, but also the ones that I have not experienced yet. Reading each story gave me a chance to examine myself and to realize that God does have a purpose in the waiting. As the author summed it up, to live is to wait. So I guess we might as well try to get good at it. I have determined that I will try to use my waiting time more effectively in the future and make an honest effort to let God speak to me as I wait. I received a review copy of this book through the BookSneeze blogger program in return for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    A Must Read!

    The Waiting Place, Learning to Appreicate Life's Little Delays was such a wonderful read! This book is more than a devotional, it is a a collection of personal essays by the author using her real life experiences to show the reader that amazing things can happen in the places in life where we are forced to wait. It is immediately easy to identify with the author as her essays are honest and relatable. She laments that sometimes in life we think, "this is so not the life I thought I'd have", but then she shows the reader through her own life where God has met her in those places. In the waiting place she is shown that by waiting on what she wants now or what she wants to be finished with or what she THINKS life should be like, she may be missing out on what God has for her. She shows the reader by her stories to treasure life right now, and the people and relationships of the moment, the way they are now, not the way you think they should be or want them to be. I loved how candid the author was, and I loved reading every page in this book. This book really touched my heart, and reminded me to wait, watch, remember, and LIVE! I highly recommend this book! I received this e-book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Funny, poignant and full of humanity

    Eileen Button is part preacher's wife, part English professor and part newspaper columnist, living in the suburbs of Michigan. The essays in her first book, "The Waiting Place," gently ask us to redefine the way we think of waiting; waiting for the mail, for children to grow up, for a sign from God. Throughout, she reminds us that, as John Lennon sang, life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. Waiting is not down time or lost time or wasted time; it's life.

    Whether she is describing her youthful longing for her father's approval while on a fishing trip, or her affection for her husband-to-be's clavicles, or her love of her grandmother's weathered but beautiful hands, Button's soulful prose illuminates her Christian faith with simple, often funny stories. ("Note to self.Next time you tape undergarments to your chest, use duct tape instead of masking tape").

    As the wife of a preacher, she has a unique vantage point from which to view her local congregation (".the divorced and dying. Grumpy and grateful. They have been blessed beyond measure; they have survived astonishing loss.They come because they always have. They come because they never have"). There are humorous observations ("We know the verse that reads 'The first will be last, and the last first,' but we race each other to the front of the potluck line and never notice the irony").

    There are also glimpses into the more difficult side of a preacher's life; the seven-day-a-week demands of his congregation, the psychological stress of easing other people's burdens, burnout. But the tone of the book is ultimately uplifting, whether Button is taking a rare break to fly a kite with her kids, pulling her hair out trying to find the perfect Mother's Day card, or crowing about her ability to put on her makeup without looking in a mirror (to which her sister replies, "Are you bragging about that, Eileen? Because I'm thinking that's not something you should be bragging about").

    Button has that rare ability, which Erma Bombeck had, to effortlessly mingle humor and poignancy in the same story. She recounts the time her uncle, on his deathbed, lamented the fact that he would not live long enough to enjoy the new toilet he had just installed in his bathroom. This book will make you laugh, and it will also bring a few tears.

    She even eventually gets that sign from God.

    Christians, and even those of other faiths or no faith at all, will find an awful lot to like here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    Highly Recommended by Educator

    This book is about Life. Real experiences. It is both an easy read, and a hard one. Easy, because it is well written, and interesting. Each chapter reads like a short story. Hard, because it deals with difficult situations in life. Situations with which many readers can identify.

    Have you experienced difficulties dealing with a parent? A sick child or spouse? The death of a grandparent, or other beloved relative? The church? Yourself?

    Eileen shares her experiences with these (and other) situations with wit, insight and candor. As an author, she invokes though her sharing, a process of self-reflection within the reader. About Life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1