Customer Reviews for

Waiting for Daybreak

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    This is a book that will leave you looking at your life and have

    This is a book that will leave you looking at your life and have you rethinking some of the situations that you have gone through. Paige has hit the lowest point in her career when she gets the opportunity to start anew. Duing the course of the book Paige encounters setback after setback and with each one she loses a little bit of her faith.

    Clarissa is stuck in a small town with big ambitions. She has to prove herself to her grandfather before he will help Clarissa with her ambitions. Clarissa is willing to do whatever it takes to make her dreams come true, even if it means ruining someone elses life and career.

    Even though Paige and Clarissa are from different backgrounds and have different reasons for the choices they make neither one of them know just how far the ripples of their choices will go. When choices are made you must deal with the fallout. But will they lose their faith or will the hold their ground and wait for daybreak?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Dynamic Read from Kathryn Cushman

    Kathryn Cushman delivers another dynamic story of relational conflict, bringing the reader inside the heads of her protagonist and antagonist and developing sympathy for both. Paige Woodward is a great heroine who is hard pressed on every side and whose faith is stressed to its limits. Cushman weaves into her fiction the very real and encouraging truths of Christ's personal deliverance for anyone who finds themself surrounded by darkness and waiting for daybreak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Who needs doctor drama when you have pharmacy crisis?

    Paige and Clarissa are two women who work in a small town pharmacy. Both have different goals and pasts they are trying to hide. Paige wants to erase her past that cost her previous job while trying to help out her mother who is very sick. Clarissa wants to move away to the big city and open her own pharmacy but is stuck in the small town. When Clarissa's grandfather hires Paige, Clarissa deems her to be too good to be true and tries to find out Paige's secret. Determined to get away from the family business and into the big city, Clarissa tries to set up Paige and bring her down.<BR/><BR/>After working in a doctor's office, I have the greatest respect now for pharmacists and this book cemented my respect. I have no clue how they are able to interpret doctors' handwriting. It looks like illegible scrawl done by a chicken sometimes and for the pharmacist to translate it into something that goes into a human body is just amazing. The story in this book involving the misinterpretation of medical drugs and dosage is a timely and important issue. It brings up the question about who is the one at fault? Is it the doctor who wrote down the wrong RX or is it the pharmacist who was merely following what the doctor wrote? The conflict and competition between the two women was very well done. I kept finding myself disliking Clarissa throughout the entire books. Her entrance in the story garnered some sympathy but throughout the book her character just kept irritating me. Her lack of customer service was appalling especially since she seemed not to care about what she was doing. On the other hand I liked Paige very much. I felt sorry for her and I wanted her to rise above what she was doing. Her customer service was what people need when they go to a small town pharmacy. She had incredible patience for the rude customers and handled them better than I ever could! The only real problem I had with this book was I felt that if everyone had been upfront from the beginning, all the drama and problems in the story could have been avoided. Of course that means much of the story would have been eliminated then. It's just sometimes I feel that the characters make things harder for themselves when they don't divulge necessary information. With this story, if the two women had just told each other even just a little bit about their ambitions, they probably would have been good friends from the beginning and would try to help each other to succeed in what they really wanted. Overall, I liked the story very much. It was my first book by Kathryn Cushman and I would say her books are comparable to that of Karen Kingsbury. I'm looking forward to what she has to offer in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Deep, complex characters

    Kathryn Cushman set herself a paradigm with A Promise to Remember and hasn't disappointed with Waiting for Daybreak. Deep, complex characters are fast becoming Cushman's trademark. Paige and Clarissa drew emotional responses from me like few books do. Even the secondary characters are fascinating. Combine those with a riveting storyline and you have a novel you'll not put down until you turn the last page. I give it my highest recommendation: a 5-star read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Taking a stand in the darkness

    Paige Woodward is a hardworking, small town girl. Clarissa Richardson is a spoiled and unhappy young woman. Both are pharmacists just starting out in the business. Both have different dreams and definitions of success. Neither is mature enough to know how to go after their goal. One woman, Ora Vaerge, makes a powerful impact on each of their lives. As it often happens in fiction--and in real life--one person's witness can make a difference. Ora's love of scripture and unique perception of life changes Paige and Clarissa forever. My favorite part of this book is near the end when Ora explains the meaning of the phrase 'waiting for daybreak.' Kathryn Cushman's beautiful story goes beyond the usual rich girl-poor girl comparison and reminds us that it takes courage to succeed, no matter what our status in life. We must make our stand in the darkness and wait for daybreak to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1