Customer Reviews for

Waiting for Godot (Eng rev): A Tragicomedy in Two Acts

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Dare I say... greatest play ever written?

    As a matter of fact, I do dare to state such a claim. Samuel Beckett is such an amazing writer, and in WfG, he has created some of the most memorable characters and dialouge in any medium. A must read for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    A must read even if you have seen the play

    To an atheist or to anyone who has any disdain for Christianity, Christians must look like two clowns who waste everyday waiting for God/Jesus to return. The play is brilliant and everyone who has ever waited patiently for someone to keep their promise and only to find disappointment should read this play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Famously, Waiting for Godot is a play in which nothing happens.

    Famously, Waiting for Godot is a play in which nothing happens. It opens with two characters on stage--Vladimir and Estragon--who are waiting by a tree. They converse about many things, calling each other by different names. Although their conversations are long and winding, we discover that the men are waiting for an enigmatic figure who goes by the name of Godot. While they are waiting for Godot to come, two figures approach--Lucky and Pozzo.

    The author, Samuel Beckett, instills an enormous amount of symbolic complexity into the very foundation of Waiting for Godot. Valdimir and Estragon are comic tramps--straight from the likes of Chaplin or Buster Keaton. They talk like vaudeville comedians, and attempt to perform tricks. But, in an amazing literary feat, Beckett transforms this shtick and color into a discussion about the existential realities of the world.

    Waiting for Godot has a wit, vigor and brilliance that confounded audiences at the time, and astonished everyone who has seen or read it ever since. The play is difficult (and makes no bones about its difficulty), but it also embraces the popular comic medium with which Beckett grew up. Hilariously funny, but also terribly sad, Waiting for Godot is the foremost abstract work in theatre and a work of pure genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Don't miss the humor!

    The greatest tragedy with this work is that everyone gets so caught up in debating the philosophy and structure of it that they glide right over the laughs. Godot, when read or performed, should elicit the same breathless laughing as a Neil Simon or a Python sketch. Please don't read it joylessly. Getting the meaning is barely tickling the surface of the fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    Simple but Deep

    Waiting for Godot is an incredible book. It starts with Estragon and Vladimir start with a humorous ways to pass time as they wait for Godot. Some believe Godot relates to death because of their mentions of suicide. The story moves on to a semi-man lucky who is pushed around by his master Pozzo. I thought the entire book kept a bit of hope through the story because of their optimistic view of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Disregard mindless comments from numskulls

    This play is absolutely fantastic. If you are an individual who has contemplated the meaning of life this play is for you. Despite what this last lame brain had to say, most of the dialouge is quite profound if one is able to put it in the proper context. Beckett had a very artful way of expressing himself, and this style might well throw off certain individuals who must have things spelled out for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Masterpiece!

    The most profound play ever written. This work by Beckett opens our eyes to the sharp and troubling realization that life has no intrinsic meaning. We all are waiting for the mysterious Godot just beyond the horizon, but the horizon is never reached, we look forward and it is always ahead of us no matter how much we try to reach it. Another work that I feel matches the depths of 'Waiting for Godot' is Paul Omeziri's Descent into Illusion published by PublishAmerica. This novel also deals with the paradoxical condition of human existance, of being thrown into a world without meaning or order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2001

    stuff

    i am suprised that everyone found the play to be a picture of the nihilism and absurdity of life... and i think they miss the point. in beckett's moving play 'waiting for godot', he draws a picture of the human condition that not only displays our most base and vilely normal actions but suffuses them with a hope and love for humans... a wonderful play, a journey of beauty and silence and pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1